setting up raid - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-13-2009, 05:46 PM   #11 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Atlanta, Georgia
Posts: 302
Default Re: setting up raid

Quote:
Originally Posted by saltynay View Post
Dark strike RAID10 and RAID0+1 are different things . In RAID0+1 a single drive fail will cause it to becomes a raid0 array until rebuilt with a new working drive.

You also get raid50 (otherwise known as raid0+3) come on people do your research!!!
I never mentions Raid 0+1??? I mentioned Raid 1+0, and was just saying that IT people don't usually use the term "Raid ten" usually use the term "Raid one plus zero." Yes, both are almost the same but reversed.
__________________

__________________
Current Gaming Rig Running Windows 7 Ultimate
Q9450 @ 3.0GHz 1.200v // Gigabyte EP45T-UD3P // 3GB Kingston 1800Mhz DDR3 9-8-8-24-2T //
Thermaltake Toughpower 850W // 2 Raptor X's in RAID 0 // Antec Twelve Hundred Case
GTX 275 // Xigamatek Rifle 120mm // Creative XtremeGamer X-Fi
dark strike1 is offline  
Old 01-13-2009, 05:48 PM   #12 (permalink)
Patron
 
saltynay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: West Coast, Singapore
Posts: 5,149
Default Re: setting up raid

I am no It professional but I am an experienced techy and fiddled with quite a few arrays in my time through independent research. If they laugh at you slap them
Not the most reliable site but a nice short rundown of the differences
Nested RAID levels - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

ps I appologise I skim read
__________________

__________________
saltynay is offline  
Old 01-13-2009, 05:52 PM   #13 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Atlanta, Georgia
Posts: 302
Default Re: setting up raid

Its cool lol.

But I would do Raid 5, more HDD space, and same read speed as Raid 1+0.

If you wanted to do Raid 1+0, you could, but the performance increase in games and software wouldn't jump at all. The only thing you would notice is installation and download writing will be faster.
__________________
Current Gaming Rig Running Windows 7 Ultimate
Q9450 @ 3.0GHz 1.200v // Gigabyte EP45T-UD3P // 3GB Kingston 1800Mhz DDR3 9-8-8-24-2T //
Thermaltake Toughpower 850W // 2 Raptor X's in RAID 0 // Antec Twelve Hundred Case
GTX 275 // Xigamatek Rifle 120mm // Creative XtremeGamer X-Fi
dark strike1 is offline  
Old 01-13-2009, 05:53 PM   #14 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 64
Default Re: setting up raid

and its not like i said raid ten how do u know that i dont mean raid one zero when i write raid 10

but srsly lets say i download a lot would raid 10 be better or raid 5 and where would raid 01 fit if i had something that would do it
insanepsycho is offline  
Old 01-13-2009, 05:54 PM   #15 (permalink)
Seg Fault'n
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: The dried husk where America came from
Posts: 5,801
Default Re: setting up raid

Quote:
Originally Posted by saltynay View Post
Dark strike RAID10 and RAID0+1 are different things . In RAID0+1 a single drive fail will cause it to becomes a raid0 array until rebuilt with a new working drive.

You also get raid50 (otherwise known as raid0+3) come on people do your research!!!
I believe it is sometimes called 53 not 50

EDIT: wow I'm slow at typing insanepsycho: your controller will probably only support either RAID 10 or RAID 01 not both. If you download a lot RAID 5 would be better because it has better storage efficiency than 10.
__________________


There are in order of increasing severity: lies, darn lies, statistics, and computer benchmarks. - diskinfo man page
"Get your money and let's go to court!" - Craig Mudie, MS
kmote is offline  
Old 01-13-2009, 06:06 PM   #16 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 64
Default Re: setting up raid

ok so i should def go with raid 5 then... but please someone there has to be a way that i can not lose data and have to go thru and reinstall everything
insanepsycho is offline  
Old 01-13-2009, 06:14 PM   #17 (permalink)
Seg Fault'n
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: The dried husk where America came from
Posts: 5,801
Default Re: setting up raid

RAID 5 you won't have to because you can set up the three disks in the RAID and have your seperate boot drive, I would recommend that.
__________________


There are in order of increasing severity: lies, darn lies, statistics, and computer benchmarks. - diskinfo man page
"Get your money and let's go to court!" - Craig Mudie, MS
kmote is offline  
Old 01-13-2009, 06:41 PM   #18 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 64
Default Re: setting up raid

u bring up a good point if i did that id only need three disks and a boot drive
would i be able to image my boot drive over to the raid 5 disks and then add another disk to the array(aka the original boot disk)?
nvm i dont think that would work
insanepsycho is offline  
Old 01-13-2009, 06:47 PM   #19 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 64
Default Re: setting up raid

can anyone link me an article with the exacte performance dif between raid 5 and raid 10
insanepsycho is offline  
Old 01-13-2009, 06:51 PM   #20 (permalink)
Patron
 
saltynay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: West Coast, Singapore
Posts: 5,149
Default Re: setting up raid

here you go
__________________

__________________
saltynay is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Need help with setting up a RAID array TerraformScott New Systems | Building and Buying 2 11-04-2008 04:45 PM
Setting up Raid 0 on windows xp home edition blue4paper Microsoft Windows and Software 9 04-14-2008 09:41 PM
Help with Setting up RAID O with EVGA 680i tallguy22 Overclocking and Modding 3 11-05-2007 07:57 PM
Pre-RAID Guide veg1992 New Systems | Building and Buying 13 07-20-2007 11:26 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:42 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.