Should i get more RAM? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-05-2006, 03:35 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 52
Default Should i get more RAM?

my CPU is D 3.0Ghz 2x2Mb cach with 1 GB of DDR 533 RAM
should i get more?
i do lots of multitask...
__________________

anthegreat is offline  
Old 07-05-2006, 04:08 AM   #2 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,302
Default

More RAM is always a good thing. If you are running your RAM as dual-channel, you should be in good shape. Pop in another gig and away ya go.

"Mem Doubler"? Looks cheesy to me... all it is doing is adjusting your page file. Scrap it and get more RAM. RAM is always faster than your hard drive.

For my memory usage, I use Yahoo Widget Engine's Memory Gauge, set to always be on top. That way I always know exactly how much RAM is in use.
__________________

__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 07-05-2006, 04:10 AM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 52
Default

which one is good?
2X1GB or 4x 512 dual chanel?
anthegreat is offline  
Old 07-05-2006, 05:00 AM   #4 (permalink)
There and Back again
 
Nukem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Chattanooga, TN
Posts: 4,402
Default

2x1GB in dual channel Corsair/OCZ/Geil is always good
__________________



Dell 4K S2817Q / Logitech Z-680 / Func MS3 Mouse / Corsair K70 LUX rgb
NZXT Source 530 / i5-7600K / Corsair H100i v2 / ASRock Z270 Extreme4
SM951 M2 256GB / 850 evo 1TB / Seagate 2TB / WD 2TB
2x16GB Vengeance LPX DDR4 3000 / evga Classified GTX 980 ti / Seasonic M12II 850W

Nukem is offline  
Old 07-05-2006, 11:46 AM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 221
Default

Well, I've got dual-channel 2x128 megs, and I'm....fine.
__________________
2.4 GHz Pentium 4
Harman/Kardon 2.1
256 MB RAM
Dell 1800FP
GeForce FX 5200
CD Burner and CD Reader!
Gerry_W is offline  
Old 07-05-2006, 12:02 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Spartan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 814
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Gerry_W
Well, I've got dual-channel 2x128 megs, and I'm....fine.
Really?? Do you multitask or game a lot??
Spartan is offline  
Old 07-05-2006, 12:05 PM   #7 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,130
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Gerry_W
Well, I've got dual-channel 2x128 megs, and I'm....fine.
uh...........do those exist? oh yeah, they do. seems odd.
john3 is offline  
Old 07-05-2006, 08:09 PM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 221
Default

Agg. I meant 2x128 megs. Ya. It's PC 2700 DDR RAM.
__________________
2.4 GHz Pentium 4
Harman/Kardon 2.1
256 MB RAM
Dell 1800FP
GeForce FX 5200
CD Burner and CD Reader!
Gerry_W is offline  
Old 07-05-2006, 09:33 PM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 221
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Spartan666
Really?? Do you multitask or game a lot??
Multitask? You mean running MS Word and RealPlayer at the same time? Yes.

It's actually not that bad... it's only when I play any game more demanding than Wolfenstein ET on low-res settings.

Major virtual memory. Good thing I've got one of those newfangled 7200 RPM HD's. :bald:
Gerry_W is offline  
Old 07-05-2006, 09:50 PM   #10 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,279
Default

Quote:
Well, I've got dual-channel 2x128 megs, and I'm....fine.
I really feel sorry for you.
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:15 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.