Server building help - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-24-2014, 07:49 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: england
Posts: 16
Default Server building help

Hi my boss was getting rid of a load of old computers and he said i could have them if i wanted and i would very much like to make my self a server out of one was just wondering how to do it
i have a few dell optiplex 320s a hp pro and a couple other random ones
i have basic knowledge of building computers
can i use old hardrives or do i have to use sata as they are faster
its going to be used for storing important stuff on it that me and my house mate need, also running a minecraft server of it so me and my friends can connect without one of us having to be logged in
in advance, thanks for your help
__________________

RyJaMu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2014, 07:59 AM   #2 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,283
Default Re: Server building help

The Opitplex is rather old and is SFF if Google serves me right. Not much of a server you can make out of that.

If you're storing important stuff, best to use new drives.
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2014, 08:08 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: england
Posts: 16
Default Re: Server building help

what about the hp pro with athlon II in it
RyJaMu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2014, 09:15 AM   #4 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,283
Default Re: Server building help

What model Athlon II? If it's an X4 it should work ok for Minecraft.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2014, 09:24 AM   #5 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,507
Default Re: Server building help

I had a 3.0GHz P4 with HT in it running quite a few serverside applications, including Minecraft. MC was fine as long as there about 5 people on it, and no more lol.

All the other server-related functionality ran fine on it: webserver, fileserver, database, code repository, FTP, and even Plex was alright until I played a 1080p movie on it - had to buffer every half hour or so for about 30 seconds.

Mostly depends what you all want to do with it - and how many people are planning on connecting to your MC server at one time.
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2014, 09:36 AM   #6 (permalink)
 
iFargle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: United States
Posts: 4,024
Default Re: Server building help

Yeah the Plex transcoding kills it. My AMD A10-5800K or whatever it is sometimes hits ~65% CPU usage when transcoding a 1080p video.

As for the MC server.. I ran one on a Core 2 Duo.. forgot the model number. 8400 I think? It was a stock 3 Ghz C2D. Ran it on there for a while... the performance was alright for two to three players who stayed close
iFargle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2014, 09:41 AM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: england
Posts: 16
Default Re: Server building help

it would probably be 2 or 3 of us for a while but eventually more, i have only found 2 core 2 duo proccesors and they are in mine and my house mates gaming computers, the only others i have got is athlon 11 pentium and celeron, if i was to make a server out of what i have just for minecraft would that work? and just keep the other stuff on the computers and usbs, i have an antac with asus inside would that do anything
yeah as you can tell i dfont have a good knowledge on computers but slowly learning
RyJaMu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2014, 10:36 AM   #8 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,283
Default Re: Server building help

Quote:
Originally Posted by iFargle View Post
Yeah the Plex transcoding kills it. My AMD A10-5800K or whatever it is sometimes hits ~65% CPU usage when transcoding a 1080p video.

As for the MC server.. I ran one on a Core 2 Duo.. forgot the model number. 8400 I think? It was a stock 3 Ghz C2D. Ran it on there for a while... the performance was alright for two to three players who stayed close
Except a Celeron D is greatly weaker than a C2D. We're talking worse than Pentium D here.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2014, 10:53 AM   #9 (permalink)
 
iFargle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: United States
Posts: 4,024
Default Re: Server building help

^ I was comparing it to the Athlon II
iFargle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2014, 11:28 AM   #10 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,283
Default Re: Server building help

I think the Athlon would be perfectly fine if it is an X3 or X4.
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Database server..need to build a new server and migrate the data with minimum downtime. Help! Alexi102000 Viruses, Spyware and Malware 2 07-17-2013 10:46 PM
Setting up a file server on server 2008 through vmware HELP! y2adre Servers and Virtualization 4 10-31-2012 02:26 PM
Help building small server nickt System Upgrades 7 05-30-2010 08:30 AM
Looking for help, Building a server based mobo PC. fakebird New Systems | Building and Buying 37 12-04-2009 09:17 AM
The Windows Server System: Featuring Windows Server 2003 and Exchange Server 2003 Osiris Tips, Tricks & Tutorials 0 05-11-2006 08:32 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:54 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.