SLI 8800gt power supply question - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-02-2008, 02:56 PM   #11 (permalink)
 
jfenwick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,648
Send a message via ICQ to jfenwick Send a message via MSN to jfenwick
Default Re: SLI 8800gt power supply question

Quote:
Originally Posted by RicoDirenzo View Post
My EVGA 8800 gt's only require one 6 pin PCIe adapter each. I find it hard to believe yours requires 2 x 6 pins each. I'm thinking your confused.
I do make some stupid mistakes but not in this case:

Demything the Galaxy 8800GT - Overclock.net - Overclocking.net
__________________

jfenwick is offline  
Old 05-02-2008, 02:58 PM   #12 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
NightSurge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Fort Wayne, IN
Posts: 2,217
Send a message via AIM to NightSurge
Default Re: SLI 8800gt power supply question

They do require 2. It's a weird version made by Galaxy. Supposedly very good, though.

jfenwick, have you attached your SLI bridge to the video cards? Without it, they cannot run in SLI. Once you have the bridge attached, then you can enable SLI and your score will go up.
__________________

__________________

If I was helpful, please click the icon on the left hand side of this message that looks like a check mark Thanks!

NightSurge is offline  
Old 05-02-2008, 02:59 PM   #13 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
RicoDirenzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 2,102
Red face Re: SLI 8800gt power supply question

Quote:
Originally Posted by jfenwick View Post
I do make some stupid mistakes but not in this case:

Demything the Galaxy 8800GT - Overclock.net - Overclocking.net
OMG...WTF? I not laughing at you but, man, buy an XFX or EVGA cards then, that's just downright dufusy!!!!!!!!!! Why 2 power connectors? Sheesh!
__________________
Noli Nothis Permittere Te Terere!!
EVGA 680i, Dual EVGA 8800GT'S (650/950), 4 gigs OCZ DDR2 1066, Intel Q9450 at 3.8 Ghz, Koolance Water Cooled, Dual Plextor16x DL DVD+/-RW. Dual WD 250gb 16mb Cache Sata 3.0. 3DMark06 score = 19,168.
RicoDirenzo is offline  
Old 05-02-2008, 03:04 PM   #14 (permalink)
 
jfenwick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,648
Send a message via ICQ to jfenwick Send a message via MSN to jfenwick
Default Re: SLI 8800gt power supply question

Quote:
Originally Posted by RicoDirenzo View Post
OMG...WTF? I not laughing at you but, man, buy an XFX or EVGA cards then, that's just downright dufusy!!!!!!!!!! Why 2 power connectors? Sheesh!
why? supposedly OC great, have manual jumpers to increase voltage to 1.3 and are dirt cheap compared to xfx and evga.

[edit]bridge is installed[/edit]
jfenwick is offline  
Old 05-02-2008, 03:08 PM   #15 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
NightSurge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Fort Wayne, IN
Posts: 2,217
Send a message via AIM to NightSurge
Default Re: SLI 8800gt power supply question

Hmmmmm. So you do have the SLI bridge installed. In that case, if it doesn't list an option to enable SLI, I'm kind of lost. With my 9800GX2, it gave me options for: "Dual GPU - Single Monitor and best performance" or "Single GPU - Dual monitors" so in my case it was Dual GPU which enabled SLI.
__________________

If I was helpful, please click the icon on the left hand side of this message that looks like a check mark Thanks!

NightSurge is offline  
Old 05-02-2008, 03:12 PM   #16 (permalink)
 
jfenwick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,648
Send a message via ICQ to jfenwick Send a message via MSN to jfenwick
Default Re: SLI 8800gt power supply question

Yeah, not too sure what to do...they are both detected in device manager so just can't figure it out...but they can't be running properly if my 3Dmark is decreasing. missing something here....maybe will re-install the bridge and see if that helps.
jfenwick is offline  
Old 05-02-2008, 03:18 PM   #17 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
NightSurge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Fort Wayne, IN
Posts: 2,217
Send a message via AIM to NightSurge
Default Re: SLI 8800gt power supply question

Update the drivers versions, if you haven't done so yet. Also, could you send us some screen shots of your NVidia control panel?
__________________

If I was helpful, please click the icon on the left hand side of this message that looks like a check mark Thanks!

NightSurge is offline  
Old 05-02-2008, 03:33 PM   #18 (permalink)
 
jfenwick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,648
Send a message via ICQ to jfenwick Send a message via MSN to jfenwick
Default Re: SLI 8800gt power supply question

Yeah, not too sure what to do...they are both detected in device manager so just can't figure it out...but they can't be running properly if my 3Dmark is decreasing. missing something here....maybe will re-install the bridge and see if that helps.

[edit] 2nd reboot did it, now nvidia control panel has the enable sli option.[/edit]
jfenwick is offline  
Old 05-02-2008, 03:38 PM   #19 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
NightSurge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Fort Wayne, IN
Posts: 2,217
Send a message via AIM to NightSurge
Default Re: SLI 8800gt power supply question

Hmm. Odd. Some motherboards have to enable something as well in order to use SLI. Let us know if the problem has been fixed now.
__________________

If I was helpful, please click the icon on the left hand side of this message that looks like a check mark Thanks!

NightSurge is offline  
Old 05-02-2008, 03:56 PM   #20 (permalink)
 
jfenwick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,648
Send a message via ICQ to jfenwick Send a message via MSN to jfenwick
Default Re: SLI 8800gt power supply question

problem fixed, thanks for the help, just needed a couple of re-boots.
__________________

jfenwick is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help with my PSU! weezerguy187 New Systems | Building and Buying 22 01-27-2008 04:58 PM
New Power Supply and RAM go_sharks86 System Upgrades 11 01-13-2008 02:37 AM
Echo Star 600W 20+4 Pin ATX Power Supply commandercup New Systems | Building and Buying 3 09-04-2007 07:21 PM
8800 gts 320mb power supply requirement ? viper880 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 15 07-03-2007 11:56 PM
Dell HP-1457F3 power supply moosehead1 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 4 06-27-2007 05:13 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:01 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.