seprate hard disk for os? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-06-2005, 04:35 PM   #11 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

im saying that you should install your OS on the raptor, sense its faster. and use the 300GB one for just your regular files, data, and stuff. and you can install important games and files on the raptor.

EDIT: why buy a 200 dollar hdd with only 74GB of space, and if you buy 4 of them thats 800 dollars, but you will just end up with 74GB of space, cause when you raid 0 them you can only use the size of the smaller hdd, so i thinjk its a waste of money..and you really wont see a performance difference with raid drives. so i think you should just buy one raptor for OS and important files and games, and a bigger one for your other files
__________________

__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 09-06-2005, 04:39 PM   #12 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 9
Default

Raid really is not necessary for what you want. Raptor for O/S, 300gig partitioned for all else, saves money in the long run and you dont have to fart around
__________________

Durinthiam is offline  
Old 09-06-2005, 04:41 PM   #13 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

THANK YOU DURINTHIAM for backing me up, lets try to knock some common sense into this guy. WHY ARE YOU SPENDING 800 DOLLARS ON HARD DRIVES. THAT YOU ONLY HAVE 74GB OF SPACE! if you had 800DOLLARS you can buy the 15,000rpm harddrives for that much money which would be way faster
__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 09-06-2005, 04:51 PM   #14 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 9
Default

Meh i get customers who ask for RAID all the time when they dont need it at all, if I was a cut-throat pirate of the tech industry I would say, hell yes give me all the money but I just dont. If you dont need, dont get it
Durinthiam is offline  
Old 09-06-2005, 04:54 PM   #15 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 6
Default

correct me if i'm wrong, but 4 74 gig disks in raid 0 would make 296 gigs wouldn't it? as for price, thats not a concern, because i have sources. using the equipment i told you about, what is the best cofiguration? there will be NO files on this computer. OS and GAMES that is it.
bigo93bronco is offline  
Old 09-06-2005, 04:56 PM   #16 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

uh hello do you know how to raid 0 LOL! you dont even know how to raid 0 and your saying you want to raid 0. LOL

ok if you have 2 hdds, lets say two raptors, and you raid 0 them together

that will only make 74GB geez, dont you know what raid 0 is

http://www.acnc.com/raid.html just go to google.com and type in raid 0 there should be some more websites will help you explain
__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 09-06-2005, 04:58 PM   #17 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

http://www.pcguide.com/ref/hdd/perf/...eLevel0-c.html

Array Capacity: (Size of Smallest Drive * Number of Drives).

Recommended Uses: Non-critical data (or data that changes infrequently and is backed up regularly) requiring high speed, particularly write speed, and low cost of implementation. Audio and video streaming and editing; web servers; graphic design; high-end gaming or hobbyist systems; temporary or "scratch" disks on larger machines.

and dont forget, if one harddrive goes bad, you lose all your data
__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 09-06-2005, 05:16 PM   #18 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 769
Default

i thought the idea of RAID is that if one hard drive went you were safe, i thought that was the whole point.
__________________
Sprooty is offline  
Old 09-06-2005, 05:34 PM   #19 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 135
Default

I agree with bigo93bronco, RAID 0 means that the computer splits up the amount of information it has to write into how many hard drives are in RAID 0. In this case, the computer would split up the info into 4 equal parts and wire them onto the sepeartae hard rives at the same (which saves space and time).

Unfortunately, in RAID 0, if one hard drive fails you lose all data. It's only in RAID 1 where the computer mirrors the information from hard drive to the other at the same time. This way, if one fails, you have an exact copy of the same hard drive.

Quote:
Originally posted by PZEROFGH
Array Capacity: (Size of Smallest Drive * Number of Drives).
You kinda just cancelled out what you were arguing about! You get the smallest hard drive in terms of capacity, and multiply it by the amount of hard drives and you have a total capacity. In this case:

4 hard drives, all at 74Gb in capacity which means:

4 x 74 = 296Gb

That is one hell of an expensive set up, and if you can afford it, why not go for it?? I would if I had the money! I mean nearly 300Gb running at 10,000rpm! Wow
__________________
<center>Athlon 64 X2 Dual Core 4200+ 512KB l Gigabyte GA-K8N-XP Sli Motherboard l XFX GeForce 7800 GTX 256Mb (450/1250) l OCZ 2Gb (2 x 1Gb) Dual Channel Platinum Series DDR400 l Maxtor Diamondmax 250Gb SATA 7200rpm 16Mb Cache l Enermax 600W Noisetaker l NEC ND-3540A Black Dual Layer DVD+/-RW l Sony 3.5\" FDD l Black Coolermaster Aerogate 2 Fan Controller l Extreme Gaming Spider Case l Viewsonic VX924 19\" TFT 4ms Response Time l Logitek MX518 l Saitek Eclipse l Windows XP Professional Service Pack 2</center>
the deceived is offline  
Old 09-06-2005, 06:22 PM   #20 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 6
Default

thanks man looks like you haven't been decieved after all LOL.

i have access to the raptors for not much money, so as i was trying to explain, i'm trying to use that advantage to the very best that i can.

my real question was is it better for performance to install games on a hard drive other than the one your OS is on.

What about 2 raptors on one raid controller for OS, and 2 raptors (4 later on) for games on the other raid controller?
__________________

bigo93bronco is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:43 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.