"server" CPU... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-04-2006, 11:55 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 146
Default "server" CPU...

I've heard many times that the Intel Xeon is a "server" CPU... what exactly does that mean (besides the obvious "it's made to run servers")? Does a "server" CPU (like a Xeon) handle info differently than a "gaming" or "general use" CPU (like the core 2 duo)?... If so, how? If you are using a computer with a "server" CPU (like a mac pro) but not using it as a server, are there other types of programs that work better with this kind of CPU than with a "gaming" CPU?... Why?
__________________

moisiss is offline  
Old 10-04-2006, 11:58 AM   #2 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default

server cpu's may lack certain instruction sets, or have other instruction sets that regular processor don't... also, they tend to hvae a higher heat threshold, seeing as they're meant to be on all the time
__________________

__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 10-04-2006, 12:18 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 146
Default

What is an Instruction set? What does it do?
moisiss is offline  
Old 10-04-2006, 12:22 PM   #4 (permalink)
bum
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 286
Default

Xeon's really aren't good for general use from what I hear. Amd opterons however are a different story (i have one).So if you are thinking about using a server cpu amd is the way to go there hands down.
__________________
Opteron 175 + Scythe Infinity
Asus A8N32-SLI
2 gigs corsair XMS DDR 400
XFX geforce 6800 XT
X-navigator case
30G Maxtor + 250G Maxtor

"Let's face it, we're not changing the world. We're building a product that helps people buy more crap - and watch porn." -- Seagate CEO Bill Watkins
bum is offline  
Old 10-04-2006, 12:30 PM   #5 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default

instruction sets i guess is how the processor goes about processing things.. such as 3dnow! SSE 1, 2 and 3 and all that other stuff... what they actually do to affect performance, i can't really say, i havent looked into that

ya.. and i'll agree, opterons are very nice server processors, i also had a 146, and it took a daily beating of oc's up to 2.8 ghz... and it took it like a champ
__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 10-04-2006, 12:50 PM   #6 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 5,191
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by bum
Xeon's really aren't good for general use from what I hear.
You must have heard wrong.
The General is offline  
Old 10-04-2006, 02:16 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
UA_Iron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 857
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by The General
You must have heard wrong.
Two 2.66GHz Dual-Core Intel Xeon "Woodcrest" processors

4MB shared L2 cache per processor

1.33GHz dual independent frontside buses

1GB memory (667MHz DDR2 fully-buffered DIMM ECC)

NVIDIA GeForce 7300 GT graphics with 256MB memory

250GB Serial ATA 3Gb/s 7200-rpm hard drive1

16x double-layer SuperDrive (DVD+R DL/DVD±RW/CD-RW)

$2,499.00



wow, what a bargain!!
UA_Iron is offline  
Old 10-04-2006, 02:26 PM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 146
Default

Any further info (preferably as unbiased and as specific as possible) General about Xeons for general use? I have a tendency to take any marketing materials with a LARGE grain of salt (I mean they are, after all, trying to SELL you something so they are going to put it in the best light possible). You know, why would Apple choose to put Xeons in their top of the line desktops? Why not go with Core 2 Duo? Do you think it is just because you can get more total cores with Xeons (I am under the impression that you can't use multiple Core 2 Duo's on one motherboard... feel free to correct me if I'm wrong)? I don't think that the majority of people who would buy a Mac Pro would be looking for the ultimate gaming rig... so that probably wasn't an issue for them... but do Xeons work better for stuff like video editing, audio production, ect. (more professional uses)? If so, how?
moisiss is offline  
Old 10-04-2006, 02:29 PM   #9 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 5,191
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by UA_Iron
wow, what a bargain!!
Yep. Just the processors alone is like $1500 on newegg. The RAM would be another $200, motherboard like $550, plus $100 harddrive, $30 DVD, $80 video card and $350 case (yes, it's that nice) all that and you can use whatever operating system you want, add up to 16GB of RAM, 4 harddrives, 4 PCI-E 16x slots, etc.

Sounds like a bargain to me. Not to mention the price at the edu-store:

The General is offline  
Old 10-04-2006, 02:34 PM   #10 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 5,191
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by moisiss
but do Xeons work better for stuff like video editing, audio production, ect. (more professional uses)? If so, how?
Yes, that is what Mac Pros are for. Apple doesn't just "try to sell you" a Mac like this, these are meant for professional use. The things they DO "just try to sell you" is Macbooks and Mac Minis, maybe even the low end iMacs.

Look up some benchmarks, like these (for the impatient, page 11 starts here) and read them and you'll see how powerful they are. These Xeons are based on the Core 2 architecture, and I am pretty sure the reason they use Xeons is because of the dual-processor thing, but you aren't losing power ... Xeons are more powerful that Core 2 Duos...
__________________

The General is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:06 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.