SATA vs IDE - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-02-2006, 11:35 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 2
Default SATA vs IDE

Greetings to everyone. My question could be a rather research intensive one. My current setup on my computer is:


Intel P4 2.4Ghz 400Mhz FSB
Aopen Motherboard ( I actually forgot the model number)
512MB RDRAM (I know stupid move right)
Radeon 9200 64MB AGP
Creative Labs Audigy Sound Card
80GB 7200RPM IDE Western Digital (No cache, nor any type of special edition)
Plextor 52x CD Burner
Sony DVD 16x Player
All in a big yellow box.


I am currently trying to upgrade, but my wallet, and so many emerging technology are holding me back. My DVD Player recently burned out, so I replaced it with the new HP 740i DVD Burner with Lightscribe. Now that I have the capability to keep all of my friends DVDs, I dont have a place to store them. with only 8GB left on my HD. The big problem with upgrades, is so much of my hardware is out of date, to change one thing, almost means building a new system.


I would like my new system to be all SATA, and I dont want to waste any money. My current system doesnt support SATA, so is there a hard drive I could buy that will work in my old system, and still be a nice fit for my new system? I would prefer it to be SATA, but if IDE doesnt run too slow in the new system, I guess I can go with that.

I am open to all responses, I would like to hear everyones opinion. Thanks for the help.


roryscott2 is offline  
Old 01-02-2006, 11:43 PM   #2 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

Trotter's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 30,952

Get a SATA controller card for your comp, then get a SATA drive.



Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / EVGA GTX 760 2GB
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB / WD Red 3TB
G.SKILL Ripjaws 2x2GB DDR3 1600 - Crucial Ballistix Tracer 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win7 Ult 64-bit - Func MS3 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard

R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 01-03-2006, 05:38 AM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
mike4realz's Avatar
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 404

or just get an IDE hard drive since you don't have SATA

Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 2.83Ghz || 4GB OCZ 1066 DDR2 RAM || GIGABYTE GA-EP45-UD3P Motherboard ||
PNY XLR8 GTX 470 || Raptor 300GB 10,000 RPM HDD RAID0 || Windows 7 Professional 64-bit
mike4realz is offline  
Old 01-03-2006, 09:55 AM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 1,842
Send a message via AIM to lazerman Send a message via Yahoo to lazerman

Is there really any performance increase with sata?
The Stargate MMORPG
lazerman is offline  
Old 01-03-2006, 10:16 AM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 378

I'd say don't get any new hard drive for that old computer; it's doomed to die, with AGP and RDRAM. =/ I had RDRAM in my old Dell, though. It was decent - just expensive ..

That SATA controller is a good idea, but it will be useless once you get your new system, and that's $50 down the drain. I'd say just wait for the new system. If you MUST have more storage space now, get an external one or an IDE. External Edge GoDisks have $40 rebates on newegg right now. =D
ilovesocks is offline  
Old 01-03-2006, 10:27 AM   #6 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
TheMajor's Avatar
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177

Get an IDE and save money.
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 01-03-2006, 11:48 AM   #7 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,453
Send a message via AIM to FghtinIrshNvrDi Send a message via Yahoo to FghtinIrshNvrDi

I guess I'd get an IDE drive. The speed increase just isn't there. The hard drive can't read as fast as SATA connections can move the information.


<b>I'm an unhyphenated American.</b>
System Specs:
Intel Q6600 @ 3200 1.4v
Abit IP35 Pro "The Snake"
2x2gb A-Data @ 800
Diamond HD 3870 512mb

Great FORD TRUCK resource:
FghtinIrshNvrDi is offline  
Old 01-03-2006, 02:12 PM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 711

personally, if i was goign to get a new system soon, i would jus get an external just simply because its easier to transfer info to your friend computer possibly and it just seems like a more practicle move to me, but then again im not that smart.

├ŽArchOAngel├Ž is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:29 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.