Should I upgrade to AMD x2 5000+? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-26-2008, 11:55 AM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 449
Send a message via ICQ to madking153
Default Should I upgrade to AMD x2 5000+?

Hi,

My rig current specs is : AMD x2 3800+, 3GB ram , M2n32 SLI DELUXE and 7600gt xxx edition.

Planning to upgrade so that i can play new games without problem.

I definately will upgrade my graphic to 9800gtx+ . But should I also upgrade my cpu to from 3800+ to 5000+ ? Will it really create big difference?


thanks
__________________

madking153 is offline  
Old 10-26-2008, 01:46 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 187
Default Re: Should I upgrade to AMD x2 5000+?

Go intel
__________________

Michowski is offline  
Old 10-26-2008, 02:03 PM   #3 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Should I upgrade to AMD x2 5000+?

Quote:
Originally Posted by madking153 View Post
Hi,

My rig current specs is : AMD x2 3800+, 3GB ram , M2n32 SLI DELUXE and 7600gt xxx edition.

Planning to upgrade so that i can play new games without problem.

I definately will upgrade my graphic to 9800gtx+ . But should I also upgrade my cpu to from 3800+ to 5000+ ? Will it really create big difference?


thanks
You could try to overclock the X2 3800+ or you could buy the 5000+ or 5400+ Black Edition and OC it to 3.0ghz (which is easy..)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Michowski View Post
Go intel
That will cost him more because he'd have to buy a whole new board
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 10-26-2008, 03:00 PM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,078
Default Re: Should I upgrade to AMD x2 5000+?

My old amd x2 3800+ would do 2.8ghz on lower than stock voltage. I was only limited by the boards fsb limit. If your board and ram can handle high fsb and your cpu is like mine you could probably hit 3ghz on it.
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
"Now I lay my computer down to sleep, I pray the hard drive my files to keep, If I should lose power before I save, I pray the hard drive my backups to take"
The Techies' Bible - Dario 1:1
dario03 is offline  
Old 10-26-2008, 05:11 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
CntdwnToExtn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Parents Basement...Still
Posts: 1,746
Send a message via MSN to CntdwnToExtn
Default Re: Should I upgrade to AMD x2 5000+?

i went from a 4400 to a 5000+BE and saw a lot of improvement.
went from 6000 in 3dmark 06 to over 10K with the same 8800GT
i could run games at much much higher resolution
apps ran faster


best $70 upgrade i've ever done
__________________
[110.7896] Getting up from chair
[112.8798] Walking to fridge
[118.5234] Opening Fridge
[119.1439] CntdwnToExtn panic - no beer: Fridge empty!


CntdwnToExtn is offline  
Old 10-26-2008, 06:39 PM   #6 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: Should I upgrade to AMD x2 5000+?

have you tried overclocking the 3800? like dario says, it likely will clock fairly well. you have the board for it. i'd give that a shot first.
if you can clock it to 2.8-3ghz, then the difference between that and the (probable) max of 3.2-3.3 of the 5000BE will be negligible.
__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 10-26-2008, 07:52 PM   #7 (permalink)
Hellfire!
 
Wildside's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Riverside, CA
Posts: 3,038
Send a message via MSN to Wildside
Default Re: Should I upgrade to AMD x2 5000+?

