Settle this for me - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
View Poll Results: Volume Level
Low-Med 9 40.91%
Med-Hi 12 54.55%
Highest the Volume goes! 1 4.55%
Voters: 22. You may not vote on this poll

Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-26-2006, 07:03 PM   #11 (permalink)
Monster Techie
idiotec's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,748

Originally posted by P.P. Mguire
You dont need a SLId 7900GTX machine to max out Oblivion. Thats just rediculous.


BE HEARD - Techonvent
DS3 | E6400 - 3.2GHz 24/7 | 2GB OCZ PLat. PC6400 | 6800GT | Zippy 460W
What the world needs is more geniuses with humility, there are so few of us left.
idiotec is offline  
Old 04-26-2006, 08:13 PM   #12 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 286

Originally posted by idiotec
I'm far too lazy to actually read all of that, but I agree that sounds pretty ridiculous

As for the rest of this: they don't call value parts value parts for nothing. They are generally the best price to performance ratio.

Are there better parts out there? yeah.
Can you just wing it with cheaper parts and probly never notice a difference? yeah
Is it worth the money? only if you're rich.

If some other guy wants to spend his inheritance on a computer I'd just get the $1000 pc and then go out and get laid more, you're still one uping him.

bum is offline  
Old 04-26-2006, 08:16 PM   #13 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
bonehelm's Avatar
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 612

in some areas, even crossfired X1900XTX's with FX-60 and 2 GB ultra low latency OCZ ram will drop down to 30-40 fps if you set it on high res and high quality.

i think u need quad sli to play it at 16x12 everything maxed.
PC Specs:

Intel Core 2 Duo E6420 Conroe 2.13ghz
Gigabyte P35-S3 Motherboard
A-DATA 2x1GB DDR2 800mhz memory
Geforce 8600GT 256MB GDDR3 PCI-Express
bonehelm is offline  
Old 04-26-2006, 08:50 PM   #14 (permalink)
Monster Techie
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,946
Send a message via AIM to Static_11 Send a message via Yahoo to Static_11

its easy to beat the renegade... and 1000 dollar comp wont play EVERYTHING on the market, but darn close to it
Static_11 is offline  
Old 04-26-2006, 08:55 PM   #15 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
boomstick666's Avatar
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 743

Originally posted by P.P. Mguire

You dont need a SLId 7900GTX machine to max out Oblivion. Thats just rediculous.
yes you do. unless 15 FPS is enough for you. thats what i get when the graphix is at max w/ 7800GTX512 in outside w/ all the grass. Oblivion is rediculous. but everquest 2 is way more demanding than oblivion....none of the comp can max the settings out on that game... (max setting's minimum GPU requirement is 512MB, 1G recommended.) its made for the comp at least 5 years ahead.
i5 2500K @ 4.8GHz 1.384v - AsRock P67 Extreme4 B3 BIOS 1.90
G.Skill Ripjaws X DDR3 PC12800 2x4GB @ 1866 9-10-9-28 1T 1.590v
EVGA GTX 570HD SC 930/1950 1.100v
Crucial M4 SSD 128GB - OCZ 700W PSU (4x18A) - Noctua NH-D14 (BM120mm x Noctua140mm)
Corsair 600T SE White - Windows 7 Ultimate 64Bit SP1 - Mitsubishi DiamondPro2070sb (CRT!)

3DMark11 P7089 | 3DMark Vantage P26383
boomstick666 is offline  
Old 04-26-2006, 09:14 PM   #16 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 536

i dont understand how the dell renegade is a POS. i mean other than all that pre-installed crap they put on thier comps im sure any of u would take that computer. please give me PROOF(benchmarks) that the dell renegade is a so called "POS". stop being so ignorant and biased, people. i mean i wouldnt buy a dell,(just because i can make a comp for less and perform better) but if i didnt build i would definetly take a look at their website.


actually i would look at alienware first, lol.
-C2Q Q6700 @ 3.4ghz(cooled by PetraTech's Elite Water Cooling Kit)
-DFI Lanparty DK P35-T2RS
-4*1024 sticks of G.Skill Ram 4-4-4-12
-eVGA 8800GTX 630/2000
-80 gig 7200rpm SATA HDD
-320 gig 7200rpm SATA HDD
-Sony DVD/CD burner
-NZXT Tempest
-Antec True Power 550 watt PSU

-2.4Ghz Penryn
-250GB HDD
will h4x 4 food is offline  
Old 04-26-2006, 09:38 PM   #17 (permalink)
Monster Techie
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,946
Send a message via AIM to Static_11 Send a message via Yahoo to Static_11

ok first: for free i owuld take the comp yes, but not for the retail price

2) it sucks because IT IS WAY OVERPRICED!!! you can build a comp that outperforms that for alot less

3) ITS POINTLESS!!! 4 top of the line video cards? ummmm yeah right

Static_11 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:45 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.