Shannon's Next Build - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-19-2006, 09:29 PM   #21 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default Re: Shannon's Next Build

Quote:
Originally posted by Shannon
I've been keeping and modifying a newegg wishlist for my next build for months, and I finally ordered components last night

My little cousin who will be 14 in January is coming to visit next week and I promised to help him build his first computer, but he couldn't get up enough money, so I'm still building mine while he's here so he can see the process.

I will post my progress on the build with pictures

For now, here is what I am getting


http://www.newegg.com/product/produc...82E16811156184

ABIT KN9 Socket AM2 NVIDIA nForce4 Ultra ATX AMD Motherboard
http://www.newegg.com/product/produc...82E16813127010

AMD Athlon 64 X2 5200+ Windsor 2.6GHz 2 x 1MB L2 Cache Socket AM2 Processor
http://www.newegg.com/product/produc...82E16819103759

G.SKILL 1GB 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) System Memory
http://www.newegg.com/product/produc...82E16820231085

ARCTIC COOLING Freezer 64 Pro
http://www.newegg.com/product/produc...82E16835185125

Maxtor MaXLine Pro 500 7H500F0 500GB 7200 RPM 16MB Cache SATA 3.0Gb/s Hard Drive
http://www.newegg.com/product/produc...82E16822144016

Koutech IO-FPM521 Multifunction Front Panel Card Reader with USB2.0/1394a/Audio/Video Ports
http://www.newegg.com/product/produc...82E16811998010

I am using my current video card and DVD-RW and my other hard drives.

Last night I checked the prices and saw that the 5200+ was only $287, actually lower than the 5000+ that I had selected. So I decided to order right away, because the last time the 5000+ was at a price I liked, it went up and I hadn't ordered it. Also, the 500gb hard drive was there for only $149 AND I found a coupon code for $20 off of that, so how could I resist? I've been wanting to replace some of my older drives anyway.

I love the color of that case. I'm totally over windows anyway. Sometimes you just want to put up nice curtains and close them, you know? And I think it will look nice next to my pink Supergirl box.

I even ordered rounded cables and new thermal grease and everything.
pretty good build. though I would have got a Seagate or Western Digital. I don't really like Maxtor.
the WD 500GB drives are $169.99
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16822136014
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 12-19-2006, 09:41 PM   #22 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 300
Send a message via AIM to Shannon Send a message via Yahoo to Shannon
Default

thanks

I got the maxtor because it was on sale. I wasn't actually planning on getting another hard drive but I just couldn't resist the 500gb for $130. I prefer Seagate or WD too, but I've never actually had any trouble with Maxtor drives
__________________

Shannon is offline  
Old 12-19-2006, 10:19 PM   #23 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default

that looks like a great build.
i like that mobo, wink wink. just so you know, if you plan on setting the latency or command rate for your ram you have to flash the bioson that kn9...but you probably already knew that.
so, good luck!
__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 12-19-2006, 10:26 PM   #24 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 869
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by baronvongogo
Think I`ll start using a female pick for my avatar seems to get more polite responses .
Wooooooooooord.
__________________
TriEclipse is offline  
Old 12-19-2006, 10:33 PM   #25 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by nagasama
that looks like a great build.
i like that mobo, wink wink. just so you know, if you plan on setting the latency or command rate for your ram you have to flash the bioson that kn9...but you probably already knew that.
so, good luck!
umm, why the winks?
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 12-19-2006, 11:56 PM   #26 (permalink)
Future ex-member
 
lancec2c30's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Chehalis, WA
Posts: 4,012
Send a message via MSN to lancec2c30
Default

Maybe cause he has the same one??
__________________

XP Pro | Vista Home Premium | Linux Ubuntu 7.10
s939 X2 3800 Toledo @ 2.6ghz | evga 7900gs | 320gig + 80gig wd | 1gb Ram | Abit KN8 SLI
3.1ghz achieved. :cool:
70K F@H member..............still waiting for the "iRACK"

Norcent will not be forgotten.

lancec2c30 is offline  
Old 12-20-2006, 12:03 AM   #27 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Jorsoft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Oakdale, MN
Posts: 4,581
Default

Damm that's a nice build Shannon. I'm putting together a new Core2Duo system right now-got a great deal on the cpu/mobo.
__________________
Jorsoft is offline  
Old 12-20-2006, 12:10 AM   #28 (permalink)
Future ex-member
 
lancec2c30's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Chehalis, WA
Posts: 4,012
Send a message via MSN to lancec2c30
Default

Yep, I am rolling with the old 3500 venice. lol Man when I edit video does it put it to shame. I payed $250 for that thing about 11 months ago, Now it is like $78 or somethin. lol just shows how fast computers change.
__________________

XP Pro | Vista Home Premium | Linux Ubuntu 7.10
s939 X2 3800 Toledo @ 2.6ghz | evga 7900gs | 320gig + 80gig wd | 1gb Ram | Abit KN8 SLI
3.1ghz achieved. :cool:
70K F@H member..............still waiting for the "iRACK"

Norcent will not be forgotten.

lancec2c30 is offline  
Old 12-20-2006, 12:47 AM   #29 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Pinscher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 1,541
Default

that build looks great except; are you using that x700pro? dont you want to get a new gpu for upcoming and current games? I don't have a personal experience with that card but isn't it getting a little old?
__________________
Pinscher is offline  
Old 12-20-2006, 08:10 AM   #30 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: uk
Posts: 2,417
Default

case looks very girly, so i guess its spot on then!
__________________

jonny_uk is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:25 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.