single core vs dual core - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-21-2006, 10:51 PM   #21 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3,339
Default

Flanker with Processor affinity you can set everyone to run one one core and the game on the other. This is a breakthrough in gaming as the other core handles all background and the other "gaming core" is not burdened. The origanal Xbox can produce some pretty impressive games for being a Pentium 3 and using a card that is not as good as a 6800GS even but it doesn't have background services to run like an OS, music, firewall, webserver, or any of that. The same is applied when you use processor affinity an unburdened system can do alot with little to work with.
__________________

__________________
<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"> <input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value=\"Search TF before you post!\"></form>
Vista Discussion | 64 Bit Discussion |Microsoft Homepage | Yo Linux | Paul Thurrott | Fire Fox | Thunder Bird | Image Shack | Photo Bucket | Put File | Anti-Spyware | MS Anti-Spyware | Trillian | Anti-Virus | On Line Virus Scan
Tyler1989 is offline  
Old 01-21-2006, 11:18 PM   #22 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,327
Send a message via AIM to Flanker
Default

I'd hardly call that a breakthrough. The processor is at maybe 2% load, MAX, when there is nothing running on it. If you need that 2% that much, then consider a new processor.
__________________

Flanker is offline  
Old 01-22-2006, 12:46 AM   #23 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3,339
Default

more like 12-15 with your firewalls, anti virus, messengers, and music running. I dno't think everyone turns off their security while playing a game and I think some people even listen to their music as the game music isn't so great.

Sure it's maybe 2% on a high end processor but not everyone in the world has enough cash to dish out a 4800+, a 180 Opt, or a FX-60.
__________________
<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"> <input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value=\"Search TF before you post!\"></form>
Vista Discussion | 64 Bit Discussion |Microsoft Homepage | Yo Linux | Paul Thurrott | Fire Fox | Thunder Bird | Image Shack | Photo Bucket | Put File | Anti-Spyware | MS Anti-Spyware | Trillian | Anti-Virus | On Line Virus Scan
Tyler1989 is offline  
Old 01-22-2006, 02:21 AM   #24 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,327
Send a message via AIM to Flanker
Default

I'm running an Antivirus, 2 instances of AIM message windows, and music in Real Rhapsody. The CPU usage on my $160 3200+ is oscillating between 2% and 3%. If I were to start a game, it would go up to maybe 40%...
Flanker is offline  
Old 01-22-2006, 02:27 AM   #25 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 350
Default

That is because of AIM. CSS is unplayable, i repeat, unplayable, that is coming from a guy with 1.6GHz processor, 512 ram, radeon 7500...
__________________
Kitire is offline  
Old 01-22-2006, 02:47 AM   #26 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,327
Send a message via AIM to Flanker
Default

But if you're even thinking of buying a Dual Core processor, you won't be going with a 1.6GHz processor, 512MB RAM, and a Radeon 7500...
Flanker is offline  
Old 01-22-2006, 03:05 AM   #27 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

CS:S isn't designed to run on specs like that. it really needs at LEAST an FX-5200 (what I have, which will run it on low settings) and a 2500+ CPU
but for descent settings, it should really be on a Radeon 9600 and a 3000+ CPU
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 01-22-2006, 12:45 PM   #28 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 396
Default

TRUE STILL i finally understand this
__________________


quest1on is offline  
Old 01-22-2006, 03:05 PM   #29 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 350
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Flanker
But if you're even thinking of buying a Dual Core processor, you won't be going with a 1.6GHz processor, 512MB RAM, and a Radeon 7500...
WTF? What are you talking about?
__________________
Kitire is offline  
Old 01-22-2006, 03:20 PM   #30 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3,339
Default

Yes Flanker I also agree there is no reason just because you get a dual core you have to get a high end dual core there are plenty of entry level dual cores that are known for their OC ability even.
__________________

__________________
<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"> <input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value=\"Search TF before you post!\"></form>
Vista Discussion | 64 Bit Discussion |Microsoft Homepage | Yo Linux | Paul Thurrott | Fire Fox | Thunder Bird | Image Shack | Photo Bucket | Put File | Anti-Spyware | MS Anti-Spyware | Trillian | Anti-Virus | On Line Virus Scan
Tyler1989 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:22 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.