SATA II vs. SATA 150 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-13-2005, 05:51 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 67
Send a message via AIM to patrickc284
Default SATA II vs. SATA 150

I just built a new rig, but it supports SATA 150. Just out of curiosity, or perhaps ponderings of future upgrades, is there a significant performance increase between SATA II and SATA 150 in every day use?

SATA-150 actually has considerably noticeable speed improvements over ATA-100, even just when installing SP2 on my comp. Is SATA II worth it?

I could get a PromiseTech 2-channel and a SATA II HD for around $130 on newegg.
__________________

patrickc284 is offline  
Old 11-13-2005, 06:36 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
TheOtis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Planet Earth.
Posts: 1,274
Send a message via AIM to TheOtis
Default

SATA II has a 300MB/s as opposed to SATA being 150MB/s. But as far as I can tell the only way ive noticed any difference is when I move files between my hard drives.
__________________

__________________
Back on being mobile - ASUS G551- 15.3" 1080p - Core i7 4710HQ - GTX 860M - 16GB DDR3 1600 - 512GB Samsung 850 Pro - Steam ID: TheOtis
TheOtis is offline  
Old 11-13-2005, 06:44 PM   #3 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,313
Default

Its like USB and USB2.0 you cant tell unless doing specific things.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline  
Old 11-13-2005, 07:30 PM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 58
Send a message via AIM to Myoushu Chi-Fu
Default

The extra bandwidth in SATAII is more noticable in raid configurations.
__________________
<FONT SIZE=1>Athlon 64 X2 4800+ Toledo
ASUS A8N-SLI Premium
Lian Li V-1000B-W Black Case
Corsair XMS 2GB(1GBx2)PC3200
Samsung SpinPoint 200GB SATA3.0Gb/s x2
eVGA GeForce 7800GTX @ 490/1300
ViewSonic VX924 Black/Silver 19\" 3ms
Antec TruePower 2.0 550W PSU
Creative X-FI Elite Pro
</FONT>

Giggity Giggity, Allright
Myoushu Chi-Fu is offline  
Old 11-13-2005, 08:38 PM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,453
Send a message via AIM to FghtinIrshNvrDi Send a message via Yahoo to FghtinIrshNvrDi
Default

I'm going to say you'll notice performance increases during times when you're loading large files and whatnot. (maps on BF2 for example)

Ryan
__________________

<b>I'm an unhyphenated American.</b>
System Specs:
Intel Q6600 @ 3200 1.4v
Abit IP35 Pro "The Snake"
2x2gb A-Data @ 800
Diamond HD 3870 512mb


Great FORD TRUCK resource: http://www.fordtruckfanatics.com
FghtinIrshNvrDi is offline  
Old 11-13-2005, 08:58 PM   #6 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,790
Default

You won't notice ANY difference between SATAI and SATAII guys, hard drives just simply don't spin fast enough to take advantage of the 150mb/sec bandwidth

To put it into perspective, you have two 7200RPM drives. One uses SATAI and the other uses SATAII. Despite SATAII appearing faster, boht drives are still spinning the same therefore the data on both is still accessed in the same time frame and therefore the bandwidth is identical. Basically what I'm saying is hard drive bandwidth isn't the bottleneck when determining how fast your drive reads/writes, it depends on rotation speed and cache size

Even using a RAID 0 array with two 10000RPM drives you won't notice a difference between SATAI and II
__________________
Intel C2D E6320 / AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Gigabyte 965P DS3 / DFI nF4 Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Gold PC2-6400 / 2GB OCZ Gold PC4000
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB / eVGA 6800GS 256MB
150GB Raptor / 74GB Raptor
2x500GB / 320GB
OCZ GameXStreme 850w / OCZ StealthXStream 600w
gaara is offline  
Old 11-13-2005, 09:12 PM   #7 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

if you notice on the specs of a SATAI and SATAII the seek time is still the same...8.9ms I believe

seek time is what really matters.

raptors are like 4.somethin ms
Nubius is offline  
Old 11-13-2005, 09:15 PM   #8 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,453
Send a message via AIM to FghtinIrshNvrDi Send a message via Yahoo to FghtinIrshNvrDi
Default

good points fellas.

Ryan
__________________

<b>I'm an unhyphenated American.</b>
System Specs:
Intel Q6600 @ 3200 1.4v
Abit IP35 Pro "The Snake"
2x2gb A-Data @ 800
Diamond HD 3870 512mb


Great FORD TRUCK resource: http://www.fordtruckfanatics.com
FghtinIrshNvrDi is offline  
Old 11-13-2005, 09:18 PM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 718
Default

Under what circumstances does the SATA150 bandwidth get filled up then? If even 10K drives don't ever fill it up then what is the point of the 3Gb bandwidth of SATAII?
j4ckaL is offline  
Old 11-13-2005, 10:21 PM   #10 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Quote:
then what is the point of the 3Gb bandwidth of SATAII?
sounds fancy and will get you to purchase it because it's 'newer' which means 'better' to most

they aren't lying...because it IS transferring 300mb/sec over the cable, doesn't mean your hard drive can actually write that much though
__________________

Nubius is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:50 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.