SATA3, RAID, and SSD :- Stupid Question - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-25-2012, 07:55 AM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
MrCoffee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 1,858
Default SATA3, RAID, and SSD :- Stupid Question

I've recently installed an OCZ Agility 3 SSD as my main system drive, migrating the OS across was a nightmare but that is done now.

However, the drive is currently running on a SATA2 controller, my mobo doe have a SATA3 controller so naturally I want to swap it over to that. THe tricky part is that the SATA3 controller has 2 ports which are currently occupied by a RAID 1 setup, with just under 1TB of important data on the array. I have a third SATA2 controller on the board which supports RAID1.

So the question is: is there an easy way to migrate the RAID1 setup from the SATA3 controller to the SATA2 controller, so that I can put the SSD on the SATA3 controller... without losing the data on the array?

I'm pretty sure that the answer is: "No dumb ***, you need to copy the data off the array, rebuild the array on the SATA2 controller, then copy the data back".
This I can do, I have a 1TB HDD sitting around which should comfortably take the data... but I imagine transferring the data back and forth will take forever.

The motherboard is a GA-X58A-UD3R Rev 1.0 and this is the storage interface specification:

South Bridge:
6 x SATA 3Gb/s connectors (SATA2_0, SATA2_1, SATA2_2, SATA2_3, SATA2_4, SATA2_5) supporting up to 6 SATA 3Gb/s devices
Support for SATA RAID 0, RAID 1, RAID 5, and RAID 10

Marvell 9128 chip:
2 x SATA 6Gb/s connectors (GSATA3_6, GSATA3_7) supporting up to 2 SATA 6Gb/s devices
Support for SATA RAID 0, and RAID 1

* SATA3 RAID 0 4x and SATA3 2x performance are maximum theoretical values. Actual performance may vary by system configuration.
* SATA3 SSDs are not recommended for use in RAID 0 mode on Marvell SE9128 ports.

GIGABYTE SATA2 chip:
1 x IDE connector supporting ATA-133/100/66/33 and up to 2 IDE devices
2 x SATA 3Gb/s connectors (GSATA2_8, GSATA2_9) supporting up to 2 SATA 3Gb/s devices
Support for SATA RAID 0, RAID 1, and JBOD

JMicron JMB362 chip:
2 x eSATA 3Gb/s connectors (eSATA/USB Combo) on the back panel sup- porting up to 2 SATA 3Gb/s devices
Support for SATA RAID 0, RAID 1, and JBOD

iTE IT8720 chip:
1 x floppy disk drive connector supporting up to 1 floppy disk drive
__________________

__________________
Intel core I7 920
GA-EX58-UD3R
6GB OCZ platinum 1600
XFX HD4890
Noctua nh-u12p
Corsair HX520
Antec 300
Samsung 1TB F1 Spinpoint
Samsung SM2443BW 24"
MrCoffee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2012, 11:43 AM   #2 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,285
Default Re: SATA3, RAID, and SSD :- Stupid Question

I'm pretty positive there is a way without file transfer, but just be smart and take the data and put it on the other drive and rebuild the array. If it's really important I wouldn't want to risk my data while I goof off trying things. Copying 1TB of data should only take 1.5-2 hours at max speed.
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2012, 04:13 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
creativity's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Alberta | Canada
Posts: 60
Default Re: SATA3, RAID, and SSD :- Stupid Question

If you really want to try, you could move only one disk and see if it detects both drives for the Raid. If so, then move the other one. If not, then just move it back as it is a raid 1 set up, nothing lost.

**Though I have never tried this.**

A similar thread.
Can I move a RAID1 drive from one port to another?
__________________
TCP/IP Stack
Layer: -Application-/-Transport-/-Network-/-Data Link-/-Physical-/
Unit: --Data------/-Segments-/-Packet--/-Frame----/-Bit-----/
creativity is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:49 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.