Save a little money on this set up?? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-16-2008, 08:42 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Logan, WV
Posts: 2,503
Send a message via AIM to wafflehammer
Default Re: Save a little money on this set up??

Newegg.com - Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 Kentsfield 2.4GHz 2 x 4MB L2 Cache LGA 775 Quad-Core Processor - Processors

that's $20 than your current CPU...why pay for the retail fan when you're going to buy the rifle cooler?

Newegg.com - CORSAIR CMPSU-650TX 650W ATX12V / EPS12V Power Supply 100 - 240 V UL, CE, CB, TUV, FCC, CCC - Power Supplies

that's another $20

look around for different rebates/discounts on other items
__________________

wafflehammer is offline  
Old 07-16-2008, 08:51 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Jumping_Bean514's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Seattle
Posts: 752
Send a message via AIM to Jumping_Bean514
Default Re: Save a little money on this set up??

Could go P45 over x48... Though I don't know if theirs a performance difference on the 4850's in crossfire on 8x compared to 16x.
__________________
Bedroom Rig:
HP Pavillion Mini Tower Case
Intel Pentium III Coppermine @ 800MHz
Hyundai 128MB PC100 SDRAM @ 3-2-2-5
Vision Tek Xtasy 9200SE PCI 128MB @ 200/400
19GB Quantum Fireball

Don't be jealous!
Jumping_Bean514 is offline  
Old 07-16-2008, 08:52 PM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Save a little money on this set up??

Microcenter has the OEM version for $180
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 07-16-2008, 08:53 PM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
overlord20's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: spokomptan
Posts: 2,308
Default Re: Save a little money on this set up??

Quote:
Originally Posted by wafflehammer View Post
will i be able to xfire with this psu?
overlord20 is offline  
Old 07-16-2008, 08:55 PM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Logan, WV
Posts: 2,503
Send a message via AIM to wafflehammer
Default Re: Save a little money on this set up??

Quote:
Originally Posted by vernong1992 View Post
Microcenter has the OEM version for $180
in store pickup only

yea, if you aren't going to Crossfire/don't care about 8x-8x crossfire you could go with a good P45 and probably save like $80-100 on that alone

EDIT: I'm not to sure if you would be able to crossfire with that PSU...not to good with power requirements.
wafflehammer is offline  
Old 07-16-2008, 08:59 PM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
NightSurge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Fort Wayne, IN
Posts: 2,217
Send a message via AIM to NightSurge
Default Re: Save a little money on this set up??

Also, retail versions are good so you have the 3 warranty. OEM CPUs only have 30day warranties.

Yes you can crossfire two 4850's with that PSU, but not two 4870's. It only has 2x PCI-E connectors and the 4870's each take 2 connectors.
__________________

If I was helpful, please click the icon on the left hand side of this message that looks like a check mark Thanks!

NightSurge is offline  
Old 07-16-2008, 08:59 PM   #8 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
overlord20's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: spokomptan
Posts: 2,308
Default Re: Save a little money on this set up??

im hopeing to buy this sooner then planned because i got cod4 and my graphics cards a little ***** and wont run it grrr... and i must play cod4 lol MUST play lol. is it possible to get one stick of 2gb ddr2? if not im going to go 2 sticks of 2x1gb ddr2. 4gb is over i kill for only having 32 bit system ive decided..

X that last question i answered it by looking lol. which would be better one stick of 2gbddr2 or 2x1gbddr2?

what about this ram??

Newegg.com - OCZ Gold Series 2GB (2 x 1GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 667 (PC2 5400) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory - Desktop Memory
overlord20 is offline  
Old 07-16-2008, 09:02 PM   #9 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Logan, WV
Posts: 2,503
Send a message via AIM to wafflehammer
Default Re: Save a little money on this set up??

if you have 32bit then 2gb of ram would be the best way to go, and it'll shave off a bit of the price
wafflehammer is offline  
Old 07-16-2008, 09:12 PM   #10 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
overlord20's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: spokomptan
Posts: 2,308
Default Re: Save a little money on this set up??

the ones i pick any good?

and with MIR its gunna cost around $770.73 anywhere else i can save?
__________________

overlord20 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Clone Hard Drive? peterhuang913 Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 16 03-03-2008 01:12 AM
C# Ideas - Working With Coins & Bills SpikedCola Programming 8 02-17-2008 02:08 PM
Save some money when UFC fights in England if you live in USA Osiris Off Topic Discussion 4 01-21-2008 05:04 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:31 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.