SLI/Crossfire: The cold hard truth - Page 9 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
View Poll Results: Which case is the best all around case?
Cooler Master Centurion 5 case w/ window. 6 20.00%
NZXT Trinity case. 7 23.33%
Antec super lanboy 5 16.67%
My case is better 12 40.00%
Voters: 30. You may not vote on this poll

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-01-2006, 09:31 PM   #81 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,306
Send a message via AIM to Brtnboarder495
Default

You mean he has an SLI x16 chipset on his motherboard.

SLI is only when you want to play games on really large resolutions (>1280x1024), with all settings on high, including AA and AF.

At least that's only when it's really worth it and it shines.
__________________

Brtnboarder495 is offline  
Old 05-01-2006, 10:25 PM   #82 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Michigan
Posts: 28
Default

NVIDIA nForce4 SLI X16 chipset. Heres the link for this mobo, http://usa.asus.com/products4.aspx?l...44&modelmenu=1
I picked this board up for REALLY cheap, $170 for the board and $20 shipping, it normally goes for $230 or $240+ shipping.
-P.
__________________

P-Zero is offline  
Old 05-27-2006, 12:33 PM   #83 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 44
Default

great thread...
duayne is offline  
Old 06-11-2006, 11:48 PM   #84 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Canada
Posts: 274
Default

Going with crossfire is a cool idea if you have money to blow. But for most of us, that is not the case. Just stick to one higher end video card and you will be safe. No point in buying 2 of them and then having them be replaced by the next "BIG THING" in a few weeks.
__________________
Money Pit
i5 4590 - 3.3GHz
R9 280 OC
8GB G.Skill 1600
dave39 is offline  
Old 06-12-2006, 02:05 AM   #85 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
sailpog's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 498
Default

errrk.... im CONfused....LOL
__________________
<A HREF="http://www.mysearchfunds.com/banner.asp?friend=43585">
<IMG SRC="http://www.mysearchfunds.com/banners/60x120.gif" BORDER="0">
</A>
sailpog is offline  
Old 06-18-2006, 04:51 PM   #86 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,306
Send a message via AIM to Brtnboarder495
Default

Going with CF or SLI is NOT cool to buy even if you have the money. WHY blow money on something that will perform identically to hardware that is HALF as much? A 7900GT/X1900GT will play any game on maxed settings on 1280x1024 or lower. If your looking at higher resolutions, consider the 7900GTX/X1900XT(X), SLI and CF is only needed on extremely high resolutions, such as 1600x1200 for example.
Brtnboarder495 is offline  
Old 06-20-2006, 09:45 PM   #87 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 781
Default

so i guess if i do get sli, it doesnt really matter because im stuck w/ my 1280x1100 res monitor......
__________________
Intel Q6600 w/ CM Geminii
MSI P6N Deluxe SLI
BFG 8800GT w/ 22'' Acer LCD
OCZ 2x2GB
WD 400GB SATA
Razer Barracuda AC-1, Razer eXactmat
Logitech G15, MX Revolution, X-230
Zalman Fatal1ty FC-ZE1 case w/ Zalman ZM-MFC1 Fan controller
R1C0CH3T is offline  
Old 06-25-2006, 04:45 PM   #88 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 5
Default

just wanted to say my dads sli rig ( amd x2 4200 , 2 7900 gt's SLI, 2 gigs ram ) shows big performance increases every game we have ( FEAR , bf2, Oblivion, source,bfme2, doom 3, quake 4....) not to mention it unlocks the 16x AA
and allows transparency AA and other cool bits at very playable rates.
and we are set for a while in terms of new games on maxed settings... until dx10 cards/games are released





not a waste
guitarman12 is offline  
Old 06-27-2006, 04:29 PM   #89 (permalink)
Enterprise SCCM\SCOM
 
jseber1982's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Atlanta, Ga
Posts: 904
Send a message via ICQ to jseber1982 Send a message via AIM to jseber1982 Send a message via Yahoo to jseber1982
Default

i had 2x7900gtx's and sold them, bought 2 1900xts in crossfire... dont ask why cause i dont feel like talkin about it. I went from a 8800 in 3dmark06 to a 9600 approx. they also overclock way more. Doing voltage changes was also way easier.

Im not a fanboy for either side. Just putting my 2 cents in

oh boy i did it now, i started a flame by saying that my atis are faster than my nvidias lol
jseber1982 is offline  
Old 07-10-2006, 03:41 PM   #90 (permalink)
Enterprise SCCM\SCOM
 
jseber1982's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Atlanta, Ga
Posts: 904
Send a message via ICQ to jseber1982 Send a message via AIM to jseber1982 Send a message via Yahoo to jseber1982
Default

oblivion plays way way better on the radeons than on the 7900's. on oblivion,, i have AA turned way up and it plays better than the 7900s did with no AA
__________________

jseber1982 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:46 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.