Serial ATA - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-03-2006, 03:17 AM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Posts: 905
Default Serial ATA

What is 'Serial ATA'?

Someone told me that it was just another name for SATA, but I don't know. I'm about to order my new hard drive, but I don't know if this Western Digital 320GB Serial ATA drive is compatible with my DFI Lanparty UT-D nF4 motherboard.

Can someone clear this up?
__________________

cyrax is offline  
Old 04-03-2006, 03:19 AM   #2 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

Ż\_(ツ)_/Ż
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default

Serial ATA = SATA. It's what the 'S' stands for.
__________________

__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 04-03-2006, 03:24 AM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Posts: 905
Default

Ah ok then, I have seen the light.

Thanks, Trotter.
cyrax is offline  
Old 04-03-2006, 03:29 AM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Posts: 905
Default

Argh, wait. I've got another problem with this hard drive. It says that it's a 7,200rpm 8mb buffer drive. Is a 16mb buffer better? If it is, I can't find a drive that is a 16mb buffer but is SATA. Only SATA2 ones have 16mb buffers, and I don't think my motherboard supports SATA2.
cyrax is offline  
Old 04-03-2006, 07:26 AM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,946
Send a message via AIM to Static_11 Send a message via Yahoo to Static_11
Default

Read the stickies:
Section 7, read it
http://www.techist.com/showthread.php?threadid=77323
Static_11 is offline  
Old 04-03-2006, 07:28 AM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,172
Send a message via AIM to Win2kpatcher
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by cyrax
Argh, wait. I've got another problem with this hard drive. It says that it's a 7,200rpm 8mb buffer drive. Is a 16mb buffer better? If it is, I can't find a drive that is a 16mb buffer but is SATA. Only SATA2 ones have 16mb buffers, and I don't think my motherboard supports SATA2.
SATA2 aka SATA 3.0Gb/s is backward compatible with SATA150. I just installed 2 SATA 3.0Gb/s on my motherboard that only had 2 SATA150 ports and they worked fine. Just you have to set a jumper on the back of the hard drive to operate as SATA150 which the jumper is clearly marked on the top label.
Win2kpatcher is offline  
Old 04-03-2006, 05:48 PM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 202
Default

Here are WD's 16mb buffer SATA's

http://www.westerndigital.com/en/pro...sp?DriveID=133

Also the 150GB Raptor is 16mb buffer SATA
bryan64 is offline  
Old 04-03-2006, 05:53 PM   #8 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,130
Default

isnt 16mb buffer for IDE HDDs?
john3 is offline  
Old 04-03-2006, 06:43 PM   #9 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3,339
Default

SATA has em too aparently.
__________________
<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"> <input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value=\"Search TF before you post!\"></form>
Vista Discussion | 64 Bit Discussion |Microsoft Homepage | Yo Linux | Paul Thurrott | Fire Fox | Thunder Bird | Image Shack | Photo Bucket | Put File | Anti-Spyware | MS Anti-Spyware | Trillian | Anti-Virus | On Line Virus Scan
Tyler1989 is offline  
Old 04-03-2006, 06:47 PM   #10 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,130
Default

oh............huh.....i always that the SATAs didnt go past like 9mb.
__________________

john3 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:45 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.