SLI - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-14-2010, 07:28 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 181
Default SLI

I have a P5Q-Pro Motherboard with A GeForce 470 GTX. I also have a GeForce 9800GTX.
I'm wondering if my motherboard is capable of SLI and if those cards will be able to work together?
__________________

Curbkiddytech is offline  
Old 11-14-2010, 07:32 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
philbar71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Suffolk, VA
Posts: 4,533
Send a message via AIM to philbar71
Default Re: SLI

You cannot SLI those two cards together.

And yes, it is possible to SLI on an intel chipset. Ive done it before.
__________________

__________________


The only thing ATi can render faster than nVidia is the BSOD

SLI ON INTEL P45: http://www.techist.com/pc/f76/sli-intel-chipset-219886/

<<< i like rep :D
philbar71 is offline  
Old 11-14-2010, 08:17 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 181
Default Re: SLI

Well that sucks Thanks anyways.
Curbkiddytech is offline  
Old 11-14-2010, 08:21 PM   #4 (permalink)
muffin enthusiast
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: new york
Posts: 2,724
Default Re: SLI

you could use it as a physx card.
__________________
Muffin Man is offline  
Old 11-14-2010, 11:05 PM   #5 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,315
Default Re: SLI

You cannot SLI those cards and you cannot SLI on a p45 motherboard unless you use the hack.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline  
Old 11-14-2010, 11:21 PM   #6 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
philbar71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Suffolk, VA
Posts: 4,533
Send a message via AIM to philbar71
Default Re: SLI

Quote:
Originally Posted by PP Mguire View Post
and you cannot SLI on a p45 motherboard unless you use the hack.
^ but it's still possible. You speak like its impossible. Nothing is impossible! lol.
__________________


The only thing ATi can render faster than nVidia is the BSOD

SLI ON INTEL P45: http://www.techist.com/pc/f76/sli-intel-chipset-219886/

<<< i like rep :D
philbar71 is offline  
Old 11-15-2010, 06:44 AM   #7 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,315
Default Re: SLI

I know its not impossible, i SLId on a 790FX with dual 280s which is why i said besides using the hack. To give correct information though, the p45 doesnt natively support SLI which is what he was asking. Some people are to afraid to try something simple thinking it will ruin their computer (even though its just driver emulation).
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:36 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.