Save a little money on this set up?? - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-17-2008, 01:15 PM   #21 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: Save a little money on this set up??

Quote:
Originally Posted by wafflehammer View Post
Q9550 will be $316 when the price cut occurs.

GOD! i'm tired of people recommending duel-cores when they cost over $180!
lol...SO WHAT? the 9550 will still cost twice as much as an e8400. is it going to perform twice as well? uh, NO. if he needs a quad, which read my post as i edited it yesterday, did i not suggest waiting for the q9550? if he cant wait, or the price cuts aren't on schedule, i say e8x00. regardless of if that tires you or not. there are several reasons....

Quote:
if you are going to to spend $200 for a CPU, why would you want to spend it on a duel-core when you could get a quad-core for the same price?!
let me count the reasons....
1) the only quad that is 200 dollars is a q6600. the ones shipping now are consistently crappy, high voltage overclockers. look at it this way, intel is liquidating the stock so they can replace it with a 45nm quad. hardly anyone is getting the super low VID chips shipped to them anymore. very rarely indeed is that happening.
why would you want to get an older, consistently lower performing quad core when you can get a dual core that performs BETTER for LESS money?! riddle me that, batman. lol. its the same old AMD vs intel argument that was used against me for so long....except then i had manufacturer loyalty backing me up...cant use that with intel vs intel lol.
2) the q6600 is HOT.
3) the 45nm dual cores are BETTER GAMING CHIPS. with a couple exceptions of games that use 4 cores.
4) the 45nm duals are better overclockers.
5) the 45nm duals scale better when overclocked, voltage wise AND performance wise.

Quote:
duel-core=$100 per core
Quad-core=$50 per core

it's basically buy 2 cores get 2 free if you get a quad are that price
this statement is pretty much rendered moot by my points above, IMO. if the cores dont perform the same, YOU CANT COMPARE THEM DIRECTLY.

Quote:
EDIT: I don't think the 8x and 16x thing makes such a different because cards don't use it right now anyway
as far as i know, it really doesn't. nosboost and i had this discussion the other day. the only thing that would maybe make a difference would be running two super high end cards, with pcie bus overclocked, cards overclocked, with ridiculous resolution.
one card overclocked aint gonna saturate pcie2.
__________________

__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 07-17-2008, 01:41 PM   #22 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
shan1784's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Michigan
Posts: 396
Default Re: Save a little money on this set up??

Quote:
Originally Posted by vernong1992 View Post
Only Duo I think thats worth buying now, is the e7200, the rest aren't plain worth it anymore

I went with the e7200 just for this fact... I can oc the he** out of it and it will perform the same as the 8400. I'm just gonna wait until the quads come down in price and get one then...
__________________

__________________
Rosewill Thor V2 Full Tower - i5 3570K Stock W/ CORSAIR Hydro Series H60
G.SKILL Ripjaws Series 8GB (2 x 4GB) DDR3 1600
Asus Sabertooth Z77 Mother Board - GTX 680 FTW+ w/Backplate 4GB
SAMSUNG 840 Pro 128GB SSD - Seagate Barracuda 1TB HDD
Asus DVDRW 24x - CORSAIR Professional Series Gold AX850 PSU
Samsung P2770FH ToC Rose Black 27" Monitor - Logitech G15 Keyboard
MX518 Mouse - Logitech x540 5.1 Speakers
Turtle Beach HPA2 5.1 Surround Sound Headset - Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit
shan1784 is offline  
Old 07-17-2008, 01:49 PM   #23 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: Save a little money on this set up??

^^except for the cache....^^
which will make a small difference in games and a larger difference in benchmarks. a good chip, tho.
__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 07-17-2008, 01:54 PM   #24 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 458
Default Re: Save a little money on this set up??

Quote:
Originally Posted by wafflehammer View Post
Q9550 will be $316 when the price cut occurs.

GOD! i'm tired of people recommending duel-cores when they cost over $180!

if you are going to to spend $200 for a CPU, why would you want to spend it on a duel-core when you could get a quad-core for the same price?!

duel-core=$100 per core
Quad-core=$50 per core

it's basically buy 2 cores get 2 free if you get a quad are that price

EDIT: I don't think the 8x and 16x thing makes such a different because cards don't use it right now anyway
And im tired of people saying get a q6600 because its future proof...lol. It makes me laugh everytime.
__________________
Intel E8400
Zalman 9500AT
evga 8800gt dual-slot cooler
4gig (2x2gb)g.skill ddr2 1066
gigabyte p43-ds3L
Antec sonata II mid tower
200gb Seagate HDD, 500gb Seagate HDD, 1TB Seagate HDD
bkolk is offline  
Old 07-17-2008, 09:34 PM   #25 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Jumping_Bean514's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Seattle
Posts: 752
Send a message via AIM to Jumping_Bean514
Default Re: Save a little money on this set up??

Quote:
Originally Posted by bkolk View Post
And im tired of people saying get a q6600 because its future proof...lol. It makes me laugh everytime.
Same here.... Why would anyone buy a duel core when you can have four slower cores for the same price, even though most everything can't effectively use all four cores resulting in lower performance? Oh wait... Nvm
__________________
Bedroom Rig:
HP Pavillion Mini Tower Case
Intel Pentium III Coppermine @ 800MHz
Hyundai 128MB PC100 SDRAM @ 3-2-2-5
Vision Tek Xtasy 9200SE PCI 128MB @ 200/400
19GB Quantum Fireball

Don't be jealous!
Jumping_Bean514 is offline  
Old 07-21-2008, 02:03 AM   #26 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
overlord20's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: spokomptan
Posts: 2,308
Default Re: Save a little money on this set up??

this doesn't help me at all... this has turned into an argument over dual and quad cores..
overlord20 is offline  
Old 07-21-2008, 02:06 AM   #27 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Save a little money on this set up??

Its really up to you, if you want to upgrade soon, stick with Dual cores, and then upgrade to a Nehalem sooner or later, or if you don't want to buy now, stick with your current rig and buy Nehalem later or buy Quad now, and keep it for a while or upgrade that to Nehalem
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 07-21-2008, 09:25 AM   #28 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: Save a little money on this set up??

Quote:
Originally Posted by overlord20 View Post
this doesn't help me at all... this has turned into an argument over dual and quad cores..
that happens some times here on TF...lol we're all still friends...
__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 07-21-2008, 05:37 PM   #29 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
overlord20's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: spokomptan
Posts: 2,308
Default Re: Save a little money on this set up??

everything still runs good on the q6600 correct? cuz if so ill do that so after my build i dont have to worry about an upgrade soon so i can save money for that expensive stuff that makes my car go
__________________

overlord20 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Clone Hard Drive? peterhuang913 Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 16 03-03-2008 01:12 AM
C# Ideas - Working With Coins & Bills SpikedCola Programming 8 02-17-2008 02:08 PM
Save some money when UFC fights in England if you live in USA Osiris Off Topic Discussion 4 01-21-2008 05:04 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:54 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.