*sigh* its a dell but it'l have to do... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-13-2006, 12:30 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 143
Send a message via AIM to sw_freak64 Send a message via Yahoo to sw_freak64
Default *sigh* its a dell but it'l have to do...

Hey guys i just recently got a 2001Dell demension 2400 desktop.Visit this link for full dell specs.... As you can see it only has 128Mb RAM*sigh* dell is alwayz tryin to cheat their consumers out ya know...anyways it has 3 PCI slots and NO AGP OR PCI-E. Now the lack of PCI-E i understand but no f'n AGP!!..anyways i need help...how, in any way can i make this omputer a moderate gaming machine...now im not talkin about some colosal LAN rig...just a step above decent. There is a high price cap to none at all so get creative (also can you replace dell cases with custom cases i.e. a Thermaltake i was lookin at or the new Antec P180 prototype). Is there ANYTHING i can do to save this Dell from total crappyness and lag lag lag?? PLEASE HELP a poor cheap guy make do with what he's got, thanks and live long and prosper!
__________________

__________________
~Dell Demension 2400
~~Pentium 4 2.8 gHz
~~2 x Kingston ValueRAM 1GB 184-Pin DDR SDRAM DDR 400 (PC 3200)
~~VisionTek Radeon X1300 256MB GDDR2 Low Profile
~~2 x Western Digital Caviar SE 250GB 7200 RPM 8MB Cache IDE Ultra ATA100

<a href="http://www.nerdtests.com/ft_cg.php?im">
<img src="http://www.nerdtests.com/images/ft/cg.php?val=0848" alt="My computer geek score is greater than 100% of all people in the world! How do you compare? Click here to find out!"> </a>
sw_freak64 is offline  
Old 09-13-2006, 12:31 AM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 143
Send a message via AIM to sw_freak64 Send a message via Yahoo to sw_freak64
Default

btw the RAM shown in my sig. is what im lookin at NOT what i got...i got the 128 right now
__________________

__________________
~Dell Demension 2400
~~Pentium 4 2.8 gHz
~~2 x Kingston ValueRAM 1GB 184-Pin DDR SDRAM DDR 400 (PC 3200)
~~VisionTek Radeon X1300 256MB GDDR2 Low Profile
~~2 x Western Digital Caviar SE 250GB 7200 RPM 8MB Cache IDE Ultra ATA100

<a href="http://www.nerdtests.com/ft_cg.php?im">
<img src="http://www.nerdtests.com/images/ft/cg.php?val=0848" alt="My computer geek score is greater than 100% of all people in the world! How do you compare? Click here to find out!"> </a>
sw_freak64 is offline  
Old 09-13-2006, 12:33 AM   #3 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,303
Default

Here ya go.

First, the review:
http://www.extremetech.com/article2/...129TX1K0000532

And then the link:
http://www.monarchcomputer.com/Merch...gory_Code=NA_4
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 09-13-2006, 05:06 AM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 235
Default

in honesty bud, what makes ya think you can buy such a turd pc and expect anything decent from it? Its not just a few shortcomings it has, its all just very low spec. Good luck!
plant is offline  
Old 09-13-2006, 06:30 AM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
aj2003's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,094
Default

with a agp or pci-e port the only way you can upgrade the graphics card is to use a standard pci card, and i havent seen a better one than the nvidia fx5500. There is very little you can do with that machine unfortunatly. Rather than trying to revive it save your money and build something new.
__________________
AMD x2 5000+ black edition at 3.3GHZ zalman cnps 9700-NT
Gigabyte GA-M57SLI-S4 motherboard
3072mb: OCZ ddr800 gold
2x 7800GTX in SLI for 20" viewsonic
OCZ 600watt power supply
www.angelic-accessories.co.uk - plug for my gfs site
aj2003 is offline  
Old 09-13-2006, 07:27 AM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 143
Send a message via AIM to sw_freak64 Send a message via Yahoo to sw_freak64
Default

well actualy i got it for free, a donation to my lab at home from a neighbor
__________________
~Dell Demension 2400
~~Pentium 4 2.8 gHz
~~2 x Kingston ValueRAM 1GB 184-Pin DDR SDRAM DDR 400 (PC 3200)
~~VisionTek Radeon X1300 256MB GDDR2 Low Profile
~~2 x Western Digital Caviar SE 250GB 7200 RPM 8MB Cache IDE Ultra ATA100

<a href="http://www.nerdtests.com/ft_cg.php?im">
<img src="http://www.nerdtests.com/images/ft/cg.php?val=0848" alt="My computer geek score is greater than 100% of all people in the world! How do you compare? Click here to find out!"> </a>
sw_freak64 is offline  
Old 09-13-2006, 09:51 AM   #7 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,303
Default

Quote:
the only way you can upgrade the graphics card is to use a standard pci card, and i havent seen a better one than the nvidia fx5500.
Check my link above. It's a X1300 PCI card. While not exactly a X1950XTX, it is better than what's out there.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 09-13-2006, 08:16 PM   #8 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
HAVOC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Milford, Connecticut
Posts: 4,218
Send a message via AIM to HAVOC Send a message via Yahoo to HAVOC
Default

Well, Honestly... You can probably salvage the CPU. What is it a P4 2.8Ghz? Not too bad... Would give you something decent for gaming.
And you could use the HDD & any optical drives.

But, You'd need, "A new motherboard Socket 478 or 775", You'd need some ram... ideally 1GIG. Then You'd need a new case, because the new motherboard won't fit in the Dell case. And the dell motherboard won't fit in the new case either... Then you'd need a PSU, if the new case doesn't come with one. Oh and you'd have to pick up a OEM Copy of an operating system like XP home or Pro. Unless of course you were going with linux. You can't use the Dell OEM OS on another PC.

SO yeah, you're better off building a whole new PC.
HAVOC is offline  
Old 09-13-2006, 10:10 PM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 143
Send a message via AIM to sw_freak64 Send a message via Yahoo to sw_freak64
Default

haha! well lets stick to the topic of my "decent" dell...what can i do presently?
__________________
~Dell Demension 2400
~~Pentium 4 2.8 gHz
~~2 x Kingston ValueRAM 1GB 184-Pin DDR SDRAM DDR 400 (PC 3200)
~~VisionTek Radeon X1300 256MB GDDR2 Low Profile
~~2 x Western Digital Caviar SE 250GB 7200 RPM 8MB Cache IDE Ultra ATA100

<a href="http://www.nerdtests.com/ft_cg.php?im">
<img src="http://www.nerdtests.com/images/ft/cg.php?val=0848" alt="My computer geek score is greater than 100% of all people in the world! How do you compare? Click here to find out!"> </a>
sw_freak64 is offline  
Old 09-14-2006, 10:07 PM   #10 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
alexsabree's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 1,845
Default

nothing except save money

In all honesty your pc right now is non-upgradable
You need to salvage what you have and start over
(keep the cpu + screen)
and do what havoc said...
__________________

alexsabree is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:10 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.