Should I Upgrade? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-06-2007, 02:08 PM   #1 (permalink)
WWS
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 270
Default Should I Upgrade?

I think that my build (shown below) will be decent for a couple more years, but there are a couple of things I was thinking of doing to make it a little better for when the new long waited games come out. I dont have the money right now for a new build since I just built mine a year ago.

1. Upgrading the GPU to a Nvidia 8800
2. Getting a second set of memory modules to max out at 4GB
3. Upgrading to windows vista

Should I do these upgrades or wait?
__________________

__________________
12 Gb GSkill DDR3 Tripple Channel
2 500 Gb SATA II HD
2 BluRay Burners
2 9800GTX+ in SLI
ASUS Rampage II Extreme
Intel Core i7 920 @3.8 GHz
WWS is offline  
Old 02-06-2007, 02:14 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,992
Default

Go with 1.


2 and 3 are bad ideas.
__________________

__________________



May the wind always be at your back and the sun upon your face, and may the winds of destiny carry you aloft to dance with the stars
Lord AnthraX is offline  
Old 02-06-2007, 02:14 PM   #3 (permalink)
I poop on the rug
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,218
Default

well, what do you do that would need 4 gigs?? do you graphic design or anything like that by any chance.. cuz if not... then don't get 4 gigs

and upgrading to an 8800 is always a nice thing... but since you've already got something great, do yourself a favor and wait for the 8900's or r600
__________________
Current Build:
Intel 8700k | 16GB G.skill Trident Z | Z370 Gigabyte Auros Gaming Extreme |
Asus GTX1080 Strix | Corsair H100i V2 | Corsair 750D | Corsair RM850X
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 02-06-2007, 02:18 PM   #4 (permalink)
WWS
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 270
Default

If I Upgrade to vista, being that it is such a memory hog wouldnt 4 gigs be benificial?
__________________
12 Gb GSkill DDR3 Tripple Channel
2 500 Gb SATA II HD
2 BluRay Burners
2 9800GTX+ in SLI
ASUS Rampage II Extreme
Intel Core i7 920 @3.8 GHz
WWS is offline  
Old 02-06-2007, 10:10 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Phase-Six's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 250
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by WWS
If I Upgrade to vista, being that it is such a memory hog wouldnt 4 gigs be benificial?
That would be nice but Vista isnt too hot I must say so myself if your a gamer.
__________________
Phase-Six is offline  
Old 02-06-2007, 10:12 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 566
Send a message via AIM to reckliss
Default

wait til christmas for vista and the memory then more 2x2gb packages will be out
__________________

__________________
reckliss is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:48 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.