Shouldnt i be getting better temps? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-20-2008, 03:21 PM   #1 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Question Shouldnt i be getting better temps?

Ok everyone has seen my watercooling setup. Shouldnt i be getting better temps on my video cards? I have excellent flow and a 320mm radiator with the video cards on their own loop, and i'm still getting around 55C idle and 75C load temps. Was i expecting too much? I do know that the cards SEEM much cooler to the touch compared to the cooker cage they came with, but i was hoping for much lower temps.
__________________

__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 07-20-2008, 04:40 PM   #2 (permalink)
Camera junky
 
Poizen22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: ottawa ontario canada.
Posts: 6,280
Default Re: Shouldnt i be getting better temps?

did you clean out your radiators and water blocks? also i noticed you didnt add any additives to your loop, that may help not sure tho.those temps do seem high for a water cooled gpu, alltho there are 2 of them.
__________________

__________________

https://www.flickr.com/photos/poizen22/
intel Core I7 8700k@ 5.0ghz-Nvidia GTX1080 ti ftw3-Aorus 5 z370 mobo-16gb ddr4 G-Skill trident Z rgb 3000mhz - 1tb samsung 960 pro, 2tb wd blue- thermaltake rgb 750w gold-Phanteks pro M TG- Samsung CHG70 1440p 144hz 32 inch QLED.
Poizen22 is offline  
Old 07-20-2008, 05:58 PM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: Shouldnt i be getting better temps?

The idle and load delta is pretty close so they only heat up a small bit. But its also 80F in my apt. As for additives i only used biocide. I want the system as nonconductive as possible.

And no i didnt clean anything out, but just judging from my reservoirs the water is still crystal clear and theres no particles.
__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 07-20-2008, 07:30 PM   #4 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default Re: Shouldnt i be getting better temps?

distilled water is the best way to go.. only add bioside to prevent algae

another question... how enclosed is your case.. give me picks... internal radiator setups suck... not enough air flow
__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 07-20-2008, 08:02 PM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: Shouldnt i be getting better temps?

3 120mm fans in the front pushing air through the first radiator (video cards) then in the rear there is 3 more 120mm fans pulling air and blowing those through the CPU radiator which then leaves the case. I also have 2 120mm fans pulling air into the case blowing over the motherboard and video cards with a 120mm fan right behind the cpu and a 140mm fan in the power supply both venting air out of the case. The whole system is running negative pressure.

full pictures here. You must have missed this thread
Leak testing has commenced!!!!
__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 07-20-2008, 08:12 PM   #6 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default Re: Shouldnt i be getting better temps?

no way i missed it.. i posted in it

and anywho... what are you cpu temps...

i would definitely expect better .... but again, find some people that have 2 4870's in a single loop and see how they're doing
__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 07-20-2008, 09:47 PM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: Shouldnt i be getting better temps?

cpu temps are great, i never go over 50-51 degrees. Would it be worth draining the system and running some vinegar through it then refilling it? I almost wonder if the temp sensors are just wrong.
__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 07-20-2008, 09:52 PM   #8 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default Re: Shouldnt i be getting better temps?

touch the cards while they're at full load, see if they feel hot

and what are the temps on stock coolers on those??
__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 07-20-2008, 10:25 PM   #9 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: Shouldnt i be getting better temps?

On the cooker cages they were HOT, with the water they are basically cool to the touch. This is why i wonder if the temp sensers are wrong.
__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 07-20-2008, 10:48 PM   #10 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default Re: Shouldnt i be getting better temps?

are there any other gpu programs that give temp readings?

new ati tool perhaps? if its been updated
__________________

__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
temps advancedgeek Overclocking and Modding 4 07-19-2008 01:01 PM
the different temps i get. braz Overclocking and Modding 8 02-28-2008 01:14 PM
Temps for Q6700 vs. QX6850 TheMaestro New Systems | Building and Buying 29 11-05-2007 10:33 AM
E6400 temps Syphanx Overclocking and Modding 2 11-03-2007 10:13 PM
Mobo temps? Gabb New Systems | Building and Buying 7 06-21-2007 10:10 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:27 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.