Should I upgrade to a Zotac 9500 512mb DDR3? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-05-2009, 01:31 PM   #11 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: In my pants.
Posts: 114
Default Re: Should I upgrade to a Zotac 9500 512mb DDR3?

Its alright, you guys are right I do have a x16 PCI slot

Slot PCI : In Use (32-bit) 5.0v
Slot PCI-Express : In Use (x16) 5.0v
Slot PCI-Express : In Use (x1) 5.0v
Slot PCI-Express : Available (x1) 5.0v
__________________

TekBubs is offline  
Old 02-05-2009, 01:43 PM   #12 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
ricanflow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Euless, Tx
Posts: 6,317
Default Re: Should I upgrade to a Zotac 9500 512mb DDR3?

Yup grab you a nice hd4850 or 9800GT and youll be blown away by how much faster it is compared to your current video card.
__________________

__________________
3DMARK06 = 20,341 (3.8GHZ)



Laptop
P7350 | GTX 260M | 4GB DDR2 800 | 320GB HD | X-Fi | Vista 64

Folding Rig/File Server

M775 | E1200 | Foxconn P9657AB
| Dual 8800GT | Antec NeoHE 500 | Barracuda 80GB | Wintec Ampx



ricanflow is offline  
Old 02-05-2009, 01:45 PM   #13 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,887
Default Re: Should I upgrade to a Zotac 9500 512mb DDR3?

Dont forget that sometimes yes the board has a x16 slot but can't be used or isn't available because there is an onboard GPU...
c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 02-05-2009, 02:00 PM   #14 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
ricanflow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Euless, Tx
Posts: 6,317
Default Re: Should I upgrade to a Zotac 9500 512mb DDR3?

When you plug in a video card into the x16 slot, it switches automatically to it and shuts off the onboard.

and looking at what the op has posted, his system has an hd3450 in the x16 slot, so all he needs to do is pull it out and plug in the new card.
__________________

__________________
3DMARK06 = 20,341 (3.8GHZ)



Laptop
P7350 | GTX 260M | 4GB DDR2 800 | 320GB HD | X-Fi | Vista 64

Folding Rig/File Server

M775 | E1200 | Foxconn P9657AB
| Dual 8800GT | Antec NeoHE 500 | Barracuda 80GB | Wintec Ampx



ricanflow is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Considering Upgrade, Have Questions Javelin New Systems | Building and Buying 5 07-05-2008 03:34 PM
Forseeable price drops? My possible upgrade plan. Trepkos New Systems | Building and Buying 3 12-04-2007 02:21 AM
Medium computer upgrade. muman System Upgrades 6 09-14-2007 04:53 PM
Upgrade Advice for my system Cheeseking25 New Systems | Building and Buying 2 07-25-2007 02:28 PM
Vista activation problem Max Power Microsoft Windows and Software 11 07-12-2007 04:01 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:15 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.