Shall I get a new cpu? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-05-2008, 02:26 PM   #11 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 466
Default Re: Shall I get a new cpu?

what mobo do you have?
__________________

__________________


Thermaltake Armor
680i LT
q6600 (g0 revision)
736 mb EVGA 8800 GTX
2 gb crucial tracers
500 gb seagate 7200.11
TRUE 120
PC Power & Cooling 610
and a run of the mill DVD drive
heister is offline  
Old 03-05-2008, 02:58 PM   #12 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 11
Default Re: Shall I get a new cpu?

The mobo I have is an ASUS P5N32-E SLI Plus
__________________

Lockers is offline  
Old 03-05-2008, 03:11 PM   #13 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 466
Default Re: Shall I get a new cpu?

you have insane overclocking control with that board.. save some money and over clock buy your gf or wife something nice.. if you dont have some get p*rn... LOL
__________________


Thermaltake Armor
680i LT
q6600 (g0 revision)
736 mb EVGA 8800 GTX
2 gb crucial tracers
500 gb seagate 7200.11
TRUE 120
PC Power & Cooling 610
and a run of the mill DVD drive
heister is offline  
Old 03-05-2008, 03:47 PM   #14 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
NightSurge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Fort Wayne, IN
Posts: 2,217
Send a message via AIM to NightSurge
Default Re: Shall I get a new cpu?

Oh wow.. anyways. What is so bad with the nTune program? I used it on my dual-core laptop and it squeezed out an extra .3GHz so now my AMD Turion 64 X2 at 1.8GHz runs at 2.07GHz. It also sped up my RAM from 667 to 900-something and just overall sped up my laptop. Hasn't had any stability issues either. Mind you, it is not a gaming laptop by any means as it has the crappy 6150 GO integrated graphics chip.
__________________

If I was helpful, please click the icon on the left hand side of this message that looks like a check mark Thanks!

NightSurge is offline  
Old 03-05-2008, 04:07 PM   #15 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default Re: Shall I get a new cpu?

Through CMOS Setup is more reliable plus voltage adjusments are more accurate.
Ste is offline  
Old 03-05-2008, 04:17 PM   #16 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Texas
Posts: 1,164
Send a message via AIM to ThirdLeft152
Default Re: Shall I get a new cpu?

i agree with ste and heister. stick with the q6600 and just learn how to OC.

i bet you'll be completely unsatisfied with spending an extra $800 (assuming you sell your q6600 for ~$200) and getting the performance jump from q6600 -> q9650. save the money and buy yourself something else, or spend it on your girl.
__________________

My gaming rig:
ASUS P6T | i7-920 D0 @ 4.0GHZ - 1.25v w/ H50
GTX 460/768MB (750/1500/2000) | 12GB Corsair DDR3-1600 @ (8-8-8-24)
2 x PS-100 32GB SSD Raid 0 | 4 x WD 750GB Raid 5 | Corsair 620HX
Asus 21.6" LCD (1080p) | LG 32" TV (1080p)
Logitech G15 | Logitech MX518 | Logitech MX1100 | Razer Mamba
Heatware | http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=59417
ThirdLeft152 is offline  
Old 03-05-2008, 04:34 PM   #17 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Tech-Forums
Posts: 305
Send a message via AIM to csaefong
Default Re: Shall I get a new cpu?

if u got the cash do it!!!
__________________
MOBO: Asus P5E x38
CPU: Q6600 g0 OC to 3.2ghz stable
Video Card: Visiontek 4870
Ram: G.Skill 2x2GB Kit PC6400 800mhz
HDD: Segate Barracuda 500GB
PSU: PC Power&Cooling 610Watt
Case: CM 690 Case
Monitor: Samsung 22in 2MS and Asus 22in 2MS
Heatsink:Tuniq Tower Heatsink
OS: Windows Vista Home Premium 64bit


csaefong is offline  
Old 03-05-2008, 04:47 PM   #18 (permalink)
True Techie
 
almightyobo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 241
Default Re: Shall I get a new cpu?

Too many better alternatives for that amount of cash, just OC that baby and buy something else thats pretty

CPU is the ONLY thing you can upg? Cant add more cooling or get a better gfx card or anything? Monitor? Bigger TV?
__________________

MB - DFI LP DK P35-T2RS
CPU - Q6600 @ 3.0 atm
HSF - Lapped TRUE + Scythe
RAM - 2x 1G Ballisitx Tracers
GPU - EVGA 9800 GTX
HD - 500G Barracuda + 320G Ext
PSU - PC P&C Silencer 610
OS - Windows XP 32-bit SP2 OEM
Case - Gigabyte 3D Aurora 570
Monitor - Hanns-G 19" Widescreen LCD
Headset - Sennheiser PC151
3DMark06 - 14186 (3.0 / stock gpu)

You must try some of my purple berries...
almightyobo is offline  
Old 03-05-2008, 04:56 PM   #19 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
solidsteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 600
Default Re: Shall I get a new cpu?

(looks up)

why dont you bank the cash for now and plan you pc

you could get a nice HDTV along with a nice monster of a graphics card to go with the HDTV, or if you insist on getting a cpu the intel Q9550 would be better then spending 4x the amount on the QX extreme chips
__________________

__________________


My new pc spec's ~

Case ~ nexus caterpilla
Mobo ~ Gigabyte GA~P35~DS3R Rev 2.0
CPU ~ Intel Q6600
HDD ~ 2 x 500gb western digital drives
Ram ~ 4GB worth (4 strips) of OCZ 2GB PC2-6400 Platinum Rev 2.0
PSU ~ Corsair 750TX
GPU ~ GTX 295

OS - Windows 7 Home 64-bit
solidsteve is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What is a 1:1 overclock? aetherh4cker Overclocking and Modding 22 01-17-2008 04:02 PM
Cpu And Ram questions(and Advise for new my comp) DragenFear System Upgrades 20 01-06-2008 07:19 PM
Overclocked 3.2ghz Pentium D processor by 15% EliteScouter Overclocking and Modding 1 12-19-2007 11:52 PM
Please explain what a CPU Clock Speed is fcui21 System Upgrades 3 10-03-2007 06:36 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:44 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.