sata and sata2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-05-2007, 01:31 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 5
Default sata and sata2

will a sata motherboard hook up with a sata2 hard drive
__________________

fallout9 is offline  
Old 01-05-2007, 01:36 AM   #2 (permalink)
Renowned Budgeting Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Uniontown, PA
Posts: 4,153
Send a message via AIM to Sora
Default

no they are completely two different things.
__________________

__________________
E6300 w/ Arctic Freezer Pro 7 @ 3.6ghz 1.4Vcore
Antec 900 Case
EVGA 750i FTW Mobo
4x1GB of G.skill DDR2-800
2 8800GT in SLI
22" Samsung Syncmaster
1 250GB WD and 1 Seagate 7200.10 in RAID 0
Corsair 520HX 3DMark06 Score: 13900
Sora is offline  
Old 01-05-2007, 01:37 AM   #3 (permalink)
Future ex-member
 
lancec2c30's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Chehalis, WA
Posts: 4,012
Send a message via MSN to lancec2c30
Default

I was wrong. lol ^^^
__________________

XP Pro | Vista Home Premium | Linux Ubuntu 7.10
s939 X2 3800 Toledo @ 2.6ghz | evga 7900gs | 320gig + 80gig wd | 1gb Ram | Abit KN8 SLI
3.1ghz achieved. :cool:
70K F@H member..............still waiting for the "iRACK"

Norcent will not be forgotten.

lancec2c30 is offline  
Old 01-05-2007, 01:42 AM   #4 (permalink)
Renowned Budgeting Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Uniontown, PA
Posts: 4,153
Send a message via AIM to Sora
Default

Yea if you mean will a sata2 drive work with sata ports then no because sata only transfers at 1.5gb while SATA2 is also known as SATA 3.0 because it transfers at 3.0gb. I can't see how you can send double the bandwidth through a port that was designed for 1.5
__________________
E6300 w/ Arctic Freezer Pro 7 @ 3.6ghz 1.4Vcore
Antec 900 Case
EVGA 750i FTW Mobo
4x1GB of G.skill DDR2-800
2 8800GT in SLI
22" Samsung Syncmaster
1 250GB WD and 1 Seagate 7200.10 in RAID 0
Corsair 520HX 3DMark06 Score: 13900
Sora is offline  
Old 01-05-2007, 02:06 AM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

sorry, that's not true

it works, quite simply just not at SATA2 "speeds". that's ok though, seeing as even SATA2 drives don't use that bandwidth. the fastest mainstream HDD is the Raptor and even it doesn't completely use SATA's bandwidth let alone SATA2's bandwidth. they don't use double the bandwidth, it's just a SATA2 controller has that much bandwidth available. the key difference between SATA and SATA2 drives is in some other features that were added to the SATA2 spec. google it....
Nitestick is offline  
Old 01-06-2007, 01:26 AM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 5
Default

There seems to be some confusion about the difference between cables branded as SATA or SATA2. Many companies that produce the cables and even the retailers selling the cables add to the confusion by branding some cables as SATA and other as SATA2. I even have some Thermaltake SATA UV cables that are clearly sold as 150Mb/s maximum transfer rate. It would then make sense that these cables would not be good to use with a SATA2 hard drive that is capable of 300Mb/s transfer speeds.

Before going any farther I do just want to make one clarification. The transfer speeds of 150mb/s and 300mb/s in no way mean that a SATA2 drive is twice as fast as a SATA drive. Current hard drives are not even able to fully utilize the 150mb/s transfer speed. These numbers are more descriptive of burst speed.

Finally on to the cables. There is no difference in maximum transfer speeds between cables labeled as SATA vs. SATA2. The only difference is that most SATA2 cables have a locking mechanism.

I have been in contact with Seagate about this and here are a couple highlights from our correspondence:

Quote:
There is really no such thing as SATA2 cables, SATA2 drives use
industry wide standard SATA data cable. You should be able to use your
drive with the cables that you have in your system.
Quote:
There is no such thing as SATA rated at 150mb/s or rated at 300mb/s. It is
just SATA cable. Don't get confused by the marketing definitions.
Sincerely,

Alexander C.
Seagate Technical Support
In summary, both SATA and SATA2 hard drives can be used with any SATA controller. If the SATA controller can only handle 150mb/s then a SATA2 drive will function as a SATA drive. Also, any SATA cable can be used for either a SATA or SATA2 drive. Both drives and cables are fully interchangeable.
Quoted from(Soloz2)
__________________

fallout9 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:27 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.