SLI configuration - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-18-2006, 04:57 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 65
Default SLI configuration

Hi,

Can anybody tell me if when running SLI do I need two cards from the same manufacturer or is there some funky system that syncs the two cards to run with simular clock speeds and all that jazz ?
__________________

__________________
AMD 4200+ X2 OC 2.3Ghz
Club Nvidia 7800 GTX 256megs OC 540/1350
Asus A832n Delux MB
40 gig WD Raptor
300 gig WD Sata 2
3dmark2005 = 8652
leeslangley is offline  
Old 04-18-2006, 05:28 AM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 559
Default

Umm, not sure, but I think that as long as you run card with the same core and memory clockspeeds, and the same amount of memory, you should be fine. Wait for someone else to just confirm my statement before running off to buy a new 7800GTX! I do recommend however to not get SLI, but rather try to sell your card, and get a 7900GTX. Check some reviews where they compare single 7900GTXs against 7800GTXs in SLI. The 7900GTX wins hands down every time. Just my .02
__________________

__________________
AMD64 X2 4400+
DFI Lanparty Ultra-D
2GB Kingston Hyper-X (2-3-2-6)
TT Big Typhoon
eVGA 7900GT KO Superclocked (650/1650)
250GB Maxtor DiamondMax SATA2 HDD
Hiper Type-R 580W SLi PSU
19" Sony Trinitron CRT
magouster is offline  
Old 04-18-2006, 12:42 PM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
RicoDirenzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 2,102
Default

I have been tempted to go SLI but the increased performance of 10 to 20% isn't worth the investment. Junior's recommendation is a good one. My 7900GT in a stock AMD 3500+ system with 2 gigs value ram (not OC'd) runs 3dark05 at over 9000! Two 7800GTX's in SLI will barely make that score!!
__________________
Noli Nothis Permittere Te Terere!!
EVGA 680i, Dual EVGA 8800GT'S (650/950), 4 gigs OCZ DDR2 1066, Intel Q9450 at 3.8 Ghz, Koolance Water Cooled, Dual Plextor16x DL DVD+/-RW. Dual WD 250gb 16mb Cache Sata 3.0. 3DMark06 score = 19,168.
RicoDirenzo is offline  
Old 04-18-2006, 12:45 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,499
Default

For SLi to work you need 2 exact same cards. I read that if you bought say a 6600GT now and then another one it like a years time and tried to use them in SLi it wouldnt work because there is likely to be some change in it. so you would have to buy the same card at the same time.

There is a way to use 2 different cards but this is with crossfire. You can use any ATI cards in crossfire (one of them being the mastercard and other a slave)
Mentali$T is offline  
Old 04-18-2006, 12:56 PM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

Quote:
My 7900GT in a stock AMD 3500+ system with 2 gigs value ram (not OC'd) runs 3dark05 at over 9000! Two 7800GTX's in SLI will barely make that score!!
SLI you would need the exact same card and manufactuer. ^^

And to my quote, SLI 7800GTX gets aroudn 11000-12000 :freak:
__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 04-18-2006, 01:16 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
boomstick666's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 743
Default

single 7800GTX512 is 10800. so 7900GTX512 will go even higher right?
btw...7800GTX512 is really a ghost product after all...its not even in the evga website anymore. mb it was meant to be the beta testing for 7900GTX.
__________________
i5 2500K @ 4.8GHz 1.384v - AsRock P67 Extreme4 B3 BIOS 1.90
G.Skill Ripjaws X DDR3 PC12800 2x4GB @ 1866 9-10-9-28 1T 1.590v
EVGA GTX 570HD SC 930/1950 1.100v
Crucial M4 SSD 128GB - OCZ 700W PSU (4x18A) - Noctua NH-D14 (BM120mm x Noctua140mm)
Corsair 600T SE White - Windows 7 Ultimate 64Bit SP1 - Mitsubishi DiamondPro2070sb (CRT!)

3DMark11 P7089 | 3DMark Vantage P26383
boomstick666 is offline  
Old 04-18-2006, 05:23 PM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
RicoDirenzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 2,102
Default

Yikes......................Maybe I should buy that extra 7900GT after all..................nah............I'm good till the G80 series. PZEROFGH. You are running what CPU and is that system OC'd?
__________________
Noli Nothis Permittere Te Terere!!
EVGA 680i, Dual EVGA 8800GT'S (650/950), 4 gigs OCZ DDR2 1066, Intel Q9450 at 3.8 Ghz, Koolance Water Cooled, Dual Plextor16x DL DVD+/-RW. Dual WD 250gb 16mb Cache Sata 3.0. 3DMark06 score = 19,168.
RicoDirenzo is offline  
Old 04-18-2006, 05:24 PM   #8 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

Huh? I'm running an Opty 170 and its overclocked lol
__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 04-18-2006, 05:44 PM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Waphlez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Ohio, United States
Posts: 1,976
Default

They released a SLI driver that allows cards with different amount of memory to work together (ie 256MB w/ 128MB etc.). They must be the same core (a 6800 must have another 6800 to run in SLI, you can't have a 6800 and a 6600 in SLI). I'm not 100% sure about this but I think you can have different manufactured cards, but they both must be at the same clocks I think.
Waphlez is offline  
Old 04-18-2006, 06:11 PM   #10 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
GuitarFreak1857's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Virginia
Posts: 1,847
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by PZEROFGH
SLI you would need the exact same card and manufactuer. ^^

And to my quote, SLI 7800GTX gets aroudn 11000-12000 :freak:
yep because of the size probably....
__________________

__________________
My Gaming Desktop
Abit IP35-E

Intel Core2 Duo E8400 (Thermalright Ultra-120)
Mushkin 2x2GB DDR800 RAM

eVGA GeForce 8800GTS
Creative X-Fi Gamer Edition
Western Digital Caviar 250GB 7,200RPM
Western Digital Caviar 640GB 7,200RPM
OCZ 720W ModStream
Lian Li PC-7A
Windows XP Professional x64 Edition
GuitarFreak1857 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:37 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.