Shipment Ordered. What now? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-23-2006, 08:33 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 162
Lightbulb Shipment Ordered. What now?

Okay, im not new to computers and im not a veteran. Im pretty darn sure of what to do but help me clear it up. I've ordered new parts (Case, Mobo, Proc, Ram) but will be putting them on my existing HDD. DO i just need to do a Windows repair? or do ineed to delete drivers and reload them?
(I'm going from single core intel to Dual Core AMD) Help
__________________

EndofSanity is offline  
Old 03-23-2006, 08:40 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: N/A
Posts: 1,486
Default

I would just back up anything important on the hard drive, and do a fresh install.
__________________

Vybuni is offline  
Old 03-23-2006, 08:46 PM   #3 (permalink)

Triforcer
 
Baez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 6,987
Default

ya re-formatting everything would make it run nice and clean again
__________________


Baez is offline  
Old 03-23-2006, 08:52 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 686
Default

If you change your mobo and cpu and stuff like that, then you have to repair windows. But just do a fresh install.
__________________
slick_tech15 is offline  
Old 03-23-2006, 09:29 PM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware
Posts: 3,475
Default

If you are running 2000 or XP, you'll have to repair. ME and below won't require it.
turtile is offline  
Old 03-23-2006, 09:40 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Ridlyn's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,920
Default

I recommend just backing up all important data then reformatting the it.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sylus View Post
Could have been worse, you could have been raped by a clown.
Ridlyn is offline  
Old 03-24-2006, 12:44 AM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 162
Default

I would just back up anything important on the hard drive, and do a fresh install.


Okay thx
EndofSanity is offline  
Old 03-24-2006, 02:14 AM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
alexsabree's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 1,845
Default

how do u back up... and what do u back it up on...
could u give me precise instructions
__________________

alexsabree is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:43 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.