Several things on my new rig that seem to bother me - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-15-2009, 02:54 AM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 555
Default Several things on my new rig that seem to bother me

Ok first off this is not a "tweak my rig" thread, I want stock settings - not overclock or anything- FIRST.


Ok let me explain all of this. I got this i7 rig a while ago and it's been.. problematic and full of things I never thought up until it arrived... so hopefully when this is done I will better understand this whole system, and perhaps help someone in the long run.


Installation:

The install went smoothly, it was stock set up so pretty much just "plug it in" and turn it on. 1 foul up was I am not used to a power switch on the back of the PSU- so I thought something went incredibly wrong with nothing happened... until I went to pull the cord out and felt the little switch and went "duh! I bet the PSU power is off!"

Things I never thought of at the time- SATA port usage, air flow restrictions, noise levels.

This was my first setup that included SATA, and since it seemed "the way of the future" I went and made sure even my DVD drive was SATA. I don't know if it matters - but does the arrangement of the HDD/DVD in the SATA ports affect any kind of performance? Like should ports 1/2 be for HDD's and 3/4 optical, or 1/3, 2/4, etc..... Not sure if it really matters, but it bothers me that I don't have a clear answer on the matter.

Count this as question 1. (so you can put answers like "1. no")

Air flow. My case is a "standard mid tower" type - it's fairly old - and does NOT have front Audio ports (to give a little insight on how old) so with all this new stuff in - it's fairly crowded and has poor air flow management, I will be getting a HAF 932 case, so it will be better, with much better cable management support. There are no questions about this topic, just informative.

Noise Levels. Another thing I didn't really care to look into - although my Stock fan on the CPU seems silent enough (I don't notice it) the only sound I hear is from the old GPU - which appears to be going out. Make sure you get high quality fans (larger at lower RPM) for silent systems. (Again no questions, just informative)


Now that it is together, the DVD drive seems.... very much lacking in performance. I am fairly sure this is my exact model : Newegg.com - SAMSUNG Black 22X DVD+R 8X DVD+RW 16X DVD+R DL 22X DVD-R 6X DVD-RW 12X DVD-RAM 16X DVD-ROM 48X CD-R 32X CD-RW 48X CD-ROM 2MB Cache SATA 22X DVD Burner - CD / DVD Burners

When I put a game in, say , Fallout 3, I can hear it spin a bit(after about.. 10 seconds)- but the AutoLuancher doesn't seem to come up for a bit longer, if ever. (I just did this to time and check and.... 30 seconds after closing the drive or so - it finally launches) This seems .. extremely slow for a "SATA" drive with the specifics it listed....

Questions 2, 3, and 4:
Is this drive lacking in performance compared to other DVD burners?
Could it be my Windows Settings affecting the DVD speeds? (Windows 7 64bit, standard)
What can we do, or check, to see if it's my drive, it's settings, setup or other for problems?


Now I can't really go into too much Game Performance or anything, since my old GPU is bottle necking my whole system down, but if I have performance problems (compared to what I expect... or maybe my expectations are too high?) with my 4890 @ stock - then I will add on to this.


What I want to do is get things working..as I feel they "should" be, just stock speeds, or in case of RAM- the advertised 1600 speed and timings. My signature will have most of the details you need.

If any further details are needed, please just ask - like "what harddrive do you have" or what not, I will add it (oh and it will be added to my sig shortly :P)
__________________

__________________
*UPDATED*
Windows 7 64bit
CPU: Intel Core i7 920 @ 2.67Ghz (Stock)
GPU: GTX 760
Ram: OCZ Platinum 6GB DDR3 1600 Triple Channel (Stock)
Mobo: ASUS P6T Deluxe
PSU: Corsair TX750W
HDD: Seagate Barracuda 7200.11 1TB 7200 RPM 32MB Cache (ST31000333AS)
Cooler Master HAF 932
Gothch1ck is offline  
Old 05-15-2009, 05:19 AM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
kobe24's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 1,508
Send a message via MSN to kobe24
Default Re: Several things on my new rig that seem to bother me

what exactly are you asking? make it easy to understand. (2) your dvd drive is going to make noise no matter what thats how they are. (3)when you burn things you can change the burn speed. (4) i dont think you can change the read speed, its just reads the disk at a set speed.
__________________

__________________
3D MARK 06 ***14,063*** on vista, use to get it
p4 2.8ghz
Asus p4SD-LA
6800gs ultra
1.5gb ddr400 oem
120gb hdd

The Techies' Bible
kobe24 is offline  
Old 05-16-2009, 04:53 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 555
Default Re: Several things on my new rig that seem to bother me

well on the motherboard there are like 6 SATA connectors grouped in 2's I was just wondering if it mattered if I put an optical drive (DVD) with a Harddrive into one of those groups, if it mattered on speeds and what not, or if I should space them out.
__________________
*UPDATED*
Windows 7 64bit
CPU: Intel Core i7 920 @ 2.67Ghz (Stock)
GPU: GTX 760
Ram: OCZ Platinum 6GB DDR3 1600 Triple Channel (Stock)
Mobo: ASUS P6T Deluxe
PSU: Corsair TX750W
HDD: Seagate Barracuda 7200.11 1TB 7200 RPM 32MB Cache (ST31000333AS)
Cooler Master HAF 932
Gothch1ck is offline  
Old 05-16-2009, 06:43 PM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Logan, WV
Posts: 2,503
Send a message via AIM to wafflehammer
Default Re: Several things on my new rig that seem to bother me

no the arrangement doesn't matter...but i think some boards have certain spots for your hard drives if you're going to raid them
__________________

