Should I go with AM2? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-30-2006, 11:15 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 43
Default Should I go with AM2?

Hi,

Basically looking to build a new system here. I want to stick with AMD. So I just spent like 5 hours reading on all the new stuff that is made these days and can't find an AM2 motherboard that seems to be ok with me.

I'm not the kind of guy who likes spending a lot of $$$ on motherboards. I'm not an overclocker. Anything below $130 would be just fine.

I can't seem to find a good AM2 board that is working well. Based on user reviews, most Asus seems to overheat too much or not working well, etc... I'm really starting to think that sticking with 939 is a better option for now since they are mature.

What you think? Am I really missing something here building a 939 setup, no DDR2, etc... ?

When I upgrade my CPU, I like em to be good enough for 2 years...

Thanks!
__________________

__________________
Core2 Duo E6300
Asus P5B
2 X 1024 MB Kingston DDR2 800mhz
Asus GeForce 7600GT
fadedstar is offline  
Old 09-30-2006, 11:21 AM   #2 (permalink)
Console Gamer
 
Ronnie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: N. Carolina
Posts: 2,716
Default

i wouldnt go am2 stick 939 just because i have a feeling that there really isnt a future for am2 they say that it will be compatiable with am3 and ddr3 but i dont belive it. a939 systems are still bad *** and a little cheaper and they are pretty much the exact same thing except they dont use ddr2 (which form what ive been reading is only a 5% performance increase you probably wont see) it ****es me off that amd just added another pin to there processors and called it am2 they should of just started aking 939 boards with ddr2 slots
__________________

__________________
Ryzen 7 1700 / Gigabyte AB35
Deepcool Captain 240EX
32GB HyperX DDR4 / Corsair 750watt
Red Devil 480 / Corsair R270
Sandisk 960GB SSD / 2x Seagate 8tb, 2x WD 4TB
Ronnie is offline  
Old 09-30-2006, 11:22 AM   #3 (permalink)
003
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,312
Default

Sticking with AMD for a new build at this point would not be the wise thing to do. Anybody who tells you otherwise is simply, well ... wrong.

If you were looking to upgrade your computer that was already AMD and could not afford to buy a new CPU, RAM and motherboard, that would be a different story. But with a new build it would be a mistake.
__________________
so, umm, err yeah
003 is offline  
Old 09-30-2006, 11:32 AM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: West Babylon, New York
Posts: 2,021
Send a message via AIM to Pepsiboy700 Send a message via MSN to Pepsiboy700
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by fade2black2004
i wouldnt go am2 stick 939 just because i have a feeling that there really isnt a future for am2 they say that it will be compatiable with am3 and ddr3 but i dont belive it. a939 systems are still bad *** and a little cheaper and they are pretty much the exact same thing except they dont use ddr2 (which form what ive been reading is only a 5% performance increase you probably wont see) it ****es me off that amd just added another pin to there processors and called it am2 they should of just started aking 939 boards with ddr2 slots
The last time some one made a statement like that, he told me pci-e would never take off. Yeah right.... The the reason they cant just use ddr2 with 939 is the memory controller and the prices are basically the same between am2 and skt 939.
Pepsiboy700 is offline  
Old 09-30-2006, 11:32 AM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 43
Default

Oh great! Now I must spent another 5 hours reading on Intel products, eh eh.

Ok I don't mind. Core 2 litterature, here I come!
__________________
Core2 Duo E6300
Asus P5B
2 X 1024 MB Kingston DDR2 800mhz
Asus GeForce 7600GT
fadedstar is offline  
Old 09-30-2006, 11:37 AM   #6 (permalink)
003
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,312
Default

It's not that hard, all you need to know is that an overclocked E6300 on stock cooling can beat an FX-62!
__________________
so, umm, err yeah
003 is offline  
Old 09-30-2006, 12:19 PM   #7 (permalink)
G33K P0W3R!!!!
 
bmxfreakrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: HickTown, California (hesperia), and West Hollywood
Posts: 2,068
Default

pssh, maybe it can, but amd is still marginally cheaper than c2d. heres a mobo for ya mobo
chipset fan
__________________

__________________
Listen to my music! and random/funny videos XD
Need a HDTV? Come find me at BestBuy #108 in Victorville XD
:D-----v Just pwnt my cpu, 900mhz OC v-----:D
bmxfreakrider is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:27 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.