SATA installation - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-20-2005, 11:55 AM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 251
Default SATA installation

im looking to get a SATA HDD, but i was wondering how hard and what i would need for the installation. Some one told me i would probably need a floppy drive to set it up which i wasnt planning on getting otherwise, so i was wondering if there is anythign else i would need. And can i really expect much performance difference from ide 100 to SATA 150?

and another seperate question could someone just tell me if there is any performance benefits from going nforce 4 ultra or nforce 3 ultra?
__________________

__________________
<img src=\"http://i5.photobucket.com/albums/y180/Fitzfan/futureresized.jpg\" alt=\"Image hosted by Photobucket.com\">
fitzfan is offline  
Old 10-20-2005, 11:58 AM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 1,446
Send a message via AIM to Alex81388
Default

For the sata, the installation only requires a floppy if you are using it as ur sole drive, and want to install windows on it from DOS.

Everything else is pretty easy, but ur motherboard manufacturer provided the disk for the SATA. If you have misplaced it already, they have it on their site with instructions.



There is a minor speed increase, and since SATA is barely more expensive than IDE, I would do it.



nF3/ nF4 - They are both good, nF4 is for SLI boards I'm pretty sure, so if you're looking into it, you're looking at a PCI-E graphics card.
__________________

__________________
Sig removed due to foul language. Please read the rules regarding the allowable content of sigs before reposting your COMPLIANT sig.
~Trotter
4/21/06
Alex81388 is offline  
Old 10-20-2005, 12:38 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 70
Send a message via AIM to ZeroStrife49
Default

Theyre not only for SLi, they are on single slot PCI-e slot board also.
__________________
K . D . M
ZeroStrife49 is offline  
Old 10-20-2005, 01:05 PM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 2,306
Default

but they are sli capable it is just disabled on single slot board.
__________________
Lonewolf5460 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:23 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.