Sceptre - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-29-2007, 01:44 AM   #11 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 383
Default Re: Sceptre

screw Sceptre. Ive had my x22-wg gamer for only 3 months and now its flickering so bad in DVI mode that I have to RMA. Fortunately I live within 10 miles of the Manufacturer so hopefully I can get a fast turn around. Im hoping I can get my money back and buy a Sony or Samsung

Check out this thread:
Just re-hooked up my PC at new apartment, my Monitor is flickering to a Blue screen.
__________________

__________________
Enermax Black Aluminum ATX Mid Tower Case
Intel Core 2 Duo E8500 Wolfdale 3.16Ghz - OC'd at 4.13Ghz Stable
ASUS P5B Deluxe P965 Motherboard
Zalman 750W Modular Power Supply w/ Heatpipe Cooling
Zalman 110MM 2 Ball CPU Cooler
eVGA GeForce GTX285 1GB Graphics Card
G.SKILL 6GB DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800
Logitech THX Z-5300e 280 Watts RMS 5.1 Speakers
SCEPTRE 22" Widescreen HDTV LCD
Wireless Logitech Keyboard and Mouse
Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi XtremeGamer 7.1
SAMSUNG SpinPoint 320GB 7200 RPM SATA 3.0Gb/s
King$nake is offline  
Old 06-29-2007, 01:45 AM   #12 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 383
Default Re: Sceptre

Quote:
Originally Posted by ferarri View Post
i have the x22-wg gamer and its looks great but i did unfortunately get one with the DVI problem. First the DVI port died so i decided to buy an hdmi cable and that worked great for a while and then the HDMI port died so i guess its time to RMA, im just too lazy so ive been using crappy VGA.

Is "the DVI problem" a well known problem? Is it the problem Im having in this thread?

Just re-hooked up my PC at new apartment, my Monitor is flickering to a Blue screen.

Also, how did you run HDMI to your PC?
__________________

__________________
Enermax Black Aluminum ATX Mid Tower Case
Intel Core 2 Duo E8500 Wolfdale 3.16Ghz - OC'd at 4.13Ghz Stable
ASUS P5B Deluxe P965 Motherboard
Zalman 750W Modular Power Supply w/ Heatpipe Cooling
Zalman 110MM 2 Ball CPU Cooler
eVGA GeForce GTX285 1GB Graphics Card
G.SKILL 6GB DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800
Logitech THX Z-5300e 280 Watts RMS 5.1 Speakers
SCEPTRE 22" Widescreen HDTV LCD
Wireless Logitech Keyboard and Mouse
Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi XtremeGamer 7.1
SAMSUNG SpinPoint 320GB 7200 RPM SATA 3.0Gb/s
King$nake is offline  
Old 06-29-2007, 02:04 AM   #13 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: Sceptre

with a converter?
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 06-29-2007, 03:12 AM   #14 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Pinscher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 1,541
Default Re: Sceptre

dvi-hdmi cable. i bought a real nice one for like 80 bucks but i think you can get em for as low as 10. maybe not im not sure.
__________________
Pinscher is offline  
Old 06-29-2007, 03:38 AM   #15 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 383
Default Re: Sceptre

Quote:
Originally Posted by ferarri View Post
dvi-hdmi cable. i bought a real nice one for like 80 bucks but i think you can get em for as low as 10. maybe not im not sure.
wow, I might have to check that out. You said you had the "DVI Problem" Was the screen flickering and was it saying "No Signal" I too have the 22" Gamer and the flickering screen is driving me nuts. I have already replaced the 8800GTS and the DVI cable thinking those were the problems. Now I realize its the monitor. What is causing the monitor to do this? Its my only solution to RMA it?
__________________
Enermax Black Aluminum ATX Mid Tower Case
Intel Core 2 Duo E8500 Wolfdale 3.16Ghz - OC'd at 4.13Ghz Stable
ASUS P5B Deluxe P965 Motherboard
Zalman 750W Modular Power Supply w/ Heatpipe Cooling
Zalman 110MM 2 Ball CPU Cooler
eVGA GeForce GTX285 1GB Graphics Card
G.SKILL 6GB DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800
Logitech THX Z-5300e 280 Watts RMS 5.1 Speakers
SCEPTRE 22" Widescreen HDTV LCD
Wireless Logitech Keyboard and Mouse
Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi XtremeGamer 7.1
SAMSUNG SpinPoint 320GB 7200 RPM SATA 3.0Gb/s
King$nake is offline  
Old 06-29-2007, 03:54 AM   #16 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Jorsoft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Oakdale, MN
Posts: 4,581
Default Re: Sceptre

That's what I've got. Best looking 22" monitor I've ever seen. I almost cried when I first turned it on
__________________
Jorsoft is offline  
Old 06-29-2007, 04:15 AM   #17 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Pinscher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 1,541
Default Re: Sceptre

Quote:
Originally Posted by King$nake View Post
wow, I might have to check that out. You said you had the "DVI Problem" Was the screen flickering and was it saying "No Signal" I too have the 22" Gamer and the flickering screen is driving me nuts. I have already replaced the 8800GTS and the DVI cable thinking those were the problems. Now I realize its the monitor. What is causing the monitor to do this? Its my only solution to RMA it?
i did the same thing u did, but then i realized it was just the monitor. i have no idea what causes it.
__________________
Pinscher is offline  
Old 06-29-2007, 01:01 PM   #18 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 218
Default Re: Sceptre

Quote:
Originally Posted by N1gh7 View Post
i wish i could get that.
ollithemagicbum is offline  
Old 06-29-2007, 01:03 PM   #19 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: Sceptre

can somebody explain what dc 3000:1 means?
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 06-29-2007, 01:05 PM   #20 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: Sceptre

It's the Dynamic Contrast Ratio...and it helps in displaying darker images or videos, by lowering the power of the LCD's backlight.
__________________

__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
22" Sceptre LCD at Tigerdirect for $229 Jorsoft Buy/Sell/Trade and Hot Deals 1 06-19-2007 12:00 AM
Sceptre Monitor makes annoying low-pitch noise when turned off....? King$nake New Systems | Building and Buying 2 05-22-2007 05:43 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:02 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.