Six Core? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-29-2011, 11:40 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 5
Default Six Core?

Hey guys I'm still putting together a CPU and trying to do as much research on my PC before buying.

Anyways I notice that i never see anyone talking about the I7-990X Core? All I keep reading is the Quad core threads.

Intel Core i7-990X BX80613I7990X Extreme Edition Processor - Six-Core, 12MB L3 Cache, 3.46GHz, Socket B (LGA 1366), Retail at TigerDirect.com

Thats the one I'm thinking of buying. I want to get into overclocking, and I cant seem to find anyone that has done it with this one, or I'm just missing it. I noticed they are selling even more expensive CPUs, but to me that look slower? Heres a example. hmm I noticed it says server/workstation on the box. im guessing thats why. Keep in mind I'm new to this!

Intel BX80614X5670 Xeon X5670 Processor - 2.93GHz, LGA 1366, 6.4GT/s QPI, 12MB L3 Cache, Six Core, HyperThreading, Westmere-EP, Retail CPU w/ Fan at TigerDirect.com


Is this like the LED Tvs that when you ask about a LED tv some jerk is always like Well there not really LEDs and blah blah blah, but he knows exactly what your talking about! haha just a pet peeve
__________________

Jeremy05 is offline  
Old 04-29-2011, 12:17 PM   #2 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: Six Core?

No one talks about it as its overkill. 90% of applications don;'t use more than 2 cores anyway, so 6 is just wasted money.

Thoses are 1366 sockets whyich are being replaced at the end/start of the year. The 990x is new this year btw

Soul went from a $1300 980x to a 2600k at a 3rd the price and a small bit of performance gain in 50% of things he does. So its not smart to shell out 1000 bucks more.

Xeons are "server" chips in that you can run multiple cpus on 1 board, and are usually better chips... and cost more.

The hex cores are just not worth the performance gain the average person does.
__________________

__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Old 04-29-2011, 12:29 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 5
Default Re: Six Core?

1366 are going to be replaced? So maybe I should wait till next year? I dont want to build a PC and then find out in 3 years I cant replace my CPU because the new ones dont fit into my MB
Jeremy05 is offline  
Old 04-29-2011, 12:31 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 5
Default Re: Six Core?

ugh I just found a article. Hope they are not expensive!
Jeremy05 is offline  
Old 04-29-2011, 12:59 PM   #5 (permalink)
I don't overclock
 
Fat.Clown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: offline
Posts: 3,326
Default Re: Six Core?

seems like a new socket comes out every 2 years now on the intel side.
so just buy whatever you can at the moment, technology moves on, regardless when you buy.
Fat.Clown is offline  
Old 04-29-2011, 02:32 PM   #6 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: Six Core?

1366 was a freak socket. The 920 came out, and exploded. 1366 is the high end socket, and wasn't really ment for main stream, but it did.

2011 socket is meant for high end uses and work machines, not really daily machines. I'd just use 1155 sandybridges and be happy.
__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Old 04-29-2011, 02:47 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
mikesx4911's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: chicago, IL
Posts: 356
Default Re: Six Core?

I have a 6 core, but its the AMD phenom 2 6 core. Im not a big fan of intel, and for the price of some of their stuff I would rather just have AMD lol, seeing is I like to upgrade almost every 6 months anyway. But yea most softare dont use more than 2 cores to begin with, I could see you buying that intel 6 core than couple months later you get ****ed becuase they have a new one or your socket is outdated haha. Instead of a 1k cpu I would buy a 1k video card :-)
mikesx4911 is offline  
Old 04-29-2011, 04:48 PM   #8 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: Six Core?

Saddly intels obsolete socket still beats amds new one. AMD tried the many cores over faster cores, as i'm betting the socket causes issues with getting chips faster.
__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Old 04-29-2011, 08:47 PM   #9 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 42
Default Re: Six Core?

as everyone has stated above 6 cores is pretty much pointless at this moment in time as most programs rarely hit 4 cores at max. I'd suggest you go with the i5 2500k which you can overclock if you need to
lipzo is offline  
Old 04-29-2011, 10:20 PM   #10 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: SA, Australia
Posts: 90
Default Re: Six Core?

Quote:
Originally Posted by lipzo View Post
as everyone has stated above 6 cores is pretty much pointless at this moment in time as most programs rarely hit 4 cores at max. I'd suggest you go with the i5 2500k which you can overclock if you need to
The i5 2500k is pretty much the most popular cpu at the moment. the performance it gives, the potential it has and what is costs gives a very good package. Because is "2500k", it is unlocked which means you can overclock it until it explodes. I believe Slaymate is running his at 5ghz or something absurd. If you have the knowledge, this processor is very good.

I've got the phenom II 1090t. Its a good processor. I didn't want to fork out an extra $200 for a Intel/nVidia build that was theoretically the same as an AMD/ATI build. Plus the phenom II is unlocked. So you can overclock that until it explodes too

In terms of pure performance though, the i5 is better than the phenom 1090t.
__________________

__________________
My AMD Machine:
1090T Phenom II
Patriot Signature 1333 DDR3 4GB
ASROCK 890GM
PowerColor Radeon HD 6870
1TB WD 7200rpm SATA3
Win7
-Tenk- is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
MSI Mainboards Fully Support Core i7-980X Extreme 6-Core CPUs Osiris New Technology and Products 0 03-18-2010 08:53 AM
Socket AM2 motherboard...lookin to upgrade single core to dual core processor BradS System Upgrades 2 01-09-2010 08:50 AM
Intel Core 2 Duo e8500: Sweet Spot for Dual Core overclockers veg1992 New Systems | Building and Buying 10 03-05-2008 11:30 PM
How do I compare CPUs? Dual Core, Core 2 Duo, Quad Core... 706 New Systems | Building and Buying 1 12-05-2007 08:27 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:08 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.