Should I add more??? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-10-2008, 12:55 PM   #11 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Maine
Posts: 443
Send a message via AIM to Ventriac
Default Re: Should I add more???

Quote:
Originally Posted by shan1784 View Post
Not sure I follow...
Didn't you break 1/2 pieces of ram by applying too much pressure on it?
__________________

Ventriac is offline  
Old 08-10-2008, 12:59 PM   #12 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Logan, WV
Posts: 2,503
Send a message via AIM to wafflehammer
Default Re: Should I add more???

Quote:
Originally Posted by shan1784 View Post
Not sure I follow...
Quote:
while putting pressure on the heatsink it broke loose and took all but 1 of the memory chips with it.
i think that's what he means
__________________

__________________

Core i7 920 @ 3.0Ghz
GIGABYTE GA-EX58-UD5
6gb G.Skill 1600mhz/9-9-9-24
Corsair 750XT
EVGA GTX 260---216core
WD 640gb
14590 3dmarks @ stock
wafflehammer is offline  
Old 08-10-2008, 01:44 PM   #13 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
gurusan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,562
Send a message via MSN to gurusan
Default Re: Should I add more???

i mean pop the ram in the slots by pressing on the modules themselves rather than the heatsink.

Also you shouldn't need to press very much, you just pop them in a little bit then use the snaps on the side to lock it down.
__________________
|| 2500K @ 5GHz 1 thread, 4.8 2 threads, 4.6 3, 4.5 4 1.284V ||
|| P8P67-M Pro || 8GB @ 2133MHz ||
|| 5850 @ 1000/1225 || XFX 650W || Silverstone FT03B ||
|| 37" LCD TV || CM Hyper 212+ || Samsung 2.1 Soundbar ||
gurusan is offline  
Old 08-10-2008, 05:33 PM   #14 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 806
Default Re: Should I add more???

8 gigs is really quite pointless. I have 3 gigs operating in dual channel and I never crash and can handle anything. Adding ram doesn't really improve speed, just how much your computer can handle. And unless you are running 40 programs at once, I don't think you'll need more than 4.
Thresh25 is offline  
Old 08-10-2008, 07:25 PM   #15 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
shan1784's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Michigan
Posts: 396
Default Re: Should I add more???

Quote:
Originally Posted by gurusan View Post
i mean pop the ram in the slots by pressing on the modules themselves rather than the heatsink.

Also you shouldn't need to press very much, you just pop them in a little bit then use the snaps on the side to lock it down.
Oh, ok... Yeah, I don't really know what happened... I've put memory in a ton of times and this is the first time I've had that happen...
__________________
Rosewill Thor V2 Full Tower - i5 3570K Stock W/ CORSAIR Hydro Series H60
G.SKILL Ripjaws Series 8GB (2 x 4GB) DDR3 1600
Asus Sabertooth Z77 Mother Board - GTX 680 FTW+ w/Backplate 4GB
SAMSUNG 840 Pro 128GB SSD - Seagate Barracuda 1TB HDD
Asus DVDRW 24x - CORSAIR Professional Series Gold AX850 PSU
Samsung P2770FH ToC Rose Black 27" Monitor - Logitech G15 Keyboard
MX518 Mouse - Logitech x540 5.1 Speakers
Turtle Beach HPA2 5.1 Surround Sound Headset - Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit
shan1784 is offline  
Old 08-11-2008, 03:11 PM   #16 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
shan1784's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Michigan
Posts: 396
Default Re: Should I add more???

I've decided to send the memory back to newegg for a full refund... $90 back on my account which is always good...

Thanks everyone for your advice...
__________________

__________________
Rosewill Thor V2 Full Tower - i5 3570K Stock W/ CORSAIR Hydro Series H60
G.SKILL Ripjaws Series 8GB (2 x 4GB) DDR3 1600
Asus Sabertooth Z77 Mother Board - GTX 680 FTW+ w/Backplate 4GB
SAMSUNG 840 Pro 128GB SSD - Seagate Barracuda 1TB HDD
Asus DVDRW 24x - CORSAIR Professional Series Gold AX850 PSU
Samsung P2770FH ToC Rose Black 27" Monitor - Logitech G15 Keyboard
MX518 Mouse - Logitech x540 5.1 Speakers
Turtle Beach HPA2 5.1 Surround Sound Headset - Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit
shan1784 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
how do you add an external tracker for torrents? EricB Microsoft Windows and Software 16 06-27-2008 10:02 AM
how to add url in swf files ? linux1880 Web Graphics and Design 0 03-14-2008 07:49 PM
Add or Remove Programs: doesn't work! White_Wolf Microsoft Windows and Software 9 02-12-2008 11:35 AM
IE without add ons barbp Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 1 10-23-2007 05:38 PM
upgrade and add case fans funkywaggnelz Overclocking and Modding 10 10-14-2007 11:39 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:49 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.