Should I use XP Pro 64 bit or Vista 32 bit for my new gaming build. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-01-2007, 07:54 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 376
Send a message via AIM to Saint71
Default Should I use XP Pro 64 bit or Vista 32 bit for my new gaming build.

I will be building a new system tomorrow and I have a choice of installing Vista or XP 64 bit. Which one should I use guys. I have heard that Vista is slower in games and have integrated spying and anti piracy software. Is this true?
__________________

Saint71 is offline  
Old 08-01-2007, 07:57 PM   #2 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: Should I use XP Pro 64 bit or Vista 32 bit for my new gaming build.

Whats the build?
__________________

__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 08-01-2007, 07:57 PM   #3 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Should I use XP Pro 64 bit or Vista 32 bit for my new gaming build.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Saint71 View Post
I will be building a new system tomorrow and I have a choice of installing Vista or XP 64 bit. Which one should I use guys. I have heard that Vista is slower in games and have integrated spying and anti piracy software. Is this true?
slower..... but spyware none that i've seen... or noticed.... but if u get Vista disable a bunch of stuff, Aero, Superfetch, and a bunch of stuff
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 08-01-2007, 07:57 PM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Should I use XP Pro 64 bit or Vista 32 bit for my new gaming build.

but i need to know system specs because if u don't have enough ram, getting vista is useless
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 08-01-2007, 08:49 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 376
Send a message via AIM to Saint71
Default Re: Should I use XP Pro 64 bit or Vista 32 bit for my new gaming build.

Quote:
Originally Posted by vernong1992 View Post
but i need to know system specs because if u don't have enough ram, getting vista is useless
Here is a thread regarding my build.

Will this build be fast enough?
Saint71 is offline  
Old 08-01-2007, 08:55 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
meat_helmet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 1,119
Default Re: Should I use XP Pro 64 bit or Vista 32 bit for my new gaming build.

Vista 64 bit is pretty good, and more futureproof. You system could definately handle it.

As for spyware, i havent heard anything like that. As for performance, you might get 1 or 2 fps less than in xp, but that will change as graphics drivers get more optimized for vista.
__________________
meat_helmet is offline  
Old 08-01-2007, 08:55 PM   #7 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Should I use XP Pro 64 bit or Vista 32 bit for my new gaming build.

ya then u can get Vista 32-bit
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 08-01-2007, 08:56 PM   #8 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Should I use XP Pro 64 bit or Vista 32 bit for my new gaming build.

u need 4gb for perfomance in 64-bit like we recommend 2gb for 32-bit Vista
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 08-01-2007, 08:56 PM   #9 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: Should I use XP Pro 64 bit or Vista 32 bit for my new gaming build.

Agreed, 32-bit Vista
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 08-01-2007, 09:03 PM   #10 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 376
Send a message via AIM to Saint71
Default Re: Should I use XP Pro 64 bit or Vista 32 bit for my new gaming build.

Well I guess I will install Vista then. Look for a new thread tomorrow with pictures of my new build.
__________________

Saint71 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Issue with BF2 on my E510 dykzeulb PC Gaming 8 10-21-2007 04:26 PM
New Build System Boot Linux/Windows... OnlyCurious New Systems | Building and Buying 12 07-31-2007 02:46 PM
system build question jfenwick New Systems | Building and Buying 54 07-23-2007 12:12 AM
AMD Athlon™ 64 X2 Dual Core Processor Utilities & Updates Osiris Overclocking and Modding 6 05-31-2007 01:41 PM
User Locked Out of Account....Its Weird Though.... qbbraveheart Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 2 05-07-2007 09:58 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:48 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.