SFF cases - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-11-2007, 04:52 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 16
Send a message via AIM to cplEverett
Default SFF cases

What do you guys think about small form factor cases. In particular this one here:
http://www.thermaltakeusa.com/produc.../vf1000bwa.asp

I would put a micro ATX ASUS P5B-VM in it. But my real question though is the site for the case says it supports ATX PS2 power supplies. WTF is an ATX PS2? Could I just stick a Corsair 620W in it?
__________________

cplEverett is offline  
Old 03-11-2007, 05:53 PM   #2 (permalink)
Renowned Budgeting Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Uniontown, PA
Posts: 4,153
Send a message via AIM to Sora
Default

if your running a high power system in no way do you want a small factor case like that becuase of the things you CANT fit in it and the bad airflow.
__________________

__________________
E6300 w/ Arctic Freezer Pro 7 @ 3.6ghz 1.4Vcore
Antec 900 Case
EVGA 750i FTW Mobo
4x1GB of G.skill DDR2-800
2 8800GT in SLI
22" Samsung Syncmaster
1 250GB WD and 1 Seagate 7200.10 in RAID 0
Corsair 520HX 3DMark06 Score: 13900
Sora is offline  
Old 03-11-2007, 06:32 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 16
Send a message via AIM to cplEverett
Default

Ive read some reviews on that case and the only downside on the airflow is not being able to use an aftermarket cpu cooler. Im seriously considering giving it a shot when I get back. My only real concern is the psu not fitting inside it.
cplEverett is offline  
Old 03-11-2007, 10:00 PM   #4 (permalink)
G33K P0W3R!!!!
 
bmxfreakrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: HickTown, California (hesperia), and West Hollywood
Posts: 2,068
Default

atx ps2 should fit in it, just make sure that you have clearance from ur cpu heatsink.
__________________
Listen to my music! and random/funny videos XD
Need a HDTV? Come find me at BestBuy #108 in Victorville XD
:D-----v Just pwnt my cpu, 900mhz OC v-----:D
bmxfreakrider is offline  
Old 03-11-2007, 10:34 PM   #5 (permalink)
Console Gamer
 
Ronnie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: N. Carolina
Posts: 2,716
Default

my best friend just ordered that and ti comes in tomorow
ill post more info after i see it more
__________________
Ryzen 7 1700 / Gigabyte AB35
Deepcool Captain 240EX
32GB HyperX DDR4 / Corsair 750watt
Red Devil 480 / Corsair R270
Sandisk 960GB SSD / 2x Seagate 8tb, 2x WD 4TB
Ronnie is offline  
Old 03-11-2007, 10:39 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 16
Send a message via AIM to cplEverett
Default

let me know how it goes fade, im really itching to give that case a shot
__________________

cplEverett is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:37 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.