Sli???? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-18-2007, 09:19 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Wetaskiwin Alberta
Posts: 498
Send a message via MSN to nVdia Send a message via Yahoo to nVdia
Default Sli????

Alright well eventually I would like to do a SLI setup and I was wondering since I have a 8800gts 320mb card if I add another 320mb card does that mean I will have 640mb of video memory? Does SLI use both cards video memory?
__________________

__________________
Intel Core 2 duo E6750
Gigabyte S series N650 SLI
Evga 8800GT Superclocked 512MB
4 Patriot Extreme DDR2800
Seagate Barracuda 320gig SATA 2
Seagate Barracuda 200gig SATA 2
Antec 900 Gaming Case
Enermax Liberty 620watt Modular
Acer 22inch Widescreen HDTV/DVI
Windows Vista Ultimate 32 Bit
nVdia is offline  
Old 08-18-2007, 09:27 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: Sli????

gtx > gts in sli
__________________

__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 08-18-2007, 10:03 PM   #3 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Sli????

Quote:
Originally Posted by veedubfreak View Post
gtx > gts in sli
uh-huh.... i agree... one GTX owns the GTS 320mb
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 08-18-2007, 11:14 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Wetaskiwin Alberta
Posts: 498
Send a message via MSN to nVdia Send a message via Yahoo to nVdia
Default Re: Sli????

Neither of you answered my question....
__________________
Intel Core 2 duo E6750
Gigabyte S series N650 SLI
Evga 8800GT Superclocked 512MB
4 Patriot Extreme DDR2800
Seagate Barracuda 320gig SATA 2
Seagate Barracuda 200gig SATA 2
Antec 900 Gaming Case
Enermax Liberty 620watt Modular
Acer 22inch Widescreen HDTV/DVI
Windows Vista Ultimate 32 Bit
nVdia is offline  
Old 08-18-2007, 11:34 PM   #5 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: Sli????

I would assume it does, otherwise the other 320mb, would go to waste. But you shouldn't SLI, when one higher end card can rival them, for around the same price...such as the 8800GTX. SLIing will also have double the heat output, from both cards, compared to just one.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 08-18-2007, 11:55 PM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 2,456
Send a message via AIM to phucng_10 Send a message via Yahoo to phucng_10
Default Re: Sli????

2 8800GTX probably can have nearly the same performance as 2 SLi Ultras? Oh and talking about nVidia, while I was on my way to work with my aunt, saw the Santa Clara nVidia department on El Camino Real! I was like woah. The e is BIG!
__________________
|phucng_10's WM|
phucng_10 is offline  
Old 08-19-2007, 12:44 AM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Wetaskiwin Alberta
Posts: 498
Send a message via MSN to nVdia Send a message via Yahoo to nVdia
Default Re: Sli????

Ya I I think I might sli but right now I'm just going to wait till the GTX's drop in price...
__________________
Intel Core 2 duo E6750
Gigabyte S series N650 SLI
Evga 8800GT Superclocked 512MB
4 Patriot Extreme DDR2800
Seagate Barracuda 320gig SATA 2
Seagate Barracuda 200gig SATA 2
Antec 900 Gaming Case
Enermax Liberty 620watt Modular
Acer 22inch Widescreen HDTV/DVI
Windows Vista Ultimate 32 Bit
nVdia is offline  
Old 08-19-2007, 12:56 AM   #8 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: Sli????

Sorry i misread. didnt realize you already had an 8800 gts. I think you would be better off just staying with the single gts and waiting for the g92 then selling your gts. SLI just isnt worth the money when it comes to price vs performance.
__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 08-19-2007, 02:29 AM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Wetaskiwin Alberta
Posts: 498
Send a message via MSN to nVdia Send a message via Yahoo to nVdia
Default Re: Sli????

Ya I'm just surprised I get low frame rates in COH and Stalker When settings are on high.
__________________
Intel Core 2 duo E6750
Gigabyte S series N650 SLI
Evga 8800GT Superclocked 512MB
4 Patriot Extreme DDR2800
Seagate Barracuda 320gig SATA 2
Seagate Barracuda 200gig SATA 2
Antec 900 Gaming Case
Enermax Liberty 620watt Modular
Acer 22inch Widescreen HDTV/DVI
Windows Vista Ultimate 32 Bit
nVdia is offline  
Old 08-19-2007, 05:08 AM   #10 (permalink)
MetalHead Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,912
Default Re: Sli????

is your e6750 overclocked?
that will help
__________________

__________________
Proc Intel 2500k
Video XFX 6950 1Gb
Display 22'' Monitor Chemei 5ms RT, 800:1 CR
Mobo Biostar Z68A+
Mem 4 gb PNY DDR3 1600
Case afk
Sound Logitech z-5300e 5.1 + Razer Orca's + Creative Soundblaster Audigy SE
PSU Corsair 520hx
OS Windows 7 64-bit
Cooling Corsair H60 Liquid Cooling
HDD Hitachi 1Tb
Invisible is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:04 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.