Selected my parts, what do you think? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-02-2006, 03:04 AM   #11 (permalink)
Super Techie
Chazzer3's Avatar
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: North West, UK
Posts: 449
Send a message via AIM to Chazzer3

sounds like it will be awesome, good choice with the monitor, I have a dell e196fp, they're awesome.

Corsair is good too, I use 2gb of Corsaid XMS now, (twinX), and its really sound, great memory!

Charlie -

Chazzer3 is offline  
Old 09-02-2006, 07:44 AM   #12 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 559

Yes, and most s939 mobos only support DDR400, but if you put DDR500 in there, it will run just fine. But then you start overclocking, and the RAM doesn't get overclocked until you reach a 250FSB.

You can still get DDR800, even if the mobo supports DDR667. The RAM just won't run full speed until you overclock the CPU.

AMD64 X2 4400+
DFI Lanparty Ultra-D
2GB Kingston Hyper-X (2-3-2-6)
TT Big Typhoon
eVGA 7900GT KO Superclocked (650/1650)
250GB Maxtor DiamondMax SATA2 HDD
Hiper Type-R 580W SLi PSU
19" Sony Trinitron CRT
magouster is offline  
Old 09-02-2006, 09:38 AM   #13 (permalink)
Junior Techie
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 63

ok, thx

and back to one other question:
are lite-on SATA combo drives generally bad? i found one that gets 5/5 star reviews(only 3 people though...), or should i stick with an LG IDE combo drive?
jasonhtml is offline  
Old 09-02-2006, 10:51 AM   #14 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 419
Send a message via AIM to Dr DMoney

well, the thing is the x1900xtx has a 15% better 3dmark than the 7900. It is the best graphics on the market. Also sli sucks. Compaed to crossfire is just blows.
The start of my signature...
Dr DMoney is offline  
Old 09-02-2006, 08:22 PM   #15 (permalink)
Junior Techie
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 63

well, i did look into SLI more, and it does not seem to improve performance much... what does everyone else think about SLI?

and if i was getting SLI, do you have to use 2 of the same card? cause i was thinking of using the 7800gt as master and my current 6600gt as slave.
jasonhtml is offline  
Old 09-04-2006, 04:16 PM   #16 (permalink)
Junior Techie
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 63


btw, i found out the answer to one of my questions about using 2 of the same card. u do have to apparently(thats what they said in a pc magazine i was reading)

but im still wondering if SLI is worth it? cause i can get a motherboard that has other better features than the best SLI mobo that i can find. if im not going with SLI, i might as well get a better mobo. so, what do u guys think about SLI?

if im not getting SLI, i was thinking about getting this card: GIGABYTE GV-3D1-7950-RH Geforce 7950GX2 1GB (512MB x2) 512-bit (256-bit x2) GDDR3 PCI Express x16 Dual GPU Video Card what do u think?
jasonhtml is offline  
Old 09-15-2006, 05:22 PM   #17 (permalink)
Junior Techie
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 63

come on guys... there has been 100 views since i last posted...
jasonhtml is offline  
Old 09-15-2006, 06:45 PM   #18 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 419

inst 7900gt cheaper then 7800gtx and same perfomance. and sli and crossfire both suck. they want u to pay 200% of the price for 120%-150% of performance **** that.

Why not conroe they kicking amd butt right now. and AM2 arent futureproff no socket from either company is.
efd753 is offline  
Old 09-15-2006, 06:56 PM   #19 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
UA_Iron's Avatar
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 857

That RAM is ridiculously overpriced

I have 2x1gb of Patriot DDR2 800 and it smokes - bought it a little over a month ago and paid 209.99 for its up to 300+

Here's a solid set of OCZ 2gb:
UA_Iron is offline  
Old 09-15-2006, 11:52 PM   #20 (permalink)
Monster Techie
j12's Avatar
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 1,133

get a antec truepower 550.
and yes i will also recommend the core 2 duo e6600.
if you can afford it go for 2 7900gt's in sli.
and maybe try for 2gb's of ram.


MacBook 2.2GHz Santa Rosa | 120GB HDD | 4GB ram
Intel C2D E6300 @ 3.2GHz | 4GB ram | 880GB total HDD space | Gigabyte P965-DS3 | eVGA 8800GTS 640mb | Corsair HX 520 | Audigy 2 ZS platnium | Antec 900
j12 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:26 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.