SATA II Drives Safely Remove Tray icon? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-24-2007, 04:30 PM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 1,057
Send a message via AIM to zerodayATK
Default SATA II Drives Safely Remove Tray icon?

I just built my mom a rig with an Asus M2N mobo with a Sata II hdd... It comes up in the tray as a removalbe device do you guys know of anyway to disable this? besides hiding the tray icon? She uses Flash drives often so its still practical to have it in the tray...
__________________

__________________

FORMERLY THEYOYOKID303
zerodayATK is offline  
Old 11-24-2007, 04:33 PM   #2 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: SATA II Drives Safely Remove Tray icon?

That's a design downfall of the SATA device and the nForce drivers. It makes SATA drives show up as removable.
Try this:

1. Click Start menu > Run > type regedit and then press ENTER;
2. Navigate to the following key:

HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Servic es\nvata

3. Create a new DWORD value called "DisableRemovable" (without quotes) and set to "1";
4. Close Regedit and restart Windows.
__________________

__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 11-24-2007, 04:42 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 1,057
Send a message via AIM to zerodayATK
Default Re: SATA II Drives Safely Remove Tray icon?

yeah but i have a sata drive in my comp and its not an issue and the last computer i built w/ sata didn't have this issue.. I'm all for hot-swap but just give me an option to make it realize not to give my c drive hot swap ablitity!
__________________

FORMERLY THEYOYOKID303
zerodayATK is offline  
Old 11-24-2007, 04:43 PM   #4 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: SATA II Drives Safely Remove Tray icon?

Quote:
Originally Posted by madmediablitz View Post
yeah but i have a sata drive in my comp and its not an issue and the last computer i built w/ sata didn't have this issue.. I'm all for hot-swap but just give me an option to make it realize not to give my c drive hot swap ablitity!
Did the last two computers use the nForce chipset?
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 11-24-2007, 04:53 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 1,057
Send a message via AIM to zerodayATK
Default Re: SATA II Drives Safely Remove Tray icon?

nerpp... they did not... so its the nforce chipset that does this... any fixes?
__________________

FORMERLY THEYOYOKID303
zerodayATK is offline  
Old 11-24-2007, 04:54 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Blitersety's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Finleyville, PA
Posts: 682
Send a message via AIM to Blitersety
Default Re: SATA II Drives Safely Remove Tray icon?

My PC with the P35 chipset doesn't do that with my Sata II HDD... thats strange
__________________
Technology articles, reviews, and more! http://www.suite101.com/profile.cfm/philipdavis
-Asus P5Q Deluxe
- Intel G0 Q6600
-EVGA GeForce 8800 GTX
-Corsair TX750
-Antec 900 case
-Seagate Barracuda 320 GB HDD - main
-WD 320GB HDD - secondary
-Seagate Barracuda 500 GB HDD - tertiary
-Crucial Ballistix Tracer 3GB DDR2
-Lite-On 20x DVD burner
-Wireless MX-Revolution mouse
-Logitech G11 keyboard
Blitersety is offline  
Old 11-24-2007, 05:01 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 1,057
Send a message via AIM to zerodayATK
Default Re: SATA II Drives Safely Remove Tray icon?

^^ Pete just pointed out is the Nforce chipset...
__________________

FORMERLY THEYOYOKID303
zerodayATK is offline  
Old 11-24-2007, 05:02 PM   #8 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: SATA II Drives Safely Remove Tray icon?

Quote:
Originally Posted by madmediablitz View Post
nerpp... they did not... so its the nforce chipset that does this... any fixes?
I also pointed out the fix.
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 11-24-2007, 05:02 PM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 1,057
Send a message via AIM to zerodayATK
Default Re: SATA II Drives Safely Remove Tray icon?

Quote:
Originally Posted by peterhuang913 View Post
That's a design downfall of the SATA device and the nForce drivers. It makes SATA drives show up as removable.
Try this:

1. Click Start menu > Run > type regedit and then press ENTER;
2. Navigate to the following key:

HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Servic es\nvata

3. Create a new DWORD value called "DisableRemovable" (without quotes) and set to "1";
4. Close Regedit and restart Windows.

I was looking at that fix but i read it might short out my hdd?!?!? im going to try it right now...
__________________

FORMERLY THEYOYOKID303
zerodayATK is offline  
Old 11-24-2007, 05:06 PM   #10 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: SATA II Drives Safely Remove Tray icon?

Quote:
Originally Posted by madmediablitz View Post
I was looking at that fix but i read it might short out my hdd?!?!? im going to try it right now...
Bull, editing the registry doesn't short the HDD.
__________________

__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Select Devices to Appear in Safely Remove Hardware pcschris Microsoft Windows and Software 0 10-23-2007 12:11 PM
2 SATA Hard Drives (160gb each)/C&C 3 gurusan Buy/Sell/Trade and Hot Deals 9 09-20-2007 09:58 AM
SATA drives in Safely remove hardware? carnageX Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 7 09-17-2007 02:36 PM
Windows 'accessing' SATA drives before boot koosie Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 0 09-06-2007 03:07 AM
New Western Digital Drives For AV Products maroon1 Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 0 04-09-2007 02:14 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:06 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.