Seagate 320 gig HDD - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-25-2007, 12:54 AM   #21 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Blitersety's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Finleyville, PA
Posts: 682
Send a message via AIM to Blitersety
Default Re: Seagate 320 gig HDD

Well I decided to remove the jumpers now instead of waiting until Christmas. I am typing this on my cell phone because somehow I think I may have ruined my pc which really sucks.

When I try to turn it on, it makes a lot of weird noises and the hard drive sounds like something is jammed inside it, idk but when I pressed the power button I heard a lot of weird crunching noises and the screen looked really weird so I shut it down out of fear. I think I ruined my 2000.00 pc, thats just great now Christmas is really going to suck....








lol just kidding!! I took off the jumper and now idk if its my imagination but things seem to be loading faster which is fine by me . One slight problem though, when I took out the HDD to remove the jumper I decided to use an air compressor to spray the dust out of my pc, and after putting it all back together my lan port isn't working, any ideas why? Idk what could have happened but luckily I have a spare NIC that I'm using right now. Should I RMA the board? My lan port seriously doesn't work at anymore.
__________________

__________________
Technology articles, reviews, and more! http://www.suite101.com/profile.cfm/philipdavis
-Asus P5Q Deluxe
- Intel G0 Q6600
-EVGA GeForce 8800 GTX
-Corsair TX750
-Antec 900 case
-Seagate Barracuda 320 GB HDD - main
-WD 320GB HDD - secondary
-Seagate Barracuda 500 GB HDD - tertiary
-Crucial Ballistix Tracer 3GB DDR2
-Lite-On 20x DVD burner
-Wireless MX-Revolution mouse
-Logitech G11 keyboard
Blitersety is offline  
Old 12-25-2007, 01:45 AM   #22 (permalink)
krazy Techie
 
krazyq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 8,059
Default Re: Seagate 320 gig HDD

Quote:
Originally Posted by Blitersety View Post
Well I decided to remove the jumpers now instead of waiting until Christmas. I am typing this on my cell phone because somehow I think I may have ruined my pc which really sucks.

When I try to turn it on, it makes a lot of weird noises and the hard drive sounds like something is jammed inside it, idk but when I pressed the power button I heard a lot of weird crunching noises and the screen looked really weird so I shut it down out of fear. I think I ruined my 2000.00 pc, thats just great now Christmas is really going to suck....

.

you SOB!!!..lol
i was lik MAN THAT SUCKS
hah, it aint april fools yet but good one.
I guess ill go ahead and remove my jumper...
__________________

__________________
Intel Core i5-4670K
ASRock Z97 Anniversary
8 GB G.SKILL Ripjaws
MSI GTX 1070 Gaming X
Sandisk Ultra II 960GB + Samsung 850 EVO 500GB + 2TB + 1TB WD Black
Samsung Note 8
2TB White PS4 Pro, PS3, Switch & New 3DS XL
65" LG OLED C7P
BenQ 27" XL2720Z
krazyq is offline  
Old 12-25-2007, 02:22 AM   #23 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: Seagate 320 gig HDD

make sure you didnt blow something into the nic that is keeping the cable from making good contact
__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 12-25-2007, 02:43 AM   #24 (permalink)
krazy Techie
 
krazyq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 8,059
Default Re: Seagate 320 gig HDD

ok...is this a blitz curse or what?
I took out the jumper, turned on my pc and the monitor wouldnt turn ont, but some fan on my pc got so F*****G loud and i smelt something burning, so i immediatley turned the pc off.

took out the back cover of my case, put it back on...prayed to god and turned my pc back on and everything is working fine now.

Now...wtf just happened? seriously.
__________________
Intel Core i5-4670K
ASRock Z97 Anniversary
8 GB G.SKILL Ripjaws
MSI GTX 1070 Gaming X
Sandisk Ultra II 960GB + Samsung 850 EVO 500GB + 2TB + 1TB WD Black
Samsung Note 8
2TB White PS4 Pro, PS3, Switch & New 3DS XL
65" LG OLED C7P
BenQ 27" XL2720Z
krazyq is offline  
Old 12-25-2007, 11:46 AM   #25 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Blitersety's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Finleyville, PA
Posts: 682
Send a message via AIM to Blitersety
Default Re: Seagate 320 gig HDD

lol I don't know! Is it working fine now?

And yeah I did spray some air over the I/O panel to remove any dust from there, would that have been enough to ruin the contacts?

But anyway and not to change the subject from krazyq's question, but I got a new HDD for Christmas and I plugged it into my mobo and plugged in the power cable and it shows up in the bios but windows is not detecting it. Is there something I need to set in the bios?
__________________
Technology articles, reviews, and more! http://www.suite101.com/profile.cfm/philipdavis
-Asus P5Q Deluxe
- Intel G0 Q6600
-EVGA GeForce 8800 GTX
-Corsair TX750
-Antec 900 case
-Seagate Barracuda 320 GB HDD - main
-WD 320GB HDD - secondary
-Seagate Barracuda 500 GB HDD - tertiary
-Crucial Ballistix Tracer 3GB DDR2
-Lite-On 20x DVD burner
-Wireless MX-Revolution mouse
-Logitech G11 keyboard
Blitersety is offline  
Old 12-25-2007, 12:17 PM   #26 (permalink)
krazy Techie
 
krazyq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 8,059
Default Re: Seagate 320 gig HDD

Quote:
Originally Posted by Blitersety View Post
lol I don't know! Is it working fine now?

