setting up a server.. some noobie questions.. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-25-2007, 12:56 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 235
Default setting up a server.. some noobie questions..

while i consider myself quite an expert in building regular PC's, i've never tried setting up an actual server before..

im about to get and setup the following:
http://www.ititem.co.th/products/HW/.../ibm-x206m.php

i pretty much know most of the way, except for the RAID setup and HotSwap stuffs..

what we wanted to achieve was to setup a server with at least 2 hard drives, where the second hard drive is an exact copy of the main harddrive (RAID 0?), and that the 2nd hard drive can be removed/inserted anytime without shutting down the server (hotswap?)..

this is how i understood this server could do. so. am i right?

also.. what's the difference between hot swap and simple swap?


Would really appreciate a quick tip or two.

thanks
__________________

clever_j is offline  
Old 01-25-2007, 09:47 AM   #2 (permalink)
WOOOOOOOO
 
bobojuice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Miami
Posts: 818
Send a message via AIM to bobojuice Send a message via Yahoo to bobojuice
Default

Raid 1 is what you need for Mirrored mode.

Simple swap, i've never heard of and im thinking it might be some proprietary IBM thing. Probably the same as HotSwap. HotSwap basically just means you can plug and unplug the hard drive while the machine is running. Usually this is accomplished by using SCSI drives. I think eSata might also be HotSwappable. I used to work at a place that made Raid 1 controllers, and they had a few units that allowed you to hotswap drives, both sata and pata.
__________________

__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent
It would be bad if you had a divorse over something stupid like batteries.
LETS DANCE!!!
bobojuice is offline  
Old 01-25-2007, 08:35 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 235
Default

umm.. arent regular sata drives hotswapble? i thought that was one of their best features?
clever_j is offline  
Old 01-25-2007, 10:08 PM   #4 (permalink)
WOOOOOOOO
 
bobojuice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Miami
Posts: 818
Send a message via AIM to bobojuice Send a message via Yahoo to bobojuice
Default

Regular sata drives are NOT hot swappable. Serial attatched SCSI aka SAS, i believe is, as is eSata. The only reason we were able to have hotswappable drives at my last job is because we used the raid controller as an interface that supported hot swapping. If you try to swap a regular sata device, youre gonna come into some real problems with power, not to mention the operating system wont be able to pick up the data after its been added.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent
It would be bad if you had a divorse over something stupid like batteries.
LETS DANCE!!!
bobojuice is offline  
Old 01-26-2007, 05:55 AM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 235
Default

i see, good brain food thanks
clever_j is offline  
Old 02-01-2007, 09:38 AM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 235
Default

anyone?
__________________

clever_j is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:21 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.