Should I upgrade? or build a new one? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-11-2006, 06:03 AM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 252
Default Should I upgrade? or build a new one?

This is my current computer. Wondering if i shoudl upgrade or build a new one, I am going to keep the same powersupply and case.


eVGA e-GeForce 7800 GT PCI Express 256MB DDR3

AMD Athlon 64 3200+ Processor (Venice)

Liteon SOHW-1693S 16X DVD Dual Drive

Seagate Barracuda 7200.9 80GB Serial ATA 7200RPM

MSI K8N NEO4-F nForce4 Athlon 64

G.Skill 2x1GB Value Ram PC3200 DDR400

Antec TruePower 2.0 TP-II 480 Blue 480W

not to mention big typhoon
__________________

Rawmaterial is offline  
Old 12-11-2006, 06:21 AM   #2 (permalink)
There and Back again
 
Nukem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Chattanooga, TN
Posts: 4,403
Default

That all depends on what you want it for? your parts are still decent, albeit a little dated, but good none the less. I might say hold off on a new build and get a better CPU. maybe a dual core? but the rest still looks good.

How bad do you want to spend the money on a complete build? You would be looking at a whole new core...

CPU/mobo/ram/gpu

Depending on what you get that can run 600 plus...

Just my thoughs
__________________

__________________



Dell 4K S2817Q / Logitech Z-680 / Func MS3 Mouse / Corsair K70 LUX rgb
NZXT Source 530 / i5-7600K / Corsair H100i v2 / ASRock Z270 Extreme4
SM951 M2 256GB / 850 evo 1TB / Seagate 2TB / WD 2TB
2x16GB Vengeance LPX DDR4 3000 / evga Classified GTX 980 ti / Seasonic M12II 850W

Nukem is offline  
Old 12-11-2006, 05:04 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 252
Default

yeah, i think i am going to just replace the cpu. Thanks!
Rawmaterial is offline  
Old 12-12-2006, 12:27 AM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 162
Send a message via AIM to theshonen8899
Default

I don't even think you should bother unless you need dual core that bad.
__________________
Case: Thermaltech Tsunami
CPU: AMD Athlon 64 Processor 2800+
Mobo: DFI LanParty UT nf3 250gb
Memory: 1 gb G.Skill PC3200
HD: 74gb WD Raptor/120gb WD Caviar/500gb WD Caviar
GPU: NVIDIA GeForce 6800 GS/XT
theshonen8899 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:55 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.