Core i7 920 @ 3.0Ghz
GIGABYTE GA-EX58-UD5
6gb G.Skill 1600mhz/9-9-9-24
Corsair 750XT
EVGA GTX 260---216core
WD 640gb
14590 3dmarks @ stock
wafflehammer is offline  
Old 05-16-2009, 06:53 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
MrCoffee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 1,858
Default Re: Several things on my new rig that seem to bother me

Yeah, if you have groupings or colours of SATA ports its probably because they are on different controller chips and as wafflehammer says one set of ports may support RAID. SATA is not like the old ATA though where you had masters and slaves and putting optical drives on the same ribbon would slow down your HDD... the SATA ports are each an independant channel and they all have the same performance.
__________________
Intel core I7 920
GA-EX58-UD3R
6GB OCZ platinum 1600
XFX HD4890
Noctua nh-u12p
Corsair HX520
Antec 300
Samsung 1TB F1 Spinpoint
Samsung SM2443BW 24"
MrCoffee is offline  
Old 05-16-2009, 08:17 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 555
Default Re: Several things on my new rig that seem to bother me

Do you think most of my problems are because my GPU bottlenecks performance so badly?

With only a single harddrive - how should I set up partitions and such for OS/Games? (1TB size)
Would you recommend buying another hard drive of similar speeds for just the OS?
Perhaps you would recommend a RAID setting for best performance/game play ? (I am new to RAID)


All these things might seem simple to you guys.. but yea.. recently something broke in my brain and nothing is trusted anymore.. what little knowledge I have I don't trust the "source" now of, and am Trying to salvage the best I can out of this i7 computer, it NEEDS to last 5+ Years with little modification. (Possibly some OCing, possibly another GPU or more RAM- but nothing HUGE to change)

I have decided that all Media Data will be held on an old Laptop Harddrive using a converter to make it an external (already up and running well.) [[I would like to know if there is a program suggested for testing HDD integrity because if this drive fails - I will lose YEARS of work.]]
__________________
*UPDATED*
Windows 7 64bit
CPU: Intel Core i7 920 @ 2.67Ghz (Stock)
GPU: GTX 760
Ram: OCZ Platinum 6GB DDR3 1600 Triple Channel (Stock)
Mobo: ASUS P6T Deluxe
PSU: Corsair TX750W
HDD: Seagate Barracuda 7200.11 1TB 7200 RPM 32MB Cache (ST31000333AS)
Cooler Master HAF 932
Gothch1ck is offline  
Old 05-17-2009, 03:21 AM   #7 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Drizzt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Somewhere inbetween FL and NY
Posts: 3,187
Send a message via AIM to Drizzt
Default Re: Several things on my new rig that seem to bother me

I don't know of any program like that. I'm sure there is one. I know of programs that test speed...

My suggestions is spend the money and back it up again if it is that important.

I have your harddrive (well.... the 500gb of it) and I have 2 of them in raid 0. If you get the same experience as me you will only notice how fast load times are once in a while.... I only notice it in Empire Earth, and COH.... I'm always the first one done.

You can make that rig last a long time methinks...
(I don't think you will like it in 5 years though.... well... maybe if we all go back to terminals)
But your sig says it all
That GPU is poop... How much can you spend? At the very least pickup a $30-50 gpu around here on the forums/somewhere else... I can probably find you a deal on a 4850 for sub $80 on another forum if not here.
Drizzt is offline  
Old 05-17-2009, 08:16 AM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 555
Default Re: Several things on my new rig that seem to bother me

This coming Thur - Radeon 4890 will be purchased. Possibly WITH new case as well... hehe.
__________________
*UPDATED*
Windows 7 64bit
CPU: Intel Core i7 920 @ 2.67Ghz (Stock)
GPU: GTX 760
Ram: OCZ Platinum 6GB DDR3 1600 Triple Channel (Stock)
Mobo: ASUS P6T Deluxe
PSU: Corsair TX750W
HDD: Seagate Barracuda 7200.11 1TB 7200 RPM 32MB Cache (ST31000333AS)
Cooler Master HAF 932
Gothch1ck is offline  
Old 05-17-2009, 07:20 PM   #9 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Drizzt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Somewhere inbetween FL and NY
Posts: 3,187
Send a message via AIM to Drizzt
Default Re: Several things on my new rig that seem to bother me

Oh shiz, your going to have one nice rig!

You should invest in some more hdd's though since that work sounds important
Drizzt is offline  
Old 05-17-2009, 07:41 PM   #10 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,506
Default Re: Several things on my new rig that seem to bother me

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gothch1ck View Post

I have decided that all Media Data will be held on an old Laptop Harddrive using a converter to make it an external (already up and running well.) [[I would like to know if there is a program suggested for testing HDD integrity because if this drive fails - I will lose YEARS of work.]]
For within windows...
Depending on what drive brand you have, SeaGate has SeaTools, not sure what WD has. HDD Life, Hard Drive Inspector, HDTune (gives reports from SMART data), SpeedFan has a SMART data analyzer as well.

For bootable... The best you can use is SpinRite. It stresses the drive and checks each byte (depending on which level of checking you use). Well worth the money. I've used it to make previously unbootable systems bootable again.
__________________

__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
3 Grand I7 Rig par1084 New Systems | Building and Buying 15 02-08-2009 03:44 PM
WMA files won't play in WMP11 on new vista rig DBD Microsoft Windows and Software 11 01-20-2009 03:01 AM
Building a new rig Sonofjohn New Systems | Building and Buying 12 01-19-2009 01:09 AM
Quad GPU motherboard recommendations for folding rig jfenwick New Systems | Building and Buying 9 01-18-2009 08:28 PM
I'm back and need your help on a new rig. BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL System Upgrades 17 12-15-2008 02:06 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:26 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.