Sceptre - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-29-2007, 12:38 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 45
Default Sceptre

are sceptre's monitors worth buying? i would prefer an opinion from someone who has owned/owns one.

thanks in advance
__________________

N1gh7 is offline  
Old 06-29-2007, 12:39 AM   #2 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: Sceptre

People say they are known for dead pixels.
__________________

__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 06-29-2007, 12:44 AM   #3 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: Sceptre

I've had my Sceptre for several months now, and not a single problem or dead pixel. I must be lucky. I think they're also known for, their DVI port dying after several month's use.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 06-29-2007, 12:45 AM   #4 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: Sceptre

Just like I have an Ultra psu and its been working for me...omg i jynxed it
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 06-29-2007, 12:49 AM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 45
Default Re: Sceptre

lol, i don't know if i should get it, they have great specs for being so low priced...







alien conspiracy!!!!
N1gh7 is offline  
Old 06-29-2007, 12:50 AM   #6 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: Sceptre

You get what you pay for...IMO, they have great specs for the money, but it's not of top quality. I wish I went for a Samsung, but it was the money.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 06-29-2007, 12:52 AM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 45
Default Re: Sceptre

speaking of samsung.... Newegg.com - SAMSUNG 216BW Black - Silver 21.6" 5ms DVI Widescreen LCD Monitor 300 cd/m2 DC 3000:1(1000:1) - Retail

looks pretty good
N1gh7 is offline  
Old 06-29-2007, 12:54 AM   #8 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: Sceptre

Quote:
Originally Posted by b1gapl View Post
You get what you pay for...IMO
i dont want a 1080p hd lcd with 100 dead pixels for $300......
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 06-29-2007, 01:01 AM   #9 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: Sceptre

^Glad I didn't pay $300 for it.

This is my next monitor:
Newegg.com - SAMSUNG 226BW Black 22" 2 ms (GTG) DVI Widescreen LCD Monitor 300 cd/m2 1000:1(DC 3000:1) - Retail
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 06-29-2007, 01:34 AM   #10 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Pinscher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 1,541
Default Re: Sceptre

i have the x22-wg gamer and its looks great but i did unfortunately get one with the DVI problem. First the DVI port died so i decided to buy an hdmi cable and that worked great for a while and then the HDMI port died so i guess its time to RMA, im just too lazy so ive been using crappy VGA.
__________________

__________________
Pinscher is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
22" Sceptre LCD at Tigerdirect for $229 Jorsoft Buy/Sell/Trade and Hot Deals 1 06-19-2007 12:00 AM
Sceptre Monitor makes annoying low-pitch noise when turned off....? King$nake New Systems | Building and Buying 2 05-22-2007 05:43 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:17 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.