Quote:
Originally Posted by nagasama View Post
have you tried overclocking the 3800? like dario says, it likely will clock fairly well. you have the board for it. i'd give that a shot first.
if you can clock it to 2.8-3ghz, then the difference between that and the (probable) max of 3.2-3.3 of the 5000BE will be negligible.
IM STILL TRYING TO GET 3.4GHz! I WONT REST UNTIL I DO!!!!!!
__________________
--Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
--AMD Ryzen 1700x @ 3.4GHz w/ MX-4 and Corsair Hydro 100i Liquid Cooler
--Corsair LPX Vengeance Black 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4 3200 DRAM
--EVGA GeForce GTX 960 SuperSC ACX 2.0+ 2GB GDDR5
--ASUS Crosshair IV Hero AM4 X370 Motherboard
--WD BLACK SERIES WD2003FZEX 2TB 7200 RPM 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 3.5" HDD
--SAMSUNG 840 EVO MZ-7TE250BW 2.5" 250GB SATA 6Gb/s SSD
--Corsair Obsidian 750D Black Aluminum / Steel ATX Full Tower Computer Case
--Corsair Professional Series 860-Watt AX860
Wildside is offline  
Old 10-26-2008, 08:40 PM   #8 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
ricanflow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Euless, Tx
Posts: 6,317
Default Re: Should I upgrade to AMD x2 5000+?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wildside View Post
IM STILL TRYING TO GET 3.4GHz! I WONT REST UNTIL I DO!!!!!!
or fry your stuff....lol
__________________
3DMARK06 = 20,341 (3.8GHZ)



Laptop
P7350 | GTX 260M | 4GB DDR2 800 | 320GB HD | X-Fi | Vista 64

Folding Rig/File Server

M775 | E1200 | Foxconn P9657AB
| Dual 8800GT | Antec NeoHE 500 | Barracuda 80GB | Wintec Ampx



ricanflow is offline  
Old 10-26-2008, 09:50 PM   #9 (permalink)
Hellfire!
 
Wildside's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Riverside, CA
Posts: 3,038
Send a message via MSN to Wildside
Default Re: Should I upgrade to AMD x2 5000+?

Quote:
Originally Posted by ricanflow View Post
or fry your stuff....lol
with low temps i get, which is around 32C idle, 38-40C load? I dont think so.

OH!!!!!!!! COUNTER ARGUMENT!!!!! U GOT PWNED!
__________________
--Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
--AMD Ryzen 1700x @ 3.4GHz w/ MX-4 and Corsair Hydro 100i Liquid Cooler
--Corsair LPX Vengeance Black 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4 3200 DRAM
--EVGA GeForce GTX 960 SuperSC ACX 2.0+ 2GB GDDR5
--ASUS Crosshair IV Hero AM4 X370 Motherboard
--WD BLACK SERIES WD2003FZEX 2TB 7200 RPM 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 3.5" HDD
--SAMSUNG 840 EVO MZ-7TE250BW 2.5" 250GB SATA 6Gb/s SSD
--Corsair Obsidian 750D Black Aluminum / Steel ATX Full Tower Computer Case
--Corsair Professional Series 860-Watt AX860
Wildside is offline  
Old 10-26-2008, 09:56 PM   #10 (permalink)
Camera junky
 
Poizen22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: ottawa ontario canada.
Posts: 6,280
Default Re: Should I upgrade to AMD x2 5000+?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wildside View Post
with low temps i get, which is around 32C idle, 38-40C load? I dont think so.

OH!!!!!!!! COUNTER ARGUMENT!!!!! U GOT PWNED!
or you could be liek me with a stabel oc, low temps and yoru mobo randomly dies :P hows that for PWNED?
__________________

__________________

https://www.flickr.com/photos/poizen22/
intel Core I7 8700k@ 5.0ghz-Nvidia GTX1080 ti ftw3-Aorus 5 z370 mobo-16gb ddr4 G-Skill trident Z rgb 3000mhz - 1tb samsung 960 pro, 2tb wd blue- thermaltake rgb 750w gold-Phanteks pro M TG- Samsung CHG70 1440p 144hz 32 inch QLED.
Poizen22 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
The many versions of XP EricB Microsoft Windows and Software 6 10-26-2008 02:54 PM
AMD to make "significant corporate announcement" tomorrow, possibly breaking up Wildside Polls 8 10-11-2008 07:59 PM
AMD 5000 B.E. $99.00 shipped colin Buy/Sell/Trade and Hot Deals 7 01-09-2008 07:49 AM
AMD Phenom & Spider vs Intel QX9770 (What a joke AMD is) Osiris Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 88 12-20-2007 10:40 PM
AMD Triple Core? Osiris Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 4 09-19-2007 07:36 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:37 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.