Seagate ST3750330AS 750GB - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-22-2007, 11:14 AM   #1 (permalink)
-Deactivated-
 
Oreo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: England
Posts: 5,723
Send a message via MSN to Oreo
Default Seagate ST3750330AS 750GB

Does anybody know wether this hard drive is very good ? Seagate ST3750330AS 750GB Hard Drive SATAII 7200rpm *32MB Cache* - OEM - Ebuyer

Im just getting fed up with my 200GB drive because i run out of space daily, deleting stuff each day.

I herd that bigger capacity drives use more power aswell, ive got a Hiper Typ-m 550W along with one optical drive, my 200Gb hd and E6850 and 8800GTS with 2gigs of ram. It will have enough power won't it ?

Will the 32mb of cache give me any noticeable performance boost ?

Any other, better hard drives please tell me.

Cheers.
__________________

__________________
-Deactivated-
Oreo is offline  
Old 12-22-2007, 11:26 AM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: uk
Posts: 2,417
Default Re: Seagate ST3750330AS 750GB

KMAN Seagate drives are the best hard drives out there, end of.

Will the 32mb of cache give a noticable boost? i dont know but it certainly cant hurt can it? end of day £130 isnt bad for a 750GB hdd and lets face it you wont need to buy another hdd after you got that one.

I wouldnt worry about power usuage either, i cant imagine it being THAT much more than a 200-300GB drive
__________________

jonny_uk is offline  
Old 12-22-2007, 11:40 AM   #3 (permalink)
-Deactivated-
 
Oreo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: England
Posts: 5,723
Send a message via MSN to Oreo
Default Re: Seagate ST3750330AS 750GB

Thanks jonny. Any ideas of the available disk space after it's been formatted with windows xp ?

Also, i don't need to set up anything because it will be my 2nd hard drive, i just plug it in and install stuff on the correct directory for that hard drive ?

i.e. instead of C: install it on D: ?
__________________
-Deactivated-
Oreo is offline  
Old 12-22-2007, 11:47 AM   #4 (permalink)
I don't overclock
 
Fat.Clown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: offline
Posts: 3,326
Default Re: Seagate ST3750330AS 750GB

I'd say close to 698.49GB
Fat.Clown is offline  
Old 12-22-2007, 11:51 AM   #5 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: Seagate ST3750330AS 750GB

You'd get a reported 698.49GB (binary).
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 12-22-2007, 11:52 AM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: uk
Posts: 2,417
Default Re: Seagate ST3750330AS 750GB

To give you some idea ive got a 300GB seagate barracuda and ive got 256GB of free space right now.
Alot of that is my stuff obviously so the actual windows xp install isnt going to use much of your space at all.
Ive got xp pro by the way
jonny_uk is offline  
Old 12-22-2007, 12:53 PM   #7 (permalink)
-Deactivated-
 
Oreo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: England
Posts: 5,723
Send a message via MSN to Oreo
Default Re: Seagate ST3750330AS 750GB

Thanks everyone
__________________
-Deactivated-
Oreo is offline  
Old 12-22-2007, 02:34 PM   #8 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
gurusan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,562
Send a message via MSN to gurusan
Default Re: Seagate ST3750330AS 750GB

I would recommend the Samsung Spinpoint F1 750gb

It's pretty much the fastest 7200rpm drive out at the moment...

However, Seagate has a 5 year warranty while the Samsung only has 2 years...which is a thing to consider when buying a HDD, since that's one of the only pieces of hardware you might actually keep around for awhile (apart from your PSU)
__________________
|| 2500K @ 5GHz 1 thread, 4.8 2 threads, 4.6 3, 4.5 4 1.284V ||
|| P8P67-M Pro || 8GB @ 2133MHz ||
|| 5850 @ 1000/1225 || XFX 650W || Silverstone FT03B ||
|| 37" LCD TV || CM Hyper 212+ || Samsung 2.1 Soundbar ||
gurusan is offline  
Old 12-22-2007, 02:36 PM   #9 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
ricanflow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Euless, Tx
Posts: 6,317
Default Re: Seagate ST3750330AS 750GB

tell me bout it, im been using these for years.
__________________
3DMARK06 = 20,341 (3.8GHZ)



Laptop
P7350 | GTX 260M | 4GB DDR2 800 | 320GB HD | X-Fi | Vista 64

Folding Rig/File Server

M775 | E1200 | Foxconn P9657AB
| Dual 8800GT | Antec NeoHE 500 | Barracuda 80GB | Wintec Ampx



ricanflow is offline  
Old 12-22-2007, 04:38 PM   #10 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: uk
Posts: 2,417
Default Re: Seagate ST3750330AS 750GB

Seagate HDD's FTW!!
__________________

jonny_uk is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Western Digital 500gb vs 750gb dario03 New Systems | Building and Buying 16 11-26-2007 11:43 PM
Seagate Class Action Lawsuit Deadpixel New Systems | Building and Buying 21 10-23-2007 10:19 PM
RAIDS, Raptors and WD 750GB MacDaddyGator New Systems | Building and Buying 12 08-11-2007 11:33 PM
Western Digital 750GB review maroon1 New Systems | Building and Buying 7 06-30-2007 05:16 PM
Seagate Prepping 1TB Barracuda maroon1 Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 0 03-29-2007 04:16 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:41 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.