And yeah I did spray some air over the I/O panel to remove any dust from there, would that have been enough to ruin the contacts?

But anyway and not to change the subject from krazyq's question, but I got a new HDD for Christmas and I plugged it into my mobo and plugged in the power cable and it shows up in the bios but windows is not detecting it. Is there something I need to set in the bios?
you may have to goto the disk management part and format it.
My new ext hdd was not detecte and i had to go to disk management and i found it, and then i had to format it.
__________________
Intel Core i5-4670K
ASRock Z97 Anniversary
8 GB G.SKILL Ripjaws
MSI GTX 1070 Gaming X
Sandisk Ultra II 960GB + Samsung 850 EVO 500GB + 2TB + 1TB WD Black
Samsung Note 8
2TB White PS4 Pro, PS3, Switch & New 3DS XL
65" LG OLED C7P
BenQ 27" XL2720Z
krazyq is offline  
Old 12-25-2007, 12:27 PM   #27 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Blitersety's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Finleyville, PA
Posts: 682
Send a message via AIM to Blitersety
Default Re: Seagate 320 gig HDD

It's not listed in disk management though
__________________
Technology articles, reviews, and more! http://www.suite101.com/profile.cfm/philipdavis
-Asus P5Q Deluxe
- Intel G0 Q6600
-EVGA GeForce 8800 GTX
-Corsair TX750
-Antec 900 case
-Seagate Barracuda 320 GB HDD - main
-WD 320GB HDD - secondary
-Seagate Barracuda 500 GB HDD - tertiary
-Crucial Ballistix Tracer 3GB DDR2
-Lite-On 20x DVD burner
-Wireless MX-Revolution mouse
-Logitech G11 keyboard
Blitersety is offline  
Old 12-25-2007, 01:08 PM   #28 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
gurusan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,562
Send a message via MSN to gurusan
Default Re: Seagate 320 gig HDD

sata II is a marketing gimmick guys. Seriously, removing the pin does absolutely nothing.
__________________
|| 2500K @ 5GHz 1 thread, 4.8 2 threads, 4.6 3, 4.5 4 1.284V ||
|| P8P67-M Pro || 8GB @ 2133MHz ||
|| 5850 @ 1000/1225 || XFX 650W || Silverstone FT03B ||
|| 37" LCD TV || CM Hyper 212+ || Samsung 2.1 Soundbar ||
gurusan is offline  
Old 12-25-2007, 01:18 PM   #29 (permalink)
krazy Techie
 
krazyq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 8,059
Default Re: Seagate 320 gig HDD

Quote:
Originally Posted by Blitersety View Post
It's not listed in disk management though
did you scroll down on the list?
__________________
Intel Core i5-4670K
ASRock Z97 Anniversary
8 GB G.SKILL Ripjaws
MSI GTX 1070 Gaming X
Sandisk Ultra II 960GB + Samsung 850 EVO 500GB + 2TB + 1TB WD Black
Samsung Note 8
2TB White PS4 Pro, PS3, Switch & New 3DS XL
65" LG OLED C7P
BenQ 27" XL2720Z
krazyq is offline  
Old 12-25-2007, 02:13 PM   #30 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Blitersety's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Finleyville, PA
Posts: 682
Send a message via AIM to Blitersety
Default Re: Seagate 320 gig HDD

Yeah it's not there.
__________________

__________________
Technology articles, reviews, and more! http://www.suite101.com/profile.cfm/philipdavis
-Asus P5Q Deluxe
- Intel G0 Q6600
-EVGA GeForce 8800 GTX
-Corsair TX750
-Antec 900 case
-Seagate Barracuda 320 GB HDD - main
-WD 320GB HDD - secondary
-Seagate Barracuda 500 GB HDD - tertiary
-Crucial Ballistix Tracer 3GB DDR2
-Lite-On 20x DVD burner
-Wireless MX-Revolution mouse
-Logitech G11 keyboard
Blitersety is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to install HDD image onto new HDD smurph Microsoft Windows and Software 5 12-09-2007 01:43 PM
HDD loses USB 2.0 when it encounters bad sector AbeAbe Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 11-27-2007 09:59 PM
HDD configuration with Windows XP- an odd question Kisskerven New Systems | Building and Buying 6 10-20-2007 08:56 PM
FS Seagate 250GB SATA HDD Ronnie Buy/Sell/Trade and Hot Deals 4 10-11-2007 10:24 PM
HDD crash leo572 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 09-30-2007 10:35 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:30 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.