Seagate 320 gig HDD - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-24-2007, 11:09 PM   #11 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: Seagate 320 gig HDD

Only if your board is capable of sataII
__________________

__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 12-24-2007, 11:11 PM   #12 (permalink)
krazy Techie
 
krazyq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 8,059
Default Re: Seagate 320 gig HDD

Quote:
Originally Posted by veedubfreak View Post
Only if your board is capable of sataII
not sure what that is..i got the ds3r.
__________________

__________________
Intel Core i5-4670K
ASRock Z97 Anniversary
8 GB G.SKILL Ripjaws
MSI GTX 1070 Gaming X
Sandisk Ultra II 960GB + Samsung 850 EVO 500GB + 2TB + 1TB WD Black
Samsung Note 8
2TB White PS4 Pro, PS3, Switch & New 3DS XL
65" LG OLED C7P
BenQ 27" XL2720Z
krazyq is offline  
Old 12-24-2007, 11:17 PM   #13 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,515
Default Re: Seagate 320 gig HDD

Yes, that has SATAII ports, krazy. I have the same board (GB p35-ds3r), and I have the SATA jumpers taken off of my SATA HDD's. Granted like what was said before, the speeds most likely won't even go up that high, it just gives it the possibility of going that high.
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline  
Old 12-24-2007, 11:18 PM   #14 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
ricanflow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Euless, Tx
Posts: 6,317
Default Re: Seagate 320 gig HDD

Quote:
Originally Posted by krazyq View Post
not sure what that is..i got the ds3r.
sataII is the newest revision of sata. Its twice as fast, sata is 1.5gb/s ans sataII is 3.0gb/s. your board supports sataII, take them jumpers off!!!
__________________
3DMARK06 = 20,341 (3.8GHZ)



Laptop
P7350 | GTX 260M | 4GB DDR2 800 | 320GB HD | X-Fi | Vista 64

Folding Rig/File Server

M775 | E1200 | Foxconn P9657AB
| Dual 8800GT | Antec NeoHE 500 | Barracuda 80GB | Wintec Ampx



ricanflow is offline  
Old 12-24-2007, 11:46 PM   #15 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: Seagate 320 gig HDD

Ya, my media pc with 7x 750gb 7200.10s is on a ds3r board with the jumpers removed.
__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 12-24-2007, 11:50 PM   #16 (permalink)
krazy Techie
 
krazyq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 8,059
Default Re: Seagate 320 gig HDD

Quote:
Originally Posted by ricanflow View Post
sataII is the newest revision of sata. Its twice as fast, sata is 1.5gb/s ans sataII is 3.0gb/s. your board supports sataII, take them jumpers off!!!
should i put them back on if i end up getting another hdd(sata)?
__________________
Intel Core i5-4670K
ASRock Z97 Anniversary
8 GB G.SKILL Ripjaws
MSI GTX 1070 Gaming X
Sandisk Ultra II 960GB + Samsung 850 EVO 500GB + 2TB + 1TB WD Black
Samsung Note 8
2TB White PS4 Pro, PS3, Switch & New 3DS XL
65" LG OLED C7P
BenQ 27" XL2720Z
krazyq is offline  
Old 12-25-2007, 12:02 AM   #17 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
ricanflow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Euless, Tx
Posts: 6,317
Default Re: Seagate 320 gig HDD

Quote:
Originally Posted by krazyq View Post
should i put them back on if i end up getting another hdd(sata)?
Why would you do that?
__________________
3DMARK06 = 20,341 (3.8GHZ)



Laptop
P7350 | GTX 260M | 4GB DDR2 800 | 320GB HD | X-Fi | Vista 64

Folding Rig/File Server

M775 | E1200 | Foxconn P9657AB
| Dual 8800GT | Antec NeoHE 500 | Barracuda 80GB | Wintec Ampx



ricanflow is offline  
Old 12-25-2007, 12:05 AM   #18 (permalink)
krazy Techie
 
krazyq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 8,059
Default Re: Seagate 320 gig HDD

Quote:
Originally Posted by ricanflow View Post
Why would you do that?
umm idk?
im just asking.
So even if i have more than one hdd i can have the jumpers off?
__________________
Intel Core i5-4670K
ASRock Z97 Anniversary
8 GB G.SKILL Ripjaws
MSI GTX 1070 Gaming X
Sandisk Ultra II 960GB + Samsung 850 EVO 500GB + 2TB + 1TB WD Black
Samsung Note 8
2TB White PS4 Pro, PS3, Switch & New 3DS XL
65" LG OLED C7P
BenQ 27" XL2720Z
krazyq is offline  
Old 12-25-2007, 12:07 AM   #19 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
ricanflow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Euless, Tx
Posts: 6,317
Default Re: Seagate 320 gig HDD

Yeah why not? There is no master and slave with sata, remember, The jumper on sata drives have nothing to do with that, just compatability with older mobos.
__________________
3DMARK06 = 20,341 (3.8GHZ)



Laptop
P7350 | GTX 260M | 4GB DDR2 800 | 320GB HD | X-Fi | Vista 64

Folding Rig/File Server

M775 | E1200 | Foxconn P9657AB
| Dual 8800GT | Antec NeoHE 500 | Barracuda 80GB | Wintec Ampx



ricanflow is offline  
Old 12-25-2007, 12:11 AM   #20 (permalink)
krazy Techie
 
krazyq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 8,059
Default Re: Seagate 320 gig HDD

Quote:
Originally Posted by ricanflow View Post
Yeah why not? There is no master and slave with sata, remember, The jumper on sata drives have nothing to do with that, just compatability with older mobos.
alright, got it.
Thanks.
__________________

__________________
Intel Core i5-4670K
ASRock Z97 Anniversary
8 GB G.SKILL Ripjaws
MSI GTX 1070 Gaming X
Sandisk Ultra II 960GB + Samsung 850 EVO 500GB + 2TB + 1TB WD Black
Samsung Note 8
2TB White PS4 Pro, PS3, Switch & New 3DS XL
65" LG OLED C7P
BenQ 27" XL2720Z
krazyq is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to install HDD image onto new HDD smurph Microsoft Windows and Software 5 12-09-2007 01:43 PM
HDD loses USB 2.0 when it encounters bad sector AbeAbe Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 11-27-2007 09:59 PM
HDD configuration with Windows XP- an odd question Kisskerven New Systems | Building and Buying 6 10-20-2007 08:56 PM
FS Seagate 250GB SATA HDD Ronnie Buy/Sell/Trade and Hot Deals 4 10-11-2007 10:24 PM
HDD crash leo572 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 09-30-2007 10:35 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:33 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.