should i wait on ati - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-28-2006, 10:23 PM   #1 (permalink)
Enterprise SCCM\SCOM
 
jseber1982's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Atlanta, Ga
Posts: 904
Send a message via ICQ to jseber1982 Send a message via AIM to jseber1982 Send a message via Yahoo to jseber1982
Default should i wait on ati

I almost ordered 2 8800gtxs just now.. i got to reading up on r600. From what i am reading, its looking like it is gunna be a bit better than the 8800. I heard that it is comming out early next year. Not sure if it is worth waiting or not.

And i sure as heck aint buyin no quad core.. waste of money right now
__________________

jseber1982 is offline  
Old 11-28-2006, 10:25 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 566
Send a message via AIM to reckliss
Default

Nice rig. I would just wait I don't think you are having any problems in games at the moment. If you didnt have crossfire I would say go ahead but you do so. lol
__________________

reckliss is offline  
Old 11-28-2006, 10:32 PM   #3 (permalink)
Enterprise SCCM\SCOM
 
jseber1982's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Atlanta, Ga
Posts: 904
Send a message via ICQ to jseber1982 Send a message via AIM to jseber1982 Send a message via Yahoo to jseber1982
Default

yea i dont really have any probs right now. i just love being cutting edge. But if i went back to nvidia sli, i would need to get a different mobo because this one is not sli, its only crossfire. And i would need to reseal the phase unit on the cpu,, pain.. i guess waiting wont hurt.. the money will burn a hole in my paypal account lol
jseber1982 is offline  
Old 11-28-2006, 10:42 PM   #4 (permalink)
Console Gamer
 
Ronnie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: N. Carolina
Posts: 2,716
Default

you will still be able to use your current mobo you will just need modified drivers
__________________
Ryzen 7 1700 / Gigabyte AB35
Deepcool Captain 240EX
32GB HyperX DDR4 / Corsair 750watt
Red Devil 480 / Corsair R270
Sandisk 960GB SSD / 2x Seagate 8tb, 2x WD 4TB
Ronnie is offline  
Old 11-28-2006, 11:20 PM   #5 (permalink)
Enterprise SCCM\SCOM
 
jseber1982's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Atlanta, Ga
Posts: 904
Send a message via ICQ to jseber1982 Send a message via AIM to jseber1982 Send a message via Yahoo to jseber1982
Default

lol know where i can find them? I will also need to buy an sli bridge
jseber1982 is offline  
Old 11-29-2006, 09:29 AM   #6 (permalink)
Enterprise SCCM\SCOM
 
jseber1982's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Atlanta, Ga
Posts: 904
Send a message via ICQ to jseber1982 Send a message via AIM to jseber1982 Send a message via Yahoo to jseber1982
Default

Ehh, dont feel like relying on hacked drivers, i will wait for atis new card
__________________

jseber1982 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:59 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.