sli & crossfire - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-12-2009, 05:57 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
solidsteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 600
Default sli & crossfire

hey guys

been a bit since i asked stuff and i got a few things i would like to ask

i am thinking of upgrading my mobo and graphics (even though the 4850 is still pretty new) and just wondered a few things befor i did

what resalution dose sli and crossfire start becomming good, i been about a bit and found that anything less then say a 22" in a waste in tearms of sli and what not but got a 26" with a native res of 1920x1080 and looking at getting one with better res soon

the second thing is whats worth the more price / proformance at the min

and lastly

i have a oem windows vist used on this system (in my sig) would i be ablt to move it over to the new mobo or is it stuck with the mobo being oem and all
__________________

__________________


My new pc spec's ~

Case ~ nexus caterpilla
Mobo ~ Gigabyte GA~P35~DS3R Rev 2.0
CPU ~ Intel Q6600
HDD ~ 2 x 500gb western digital drives
Ram ~ 4GB worth (4 strips) of OCZ 2GB PC2-6400 Platinum Rev 2.0
PSU ~ Corsair 750TX
GPU ~ GTX 295

OS - Windows 7 Home 64-bit
solidsteve is offline  
Old 03-12-2009, 06:06 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Whirlwind's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 2,400
Default Re: sli & crossfire

I would say, and this is my opinion, at 1900x1200 it should show a benefit.

The only thing with sli or crossfire is that you don't get a 100% performance gain from the 2nd card....it is more like 35%....so it is not a great bang for your dollar kind of thing, and pretty much useless unless you are at 1900x1200 or above.
__________________

__________________
Cooler Master CM Stacker Case
Asus P8Z68 V Pro/Gen 3
Intel i5-2500K
Cooler Master V6 GT Heat Sink
8 GB G-Skill DDR 3 1600
GTX 570 SLI
Asus Xonar Essence STX Sound Card
Grado RS1i & AKG Q701 Headphones
MAD EAR + HD Headphone Amp
Corsair CMPSU 850 Watt
Western Digital Black 500 GB
Crucial M4 64 GB SSD For Windows 7 64 Bit
Samsung 2494SW 24" LCD
Logitech G5 Mouse
Logitech G110 Keyboard
Whirlwind is offline  
Old 03-12-2009, 07:24 PM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: sli & crossfire

I've been running SLI for a long time. Started with a pair of 7800GTX's and now I've got a pair of GTX 280's

It's hard to say just what kind of an experience you'll have without knowing what cards you'll be using and the games you like to play. As it stands for me I can play every game I own maxed out at 1920x1200. But there's alway the next new game that demands a little more for all the eye candy.

My advise is 2 is always better than 1. You may not need the power today but there's always tomorrow
Slaymate is offline  
Old 03-12-2009, 10:43 PM   #4 (permalink)
Biostar Stole my heart
 
Hussein19891's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 2,209
Send a message via MSN to Hussein19891
Default Re: sli & crossfire

Quote:
Originally Posted by Whirlwind View Post
I would say, and this is my opinion, at 1900x1200 it should show a benefit.

The only thing with sli or crossfire is that you don't get a 100% performance gain from the 2nd card....it is more like 35%....so it is not a great bang for your dollar kind of thing, and pretty much useless unless you are at 1900x1200 or above.
A Single 4830 handles games alright @1680x1050, while two handle games maxed out @1920x1200.

Crossfire scales very well, especially the 4800 series. From what I've heard GTX 200 scales very well too.
__________________


Hussein19891 is offline  
Old 03-13-2009, 01:35 AM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Pinscher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 1,541
Default Re: sli & crossfire

Ya SLI and Xfire scaling has greatly improved from years past. I would recommend a gtx285 and then if you need it, grab another one. Or you could just get a gtx295.

For a little cheaper option, 4870's in xfire would do pretty well too.

As for your OS, yes it is stuck on that mobo but if you call microsoft and tell them your mobo broke and you had to replace it, they will activate it for you. no biggie.
__________________
Pinscher is offline  
Old 03-13-2009, 08:07 AM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
solidsteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 600
Default Re: sli & crossfire

thanks guys helped out quite a lot
__________________

__________________


My new pc spec's ~

Case ~ nexus caterpilla
Mobo ~ Gigabyte GA~P35~DS3R Rev 2.0
CPU ~ Intel Q6600
HDD ~ 2 x 500gb western digital drives
Ram ~ 4GB worth (4 strips) of OCZ 2GB PC2-6400 Platinum Rev 2.0
PSU ~ Corsair 750TX
GPU ~ GTX 295

OS - Windows 7 Home 64-bit
solidsteve is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
I need some recommendations SpeedFreak New Systems | Building and Buying 32 08-15-2008 01:40 PM
SLI or Crossfire insane84722 New Systems | Building and Buying 38 07-15-2008 03:10 AM
SLI ready RAM? Is it any better? What does SLI mean for RAM? StealthTools Overclocking and Modding 12 04-17-2008 09:27 PM
Intel Skulltrail with SLI and Crossfire Support Osiris Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 17 01-15-2008 03:32 AM
HD3870 vs 8800GT single card (no SLI / Crossfire) Eclipse7 New Systems | Building and Buying 5 12-14-2007 10:10 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:47 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.