SLI - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-29-2009, 06:58 PM   #1 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
overlord20's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: spokomptan
Posts: 2,308
Default SLI

So I am wondering about video cards.. When the 300 series arrives I want to go SLI with my gtx260 OR get a better card. Would it be better to go SLI and someday tri SLI with a GTX260 or would it be better to get a different card GTX280 or something and sell the 260?
__________________

overlord20 is offline  
Old 09-29-2009, 07:12 PM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: SLI

Don't bother with the dual-card setup.

100% of a price increase for around 75%, plus its a bigger pain because you'll have to sell two later on.

Buy a higher end GTX 280 or wait for the GTX 300's and use the Core 216 as a PhysX card.
__________________

__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 09-29-2009, 07:14 PM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
overlord20's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: spokomptan
Posts: 2,308
Default Re: SLI

So... I am confused with the physX thing. What exactly is it for? I know some games implement it... And to use it as a physX card do I still have to connect the sli adapters?

I can no longer receive an EVGA 280 on newegg.. (Want EVGA.. Fan boy issue)

found 285:

EVGA | Products

I hope the price drastically comes down when the 300 cards arrive.
overlord20 is offline  
Old 09-29-2009, 07:18 PM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: SLI

Some games use it, but its a good way to use one of your older cards if you don't want to sell it. Its really not worth it if you want to buy another card just for it, but in your case it wouldn't be a waste.

You do not need to throw on the SLI Connector.

EDIT: here's a guide I wrote a while back (its from the Anandtech article)

Using an nVidia card for dedicated GPU PhysX Acceleration
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 09-29-2009, 07:19 PM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: SLI

I'll have (2) GTX 280's (1 EVGA, 1 BFG) for sale when the 300's come out. When you start packing the cards in for Tri-SLI heat really starts being a major issue, water-cooling is recommend for any real performance.
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Old 09-29-2009, 07:22 PM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
overlord20's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: spokomptan
Posts: 2,308
Default Re: SLI

I see... Figures... My case is already tight. How much slay?? I will get a 300 card once a steady job appears itself to me. If the price is good I will dibs that EVGA one. I just don't feel like the 260 is pulling it's own weight. Could be a win7 issue (Think it is) but we will see when I get out of the RC.
overlord20 is offline  
Old 09-29-2009, 07:37 PM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: SLI

I'd really like to sell them both at the same time. They both have Arctic Cooling Accelero Xtreme Coolers. Price is yet to be determined but probably around $200-$225 each, as a pair. Closer to $250 each if sold individually.


ORB - Compare

That score was with Win7
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Old 09-30-2009, 08:36 AM   #8 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
philbar71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Suffolk, VA
Posts: 4,533
Send a message via AIM to philbar71
Default Re: SLI

Quote:
Originally Posted by overlord20 View Post
I see... Figures... My case is already tight. How much slay?? I will get a 300 card once a steady job appears itself to me. If the price is good I will dibs that EVGA one. I just don't feel like the 260 is pulling it's own weight. Could be a win7 issue (Think it is) but we will see when I get out of the RC.
what do you mean the 260 not pulling it's own weight? are you trying to play at 2560x1600 or something? my 260 maxes every game out now. (except for new DX11 games)

my advice is, if you have the $250-300 now that is needed for a GTX 280 then just live with the 260 until the GT300 cards come out or save up the extra cash and get a HD 5870. right now i dont see any point in putting more than about $150 in to a DX 10 card right now, not since the DX11 stuff is right around the corner.
__________________


The only thing ATi can render faster than nVidia is the BSOD

SLI ON INTEL P45: http://www.techist.com/pc/f76/sli-intel-chipset-219886/

<<< i like rep :D
philbar71 is offline  
Old 09-30-2009, 10:49 AM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
meat_helmet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 1,119
Default Re: SLI

Yeh SLI is a waste now, unless you are going to get 2xGT300s or xfire 5870s. One of either of those will probably probably beat 2x260s easily.

Don't expect the GTX285 to come down in price either. The flagship cards never really come down in price and the gt200s are expensive to make so i doubt it will happen.
__________________
meat_helmet is offline  
Old 09-30-2009, 11:45 AM   #10 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
overlord20's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: spokomptan
Posts: 2,308
Default Re: SLI

Philbar, I don't think it's neccarly my card. I am waiting to reformat to know for sure. 300 cards are going to be a lot of money thoughe.... judging by current cards release price I will not be able to afford one for quite some time.
__________________

overlord20 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Nvidia SLI for P55 philbar71 New Technology and Products 2 08-13-2009 06:47 PM
List of News Prototype New Technology and Products 4 10-29-2008 04:29 AM
9800 GTX vs. SLI vs. 3-way SLI. vs. Quad SLI veg1992 New Technology and Products 2 05-31-2008 10:59 AM
SLI ready RAM? Is it any better? What does SLI mean for RAM? StealthTools Overclocking and Modding 12 04-17-2008 09:27 PM
SLI + Dual Monitors WORKS.... Black Falcon 921 Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 4 03-22-2008 10:34 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:25 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.