SATA Raid Questions + Small SLI Question - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-03-2006, 07:48 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 5
Default SATA Raid Questions + Small SLI + CPU Question

Hello there, just abit of background first, been using,building repairing etc... computers for ages since the good ole pentium 1 but past few years ive had other things to do as well so kind of lost track with the way things are going at the moment.

Last PC i had i built when sata first came out and i got 2x 80gb maxtor sata drives and ran them in raid 0 on the onboard southbridge via chipset controller. Not sure what chipset is was, kt - something. But anyways had a 3200 xp in that machine and tried various times with windows xp but failure each time (after about 2 months the installtion got corrupt and it wouldnt boot) stuck with windows 98 and the machine ran like lightning. Last year i traded that in for an nforce 2 chipset motherboard (same cpu) and used an adaptec 39360 scsi raid controller card and had 2 15k.3 cheetahs hooked up, performance was about the same as the old sata array due to restrictions of using the card in a normal pci slot. Anyways ive sold that pc and am just using my laptop at the moment with about 5 million external devices attached :P

My question is what sort of range of sata options are available on current motherboards, noticed quite a few seem to have built in raid as well as an addin sata raid controller (but most of these seem to be on the pci bus). Id like to get an option where i can hook up 4 or 8 wd raptors in raid 0 on 1 array without bandwidth being restricted? Or is only only option to get a motherboard with a 4x pci-e slot and buy a seperate sata raid controller card?

Also on a seperate note is SLI overhyped or actually really worth the investment? (Last card i had was a radeon x850 xt pe it played everything ok but FEAR was abit slow sometimes) I dont want to invest over $600 in SLI then find out i could just buy 1 card :P

Finally whats the different between the X2 and FX models of AMD CPUs?
__________________

Zanai is offline  
Old 05-03-2006, 08:01 PM   #2 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 5,191
Default

get an SLI mobo, and one sli ready card, then when you want a cheap performance boost, buy the same card you have but in like 2 years when they're like 80 bucks :-P thats what im doing

otherwise, the performance increase you get from SLI is mostly in anti aliasing and anistropic filtering. they effect your fps less, which is good lol but i dont think its worth buying two cards right from the get go
__________________

The General is offline  
Old 05-03-2006, 08:04 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 5
Default

Ahh cool thanks, im a 1024x768 addict anyways with my old 17" crt :P but do like to use AA and AF when possible.
Zanai is offline  
Old 05-04-2006, 09:09 AM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

if you get a decent motherboard like any of the lanparty series you should have no problem throwing in a 4xraptor RAID 0 array
Nitestick is offline  
Old 05-04-2006, 09:10 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 5
Default

Been reading about all afternoon and found that out. Just need to find out what Athlon FXs are now :P
Zanai is offline  
Old 05-04-2006, 09:13 AM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

FX is the high end processor series. they really aren't worth it unless you have bags of money lying around. x2 are the mainstream dual core series.
Nitestick is offline  
Old 05-04-2006, 09:15 AM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 5
Default

Ahh had a few people suggest i use a 165 opteron and overclock it instead of buying an x2 4400 any opinions on that here?

(mainly use pc for dvd editing but generally multitask with other things at same time)
Zanai is offline  
Old 05-04-2006, 09:19 AM   #8 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

if you can overclock then it would be better value to get the 164=5 and overclock it but if you can afford it perhaps the opteron 170?
__________________

Nitestick is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:16 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.