Scared - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-06-2007, 09:49 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
DawnOfDoom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 998
Send a message via MSN to DawnOfDoom Send a message via Yahoo to DawnOfDoom
Default Scared

I really want to build my own rig for gameing but im scared that when i get all my parts and they get here i wont be able to put it together. its the mental stress that gets me. its my entire savings so i dun want it to not work. i have enough its just i dont think i can do it i have a choice of parts selected.

Case:http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16811208009
PS:http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817104954
Mobo:http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813128017
HDD:http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16822144417
DVDD:http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16827151136
RAM:http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820231098
Processer:http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16819115005
__________________

DawnOfDoom is offline  
Old 03-06-2007, 09:57 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 337
Default

It helps to know somebody who's done it before incase you need help. If you don't, you could always take it to a place like Geek Squad and have them set it up if it doesn't work. Also, there are plenty of guides on the net on how to build em so READ UP!....and try not to fry anything

Btw, get the DS3, it has better quality capacitors. Also get a harddrive with 16mb cache instead of 8, it'll run faster. Everything else looks fine.
__________________

Jrod is offline  
Old 03-06-2007, 09:59 PM   #3 (permalink)
Renowned Budgeting Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Uniontown, PA
Posts: 4,153
Send a message via AIM to Sora
Default

All those parts will work fine but I suggest changing to an E4300 as it's pretty much the same power as an E6300 except you can overclock easier with ram like that. Also please upgrade that HDD to the 16mb cache version for 5 bucks more, it's a good bit faster.

All that stuff combined will work just fine, do you have a video card already?
__________________
E6300 w/ Arctic Freezer Pro 7 @ 3.6ghz 1.4Vcore
Antec 900 Case
EVGA 750i FTW Mobo
4x1GB of G.skill DDR2-800
2 8800GT in SLI
22" Samsung Syncmaster
1 250GB WD and 1 Seagate 7200.10 in RAID 0
Corsair 520HX 3DMark06 Score: 13900
Sora is offline  
Old 03-06-2007, 10:01 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 337
Default

You need a graphics card though...here are a few good ones, get the one you can afford.

~$100
http://www.newegg.com/product/produc...82E16814130062

~$150
http://www.newegg.com/product/produc...82E16814130056
or
http://www.newegg.com/product/produc...82E16814161060

~$300
http://www.newegg.com/product/produc...82E16814130082
Jrod is offline  
Old 03-06-2007, 10:14 PM   #5 (permalink)
Renowned Budgeting Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Uniontown, PA
Posts: 4,153
Send a message via AIM to Sora
Default

You were going to get a 128 buck 7600GS earlier so spend the extra cash to get the second one Jrod posted if possible, it's a very fast card for the cash, I have one.

Change the E6300 to an E4300. Then change the DVD rom to a cheaper but same speed one and use that 5 bucks towards the 16mb cache version as we said.

I would seriously suggest one gig of ram right now if you are going to be using XP. That extra 80 bucks you will save and you can get a better case, a better mobo, the 7900GS, the better HD ect. RAM is easy to upgrade and 1GB will play games just fine in XP for now.

This is what I did for christmas, I bought 1 gig and a good video card. I was going to get a 7600GT and 2gigs and a cheaper case. Instead I upgraded a month later and it was such a good decision. This is just a suggestion from a person with experience.
__________________
E6300 w/ Arctic Freezer Pro 7 @ 3.6ghz 1.4Vcore
Antec 900 Case
EVGA 750i FTW Mobo
4x1GB of G.skill DDR2-800
2 8800GT in SLI
22" Samsung Syncmaster
1 250GB WD and 1 Seagate 7200.10 in RAID 0
Corsair 520HX 3DMark06 Score: 13900
Sora is offline  
Old 03-06-2007, 10:38 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 1,046
Default

not worth getting the 320MB GeForce 8800GTS, get the 640MB instead if your gonna go for the 320MB, its only $100.00 difference maybe even less.
__________________
PINOY3000
Aluminum Unibody MacBook
Q6600 @ 3.0 GHz 333MHz x 9 Multiplier VCore: 1.3V
NVidia GeForce 8800GTS 640MB; G.Skill 6GB-HZ 1000MHz 5-5-5-15 1.9V
WD Raptor-X 150GB 10,000RPM; Seagate Barracuda 320GB 7,200RPM
ASUS P5B Deluxe Wifi Edition; Thermaltake Armor Full Tower Case
Logitech G15 Keyboard & G5 Mouse; Bose Companion 5 Speakers
Antec Quattro 850-Watt PSU; Tuniq Tower 120 HSF, Blu-Ray Drive
Gateway 22" FPD2275W LCD Display; MS Windows Vista Premium 64-Bit
Samsung 40" 1080p Full HD LCD TV (Samsung LN40A550)
pinoy3000 is offline  
Old 03-07-2007, 09:30 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
DawnOfDoom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 998
Send a message via MSN to DawnOfDoom Send a message via Yahoo to DawnOfDoom
Default

will the e4300 overclock well with this ram? just wondering dun now if it will affect it or not. Thanks for all the suggestions. http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820144049
__________________

__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Oreo View Post
That was an epic forum speech, Doom is tech-forums very own Martin Luther King.
Don't Tell any one but I know who Crunch is...

I Do accept support requests via PM, MSN, and e-mail

If I have been helpful to you in any way please click the scale under my name
DawnOfDoom is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:56 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.