should i??? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-07-2007, 09:12 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 152
Default should i???

okay.i've called my local pc store and they suggest to me that i should stop upgrading my low-end pc.they told me to top $700++ and get a new mobo and processor out.they told me the mobo comes with PCI-E and also mentioned something on SLI or something.din really get it.the processor was a AMD 64 FX dual-core.nv use a amd system b4 so would like to ask for some guildiance.how is the fx dual core different from the core2duo?or the fx dualcore is the same as the first batch of dualcore from intel?pls help,thanks...does it lose to core2 duo alot too??
__________________

__________________
CPU: C2D E8400 @3.8Ghz
MEM: 4x2Gb TeamElite @844Mhz 5-5-5-15
GPU: Sapphire 6950 2 Gb Dirt 3 flashed to 6970
HDD:Western Digital 2x500Gb
PSU: Corsair AX750 Gold
CPUCooling: Noctua NH-U12P
Casing: RaidMax Case
galant_mod is offline  
Old 03-07-2007, 09:38 AM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 152
Default

and also what is the difference between a AMD Athlon™ 64 X2 Dual-Core and a AMD Athlon™ 64 FX Processor??
__________________

__________________
CPU: C2D E8400 @3.8Ghz
MEM: 4x2Gb TeamElite @844Mhz 5-5-5-15
GPU: Sapphire 6950 2 Gb Dirt 3 flashed to 6970
HDD:Western Digital 2x500Gb
PSU: Corsair AX750 Gold
CPUCooling: Noctua NH-U12P
Casing: RaidMax Case
galant_mod is offline  
Old 03-07-2007, 10:02 AM   #3 (permalink)
Patron
 
saltynay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: West Coast, Singapore
Posts: 5,149
Default

well in dual core terms amd is bad atm these are the rates:

single core: intel<amd
dual core:Intel>amd
quad core:Intel (amd are going to release theres soon and they are going to be incredible apparently and this is where amd will make up for losing the dual core market

do you overclock???

Matt
__________________
saltynay is offline  
Old 03-07-2007, 10:06 AM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 152
Default

yea.i intend to overclock.but how in a way does it lose to core2?but amd is more on the gaming am i right?
__________________
CPU: C2D E8400 @3.8Ghz
MEM: 4x2Gb TeamElite @844Mhz 5-5-5-15
GPU: Sapphire 6950 2 Gb Dirt 3 flashed to 6970
HDD:Western Digital 2x500Gb
PSU: Corsair AX750 Gold
CPUCooling: Noctua NH-U12P
Casing: RaidMax Case
galant_mod is offline  
Old 03-07-2007, 10:13 AM   #5 (permalink)
Patron
 
saltynay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: West Coast, Singapore
Posts: 5,149
Default

well amd plan to be now that they have bought ati there plans are too make one chip which integrates both hardcore graphics and cpu.

Core2duo's are faster easier too over clock and use less power look at

http://tomshardware.co.uk/cpu/charts.html

and you will see which has the better performance.

This is my recommended build for your budget im in the uk though so im not completely confident about the prices on newegg.com

mobo: abit AW9D-max
Cpu: E6600 (e6420 if you can wait till may-april)
Ram: (2x1gb) g-skills hz (its the black ones lol)

any other parts you want??
__________________
saltynay is offline  
Old 03-07-2007, 10:20 AM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 152
Default

everything will be doubled as sings currency is much smaller.i've just saw the charts and realised that for gaming and few apps,amd seems to have the upper hand.think amd is just the budget for me.unless the price of intel drop.
__________________
CPU: C2D E8400 @3.8Ghz
MEM: 4x2Gb TeamElite @844Mhz 5-5-5-15
GPU: Sapphire 6950 2 Gb Dirt 3 flashed to 6970
HDD:Western Digital 2x500Gb
PSU: Corsair AX750 Gold
CPUCooling: Noctua NH-U12P
Casing: RaidMax Case
galant_mod is offline  
Old 03-07-2007, 10:40 AM   #7 (permalink)
Patron
 
saltynay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: West Coast, Singapore
Posts: 5,149
Default

sorry i didnt see you were Singaporean i just assumed by the dollars u were American. My step-dad lives in Singapore I went out there for 7 weeks last summer although I am a beach bum so i travelled to malaysia and indonesia to do water sports then actually stay with him lol.

Atm core 2 duo is the way too go ask anyone on here even the amd fan boys core 2 duo when over clocked is the best price/performance available. and the mobo i suggested is very stable and supposedly the best for over clocking if i had waited one week on my build lol I would definately have bought that board
__________________
saltynay is offline  
Old 03-07-2007, 10:47 AM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 152
Default

ic.cool...i'll try asking my techie guy if they could actually swap the fx for a core2.that would solve the prob.for the mobo,i'll ask him to change one for a 775.if all exceeds my budget then i guess i'll have to stick with amd
__________________
CPU: C2D E8400 @3.8Ghz
MEM: 4x2Gb TeamElite @844Mhz 5-5-5-15
GPU: Sapphire 6950 2 Gb Dirt 3 flashed to 6970
HDD:Western Digital 2x500Gb
PSU: Corsair AX750 Gold
CPUCooling: Noctua NH-U12P
Casing: RaidMax Case
galant_mod is offline  
Old 03-07-2007, 11:15 AM   #9 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: uk
Posts: 2,417
Default

if you can afford an FX series AMD chip, then you can afford something like a core2 duo E6600!
jonny_uk is offline  
Old 03-07-2007, 11:50 AM   #10 (permalink)
Renowned Budgeting Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Uniontown, PA
Posts: 4,153
Send a message via AIM to Sora
Default

Exactly...they FX chips are more expensive than an E6600 anyway.
__________________

__________________
E6300 w/ Arctic Freezer Pro 7 @ 3.6ghz 1.4Vcore
Antec 900 Case
EVGA 750i FTW Mobo
4x1GB of G.skill DDR2-800
2 8800GT in SLI
22" Samsung Syncmaster
1 250GB WD and 1 Seagate 7200.10 in RAID 0
Corsair 520HX 3DMark06 Score: 13900
Sora is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:10 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.