SATA Disk problem - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-01-2006, 10:21 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 2
Default SATA Disk problem

SATA Disk problem:
I just put together my new system. It is Antec P-180 case, Antec TP-II 550 P/S, Asus A8R32-MVP Deluxe MB, Athlon X2 4400+ CPU, Corsair 1 GB XMS 2-2-2-5 memory, ATI X1900XT Video, Maxtor SATA-150 300 GB drive, CD and floppy. I first loaded the demo version of windows XP 64. That went pretty smooth. I was able to setup the hard drive properly – formatted 289 GB in about an hour. The system booted and all was well. I then tried to load version 5 of Photoshop – will not run under Windows 64. I then tried to load a USB dongle driver – also no good. The dongle is used by a license manager for SW development tools that I need. So I abandoned Windows 64 and went back to Windows 2000. I went through the installation several times and after I created the SATA driver disk for the Asus MB, I was able to get rolling. But now the OS only sees 89 GB of the hard drive. The partition manager reformatted the 89 GB and cannot see the rest of the drive. I am now running on a 300 GB SATA 150 drive, but I can’t get to about 200 GB of it. When I boot the MAXTOR CD, it’s tools can’t fix it either. Does anybody know what I should do?
Thanks.
__________________

joebeemish is offline  
Old 04-01-2006, 11:42 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

see the thread on the 137gb barrier in hardware troubleshooting. make sure you have win2k SP4 installed
__________________

Nitestick is offline  
Old 04-01-2006, 11:43 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Mr. Switch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,841
Send a message via AIM to Mr. Switch
Default

Try using Windows XP with SP2 in it. You also shouldn't need any drivers for SATA unless your using RAID.
Mr. Switch is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:51 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.